We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, authentic and wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Helmerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Helmerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, authentic and wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Traditional family run establishment with staff wearing traditional bavarian dresses.
Really nice location about 2km outside Fussen between the Forggensee and the Alps.
We got a very good room, with a balcony overlooking the castles and mountains.
Really nice to be situated in the scenic countryside.

Abount 10 minutes walk on small country roads to the Königliche Kristall-Therme which was very nice - we used this rather than the Sauna facilities in the hotel, because of the larger scale of activities.

Breakfast was very good - some intersting regional produce.

We had intended eating in Fussen but ended up eating at the hotel dining room each night for convenience. Hearty german food - good quality. Reasonably priced.

Castles are theoretically within walking distance but we drove to save time. Had to walk up to Neuschwanstein from car park anyway as buses do not run when it is snowing. (20 mins fast walk)

Overally very pleasant and relaxing and very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed an interesting pleasant place to stay enroute from the Dolomiti to Frankfurt and this hotel in this location fitted our needs. We had a view of the Neuschwanstein castle from our balcony and enjoyed a very tasty meal at the restaurant in the Hotel Helmerhof. We were able to park our car at the back door to unload our luggage before parking in the free hotel car park across the road. The wifi worked well and only had to enter the password on our initial login. After dinner, the receptionist who spoke English better than our German, showed us on the map how to walk into Fussen. It was a pleasant 20 minute walk there and we found a lovely heritage village to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hotel Helmerhof is in distance of one mile from the castles. The Hotel can be conveniently reached by car, but it is difficult to reach by public transport. It is situated in a calm area. Free parking is available.
Some of the rooms offer a view on Castle Neuschwanstein which is very far away, probably not worth the extra money. For the price of well over € 100.- for deluxe room on BB, more could be expected. The room is comfortable and clean, equipped with good bedding, a small desk which is totally obstructed by the LCD TV. A settee with a small table is placed near the window. The bathroom with shower cabin and toilet was inacceptable and claustrophobic small, in addition with inefficient ventilation. The Wi-Fi connection was unstable and slow making it useless.
The food in the restaurant was good and it seems to be popular also with local guests. The selection of smaller meals typical to the Bavaria cuisine is limited. The breakfast buffet was richly garnished. Scrambled and soft boiled eggs are kept in a food warmer. When we asked for fried eggs with bacon, our request was taken rather discontently.
Considering the entire stay, the hotel is well appointed, but I was rather unimpressed about the value for money ratio. Worse is the cruel lack of the factor of well being and warnth of hospitaly that we generally experience in Bavaria.

Room Tip: Some of the bath rooms are uncomfotably small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just by my subject line, you know we had the best stay of our lives . The first time at the Helmerhof was the summer of 1999. We simply booked here, due to the location and proximity to the Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles. It was a stab in the dark, but our family certainly enjoyed every single second and it offered up not only a good home base, so we could visit Fuessen, but also Oberammergau, too. The hotel is sort of situated in a country setting just outside of Fuessen, but the impressive castles are in view from the hotel.

Our second trip to this area was the summer of 2006. This time our children were older with one married who came along to show her husband Germany, plus our favorite hotel in the entire country of Germany. Again, it was no dissappointment. The staff is friendly and very helpful in every way possible to assure you of a good and pleasurable time not only at their hotel, but to offer up suggestions of the best way to see the sights. Each time we stayed we got a little apartment that offered a two bedrooms, one good-size bathroom, and a nice little living room (plus TV) area complete with a little stove and refrigerator should you wish to have lunch in the room. The balcony was a plus, because you want to be a part of this magnificent place and to sit and just enjoy. It is certainly to me the closest I can get to heaven when I look out and see the towering mountains and also a view of the castles. The restaurant offers up some of the BEST food of which, my husband is still talking about to this day. His goulash put a smile on his face that I will never forget and my son-in-law still reminds me of our delicious meal of Wiener schnitzel with delicious white asparagus.

While staying here we felt like we were a part of the locals. Hard to describe, but it was such an accommodating place you just feel like you are part of the family. It's not a city hotel, but a country one and that was what we wanted. It's our own little secret place that we love to stay at and we will ALWAYS come back when we book our next trip to Germany. I promise.

P.S. I had to select May 2012 as the time I traveled, but as I wrote it was both in 1999 and 2006...hmmm...seems like another trip is due for us.

Room Tip: We chose the apartment for a bit more room and place where our children could move about and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were on a 21 day motorcycle trip through Bavaria and Salzburg, Austria. We made no reservations and had good luck with all of our hotels. Hotel Helmhof had beautiful views of Neuschwanstein castle and beautiful sunrises in the morning. Clean, friendly attmosphere and great food. They also offer massages and hot stone therepy. The room was spacious and the bed was soft and comfortable. The balcony was lined with red flowers. I had to pick a date below but our trip was actually in August 2007.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Helmerhof is situated in the little town of Schwangau and located one street off of the main road that runs through town. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating during our stay there. Breakfast is very good and your spot is reserved at the same table every morning. Meats, soft boiled eggs, breads, jams, yogurts and cheese along with coffee and teas of course. We had to get used to the little bucket on the table that appeared to be for your egg shells and other misc. discards. We did try the restaurant for dinner and it was very good. The locals appear to have a table where they drink beer and talk outside. The property itself has several building with the main building containing guest rooms, restaurants, computer room (guest computer hooked up to internet is the only internet option), washer and dryer downstairs along with the ability to schedule a message or take some exercise classes. We did use the washer and dryer which you first have to obtain the "coins" from the front desk. The is also another unattached guest house with larger multi-room set ups along with a garage that stores many of the complimentary bikes for riding around town or out to the castles. The front desk can supply you with a map and directions to the castles. Although we were there during the summer it does appear that they are used heavily for the nearby skiing during the winter months. They offer ample free parking as well.

Room Tip: Get keys to the free bikes that they offer and ride over to the lake or out to the castles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein). Very good value, excellent breakfast included, very clean, spacious rooms. Center of town, very convenient for castle touring.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmerhof

Address: Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helmerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmerhof Hotel Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.