We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landhotel Guglhupf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landhotel Guglhupf to your Saves list
Landhotel Guglhupf
Fuessener Strasse 107, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A great hotel to use as a base to visit the king's castles. It is just 5 min drive from the hotel. The hotel is super cute and charming. The owner (Monica) is extremely helpful. We had advance online reservations to visit the castles and we had to be there at 8:50 am to pick up the tickets. The breakfast usually starts at 8 am, but Monica accommodated us for breakfast at 7:30 am itself. The spread is HUGE. We wish we had more time to try out all the stuff.

Like one of the traveller mentioned, we also arrived late and had our room key and all the instruction taped to the front entrance!

The hotel has just enough parking spots to accommodate all the guests which is great!

We had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
37
122
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent small hotel with very friendly staff. Ideal for seeing this part of Bavaria especially the two fantasy castles only 25 minutes walk away. The breakfast was very good.
Only slight niggle was the noisy from the road, so ask from a room away from the roadside of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after the latest check-in time to find our room key taped to the front door with personalized instructions for everything. Nice! Wifi is free after you register and the hotel itself is modern, clean and romantic in a rustic Bavarian fashion. Highly recoommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

staff was very friendly and helpful. great breakfast was served including the coffee i'm used to in the states and a discount card was provided for area businesses. everything was clean and comfortable too. we could see the castles out our window. we made a nice day trip to innsbruck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I followed the ratings to this gem of a bed and breakfast. We made last minute reservations and a trip to visit the two castles. It was located about 2 km from the castles. Monika was a wonderful hostess, warm, welcoming and gave great advice on restaurants that were not tourist traps.

We had two rooms, one for hubby and I, and one for our two teen girls. Both were clean, comfortable, and big. The bathrooms were spacious, new and towels big and fluffy. And free wifi! Wow! We were in heaven.

Breakfast was wonderful. Scrambled eggs, sausages, baked goods, cereals. Coffee and teas. In a beautiful dining room that was fine restaurant quality. The plates were even china!

I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the two castles or Bavaria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Guglhupf was everything you could want in a hotel, in fact, it was more like a B&B. The rooms were generously sized, impeccably clean and had a homely feel. The breakfast buffet (much of it baked by the wonderful Monika herself) extended well beyond any other European breakfast buffet I have experienced.
We were staying over the Christmas period and Monika cooked waffles, potato salad and some traditional bavarian meat (all free of charge, as her Christmas gift to us), she then surprised us with a plate of freshly baked cookies and a wrapped present of eggnog. She could not have made the guests feel more at home during this period, and went to every effort to ensure our comfort.
The hotel was also a leisurely stroll from Fussen (around 20 minutes) and to the castles (15 minutes), it was also easily acessible by taxi or bus from the station for those who are not driving!
All in all, we left with not one complaint! Thank you Monika!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was difficult to find as the internet says its in the town of Schwangau while in fact the town name is "HORN". Our GPS couldnt find it under Schwangau. We popped into the Tourist Information for directions.
The owner of the property was very hospitable and kind. She personally showed us to our room. We paid extra to have views of King Ludwigs castles - well worth the extra expense. There was a chocolate on our pillow which was a lovely touch. The room was very clean and modern, although the ceiling over the bed was a bit low - so we had to be careful not to bump our heads!. Spa was delightful and comfortable. The highlight of this place is the BREAKFAST!! it is a breakfast to die for - sooooo much food and all home made!! the owner gets up early and does all the cooking - 3 different types of German bread, home baked cake..... I could go on and on but I'm making myself feel hungry!! Monika gets up at 5am to prepare all this and she is amazing! I would definitely stay here again and i advise all of you who are planning to visit King Ludwig's castles, to not even bother looking elsewhere for accomodation. This place is a 3 min drive to the carpark of the castles so very very convenient. It is also a 6 min walk to the supermarket if you wish to stock up on some supplies

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get views of the castles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Landhotel Guglhupf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Guglhupf

Address: Fuessener Strasse 107, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#2 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy country lodge is located in Schwangau, home of the castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. Enjoy the GUGLHUPF specialties such as home-baked bread and home-made marmelade at the delicious breakfast buffet every morning. Despite the central location (distance to the castles approx. 2 Km, to the austrian border about 3 km) all rooms are very quiet and comfortably equipped with bathroom, king-sized bed and high-quality wood furniture as well as balcony/ terrace, TV and telephone. Wifi is complimentary. Your hosts Monika and her children Daniel and Ulrike are looking forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Landhotel Guglhupf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Guglhupf Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhotel Guglhupf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.