We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 20 minute walk to heritage village of Fussen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Helmerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Helmerhof
Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Schwangau
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant 20 minute walk to heritage village of Fussen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We needed an interesting pleasant place to stay enroute from the Dolomiti to Frankfurt and this hotel in this location fitted our needs. We had a view of the Neuschwanstein castle from our balcony and enjoyed a very tasty meal at the restaurant in the Hotel Helmerhof. We were able to park our car at the back door to unload our luggage before parking in the free hotel car park across the road. The wifi worked well and only had to enter the password on our initial login. After dinner, the receptionist who spoke English better than our German, showed us on the map how to walk into Fussen. It was a pleasant 20 minute walk there and we found a lovely heritage village to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Hotel Helmerhof is in distance of one mile from the castles. The Hotel can be conveniently reached by car, but it is difficult to reach by public transport. It is situated in a calm area. Free parking is available.
Some of the rooms offer a view on Castle Neuschwanstein which is very far away, probably not worth the extra money. For the price of well over € 100.- for deluxe room on BB, more could be expected. The room is comfortable and clean, equipped with good bedding, a small desk which is totally obstructed by the LCD TV. A settee with a small table is placed near the window. The bathroom with shower cabin and toilet was inacceptable and claustrophobic small, in addition with inefficient ventilation. The Wi-Fi connection was unstable and slow making it useless.
The food in the restaurant was good and it seems to be popular also with local guests. The selection of smaller meals typical to the Bavaria cuisine is limited. The breakfast buffet was richly garnished. Scrambled and soft boiled eggs are kept in a food warmer. When we asked for fried eggs with bacon, our request was taken rather discontently.
Considering the entire stay, the hotel is well appointed, but I was rather unimpressed about the value for money ratio. Worse is the cruel lack of the factor of well being and warnth of hospitaly that we generally experience in Bavaria.

Room Tip: Some of the bath rooms are uncomfotably small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just by my subject line, you know we had the best stay of our lives . The first time at the Helmerhof was the summer of 1999. We simply booked here, due to the location and proximity to the Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles. It was a stab in the dark, but our family certainly enjoyed every single second and it offered up not only a good home base, so we could visit Fuessen, but also Oberammergau, too. The hotel is sort of situated in a country setting just outside of Fuessen, but the impressive castles are in view from the hotel.

Our second trip to this area was the summer of 2006. This time our children were older with one married who came along to show her husband Germany, plus our favorite hotel in the entire country of Germany. Again, it was no dissappointment. The staff is friendly and very helpful in every way possible to assure you of a good and pleasurable time not only at their hotel, but to offer up suggestions of the best way to see the sights. Each time we stayed we got a little apartment that offered a two bedrooms, one good-size bathroom, and a nice little living room (plus TV) area complete with a little stove and refrigerator should you wish to have lunch in the room. The balcony was a plus, because you want to be a part of this magnificent place and to sit and just enjoy. It is certainly to me the closest I can get to heaven when I look out and see the towering mountains and also a view of the castles. The restaurant offers up some of the BEST food of which, my husband is still talking about to this day. His goulash put a smile on his face that I will never forget and my son-in-law still reminds me of our delicious meal of Wiener schnitzel with delicious white asparagus.

While staying here we felt like we were a part of the locals. Hard to describe, but it was such an accommodating place you just feel like you are part of the family. It's not a city hotel, but a country one and that was what we wanted. It's our own little secret place that we love to stay at and we will ALWAYS come back when we book our next trip to Germany. I promise.

P.S. I had to select May 2012 as the time I traveled, but as I wrote it was both in 1999 and 2006...hmmm...seems like another trip is due for us.

Room Tip: We chose the apartment for a bit more room and place where our children could move about and enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were on a 21 day motorcycle trip through Bavaria and Salzburg, Austria. We made no reservations and had good luck with all of our hotels. Hotel Helmhof had beautiful views of Neuschwanstein castle and beautiful sunrises in the morning. Clean, friendly attmosphere and great food. They also offer massages and hot stone therepy. The room was spacious and the bed was soft and comfortable. The balcony was lined with red flowers. I had to pick a date below but our trip was actually in August 2007.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Helmerhof is situated in the little town of Schwangau and located one street off of the main road that runs through town. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating during our stay there. Breakfast is very good and your spot is reserved at the same table every morning. Meats, soft boiled eggs, breads, jams, yogurts and cheese along with coffee and teas of course. We had to get used to the little bucket on the table that appeared to be for your egg shells and other misc. discards. We did try the restaurant for dinner and it was very good. The locals appear to have a table where they drink beer and talk outside. The property itself has several building with the main building containing guest rooms, restaurants, computer room (guest computer hooked up to internet is the only internet option), washer and dryer downstairs along with the ability to schedule a message or take some exercise classes. We did use the washer and dryer which you first have to obtain the "coins" from the front desk. The is also another unattached guest house with larger multi-room set ups along with a garage that stores many of the complimentary bikes for riding around town or out to the castles. The front desk can supply you with a map and directions to the castles. Although we were there during the summer it does appear that they are used heavily for the nearby skiing during the winter months. They offer ample free parking as well.

Room Tip: Get keys to the free bikes that they offer and ride over to the lake or out to the castles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein). Very good value, excellent breakfast included, very clean, spacious rooms. Center of town, very convenient for castle touring.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a great location. We had three rooms, one of which had a view of Neuschwanstein. The beds were as comfortable as I've found in a European hotel. The dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. The rooms were a good size, and the shower was very nice. They provided us with the toiletries you would normally find in a more expensive hotel. They have free parking, which is a big plus for me. Breakfast was good.

There is no AC in the rooms. Our double room was fine, because we were on the 2nd floor (in American terms), so we could leave our window/door open to our porch. The two single rooms were on the ground floor, and so they didn't want to leave the outside door open. They got pretty sweaty, especially since there was a rain storm which made it very humid. Since they are in the country, there isn't a whole lot of choice for food, unless you want to drive elsewhere. While the restaurant was delicious, it wasn't for the budget traveler. Check out doesn't start until 7:30, and breakfast doesn't start until 7:45, which makes it difficult if you want to get to the castle ticket office first thing in the morning. They also had difficulty with one of our American credit cards. So, you need to have more than one option for payment, just in case your first choice doesn't work. We also had a lot of trouble with the wifi.

Room Tip: The single rooms are on the ground floor, so you probably won't want your window all the way ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Helmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmerhof

Address: Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Helmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmerhof Hotel Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.