We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle trip through Bavaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Helmerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Helmerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Annapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Motorcycle trip through Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were on a 21 day motorcycle trip through Bavaria and Salzburg, Austria. We made no reservations and had good luck with all of our hotels. Hotel Helmhof had beautiful views of Neuschwanstein castle and beautiful sunrises in the morning. Clean, friendly attmosphere and great food. They also offer massages and hot stone therepy. The room was spacious and the bed was soft and comfortable. The balcony was lined with red flowers. I had to pick a date below but our trip was actually in August 2007.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Helmerhof is situated in the little town of Schwangau and located one street off of the main road that runs through town. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating during our stay there. Breakfast is very good and your spot is reserved at the same table every morning. Meats, soft boiled eggs, breads, jams, yogurts and cheese along with coffee and teas of course. We had to get used to the little bucket on the table that appeared to be for your egg shells and other misc. discards. We did try the restaurant for dinner and it was very good. The locals appear to have a table where they drink beer and talk outside. The property itself has several building with the main building containing guest rooms, restaurants, computer room (guest computer hooked up to internet is the only internet option), washer and dryer downstairs along with the ability to schedule a message or take some exercise classes. We did use the washer and dryer which you first have to obtain the "coins" from the front desk. The is also another unattached guest house with larger multi-room set ups along with a garage that stores many of the complimentary bikes for riding around town or out to the castles. The front desk can supply you with a map and directions to the castles. Although we were there during the summer it does appear that they are used heavily for the nearby skiing during the winter months. They offer ample free parking as well.

Room Tip: Get keys to the free bikes that they offer and ride over to the lake or out to the castles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein). Very good value, excellent breakfast included, very clean, spacious rooms. Center of town, very convenient for castle touring.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor (2nd or 3rd) with view toward castle (Neuschwanstein).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was in a great location. We had three rooms, one of which had a view of Neuschwanstein. The beds were as comfortable as I've found in a European hotel. The dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. The rooms were a good size, and the shower was very nice. They provided us with the toiletries you would normally find in a more expensive hotel. They have free parking, which is a big plus for me. Breakfast was good.

There is no AC in the rooms. Our double room was fine, because we were on the 2nd floor (in American terms), so we could leave our window/door open to our porch. The two single rooms were on the ground floor, and so they didn't want to leave the outside door open. They got pretty sweaty, especially since there was a rain storm which made it very humid. Since they are in the country, there isn't a whole lot of choice for food, unless you want to drive elsewhere. While the restaurant was delicious, it wasn't for the budget traveler. Check out doesn't start until 7:30, and breakfast doesn't start until 7:45, which makes it difficult if you want to get to the castle ticket office first thing in the morning. They also had difficulty with one of our American credit cards. So, you need to have more than one option for payment, just in case your first choice doesn't work. We also had a lot of trouble with the wifi.

Room Tip: The single rooms are on the ground floor, so you probably won't want your window all the way ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Having spent a few days south of Innsbruck, we made our way through the towering alps to end the day in the small Bavarian town of Schwangau, with two objectives: visit Neuschwanstein (that was great!) and spend an evening in the nearby thermal spa (not so great! - reviewed under attractions.) This inn is located in a residential neighborhood - nearly drove by it before we noticed the sign. Clearly a family run business as a dirndl clad girl, perhaps eleven years old, checked us in before an older employee showed us our room on the second floor, squeaky stairs and tight corners adding to the ambiance. Our room was small, but charming, appointed with simply but sweet furnishings (and even a chocolate on the pillow.)

Compared to other breakfasts we've had at similar places, we thought the spread was a little sparse. And the mood was ruined somewhat by four young German men at the next table, apparently out for a boys skiing weekend, and already haven't a noisily good time at 8:00 in the morning. The "frau" of the establishment admonished them at least twice until the finally folded up and left.

The inn is well located to exploring the area, though you would certainly need a car, or at least a bicycle during the summer. (Nearly a foot of snow on the ground during our visit in January.) We would certainly stay again should we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

This turned out to be a much bigger hotel that we’d expected (from looking at their website), and it also has a large restaurant with multiple rooms and patio areas. We had free parking on the field over the road, which seemed safe enough.

Our room was number 49 on the first floor of the main building. It was a good sized room, with a balcony containing two seats overlooking the car park area and fields and mountains in the distance (not exactly a castle view, though, since there were trees in the way).

The room had a double bed with two mattresses pushed together and separate quilts. The television had numerous channels, including BBC World in English. There was an armchair, and a separate table with chair. The bathroom was a good size, with a shower (no bath) and a small selection of toiletries.

There was a safe for your valuables, a couple of drawers and a wardrobe with hangars and shelves. The room was nicely decorated in white with pine furnishings. The bed was relatively comfortable, but on-going back problems meant that I slept most of the night in the armchair.

The floorboards and bed were a bit creaky. We could hear people walking about in the rooms above us, and the bed creaking rhythmically in the room next door for a time (can’t think what that might have been!).

Breakfast was in a large, pleasant separate breakfast room at the back of the hotel. It was portrayed as a ‘wellness’ breakfast, but it was rather less impressive than most of the other breakfast buffets we had on our trip, there was no toast, or croissants, and nothing warm at all apart from hard boiled eggs.

We had our evening meal both nights at the hotel’s restaurant. Both times we had an excellent meal, with two soups, two main courses and two beers for around 36 Euros. The only negative was the handful of flies that were buzzing around on both nights. Don’t get me wrong, it was only a few, but it was slightly irritating having one land on your head, or your table, every so often and it really shouldn’t be beyond the hotel staff to get rid of them especially when they can see you trying to swat them away.

Speaking of the staff, each person who dealt with us was professional and polite, but we noticed that nobody smiled – neither to us, or to any other people they were interacting with.

We stayed for two nights in the hotel, and it is in an excellent location for visiting the castles, being only a very short drive away. There were no major faults, and it seemed a good rate for the area. We’d generally recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Great room, view, restaurant, and staff. Very nice size rooms and ours had balcony with view of the castle. Free parking is on site. Dinner at the hotel was one of our best meals in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Helmerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmerhof

Address: Frauenbergstrasse 9 | Schwangau-Horn, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helmerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helmerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmerhof Hotel Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Helmerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.