We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supremely relaxing and total luxury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ruebezahl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ruebezahl to your Saves list
Hotel Ruebezahl
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
LANCASHIRE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supremely relaxing and total luxury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Are stay was a fantastic 3 days of total relaxation. Staying in the romantic suite was spectacular with everything we could have wanted or needed. The hotel setting is perfect with staff who made you feel welcome from the minute you walked in the door to the moment we left. I have stayed in some luxuriash hotels but this has topped them all. Cannot recommend the hotel and staff/family enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    44
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
181
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just retuned from Bavaria and a weeks stay at Hotel Ruebezahl in Schwangau. The weather was mixed but the hotel, facilities, food and service more than made up for the weather. The location and views to the castles were great and it is great location for exploring the local area if you have a car. We used the spa and pool on several occasions and couldn't fault these facilities. The choice at breakfast was fantastic as was the food in the restaurant. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There are fantastic walks and cycle rides all around and if you need a relaxing place to stay and unwind then we recommend this hotel with out any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had one of the standard rooms and were very comfortable and we had a direct view of the castles f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nothing but pleasant surprises here. The biggest mistake on our part was only spending one night. Our original plan was to spend 3 nights in Munich and do a day trip down to the Bavarian Alps. Then I found Ruebezahl and decided a view of the castle would be nice for a night. I thought the price was a little high, but did it anyway. In the long run the hotel is actually a very good deal. Since breakfast, lunch, afternoon cake and dinner are included the cost for the room was actually an average cost to other places we stayed. Food was excellent. We arrived before are room was ready, and was ushered into a lovely lunch buffet, and when we finished out lunch, our room was ready. And what a beautiful room! Best of the trip.

Only caveat is all drinks are not included, so we did walk away with a small additional bill, but it was well worth it and costs for drinks were comparable elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we stayed here as part of our ruby wedding anniversary trip and we loved it - my wife almost cried at the romantic beauty of the place and it's setting. We booked half-board but it was actually full board as salad lunch and fabulous cakes in the afternoon were also included! The setting is beautiful - looking across the valley to the mountains bordering Austria to the romantic castle of Neuschwanstein and the older Hohenschwanstein castle. The service was exceptional from reception to the restaurant - helpful, cheerful, efficient and multi-lingual. The food was delicious and plentiful - too plentiful - but I can't complain about that!
We had an upgraded room - Maximilian suite - which was very spacious and comfortable with wonderful views from the balcony.
My only moan would be the bar - Joschi's bar - which was usually empty due to the poor choice of 'entertainment' - disco/club music does not fit with the ambience of the hotel. However, I would still give this hotel a top rating as it is so wonderful.

Room Tip: any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This Bavarian Inn is located outside the village of Fussen, directly across the meadows from Neuschwanstein Castle. While this place can be difficult to find, be persistent, because once you are there you will be glad you made it.

The Inn is very quaint, and houses fantastic rooms, a great spa and wonderful restaurant. Our particular room was a "double" and it shared a very large balcony with two other rooms, to my recollection. The balcony looked directly across the open meadow to Neuschwanstein Castle and it was a spectacular view to wake up to each morning. The beds were comfortable and because I'm a bigger guy, I actually wondered if it would hold me for the night. No problem there. The beds had on them a very light Decke (down filled duvet in English) and the bathroom was of good size as well.

The morning breakfast buffet was spectacular and once again, the views were over the meadow toward the Schloss (castle). Also in the morning, directly in front of the entrance of the Inn, the road was taken over by the local farmer as he meandered his cattle from the barn down into his fenced in field. He had a bike, a stick and knew how to maneuver both to get the cattle into the right place. For a city boy from the States, this was great to see.

Truly, I've been to Fussen on three different occasions but this was the first stay at Hotel Ruebezahl. It will not be my last, I hope. :) Do yourselves a favor and book here. You will not be sorry. Unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy the on-site spa.

Room Tip: any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Charming hotel in southern Germany. Friendly staff and startlingly beautiful views.just minutes from castle that inspired Disney and ample opportunity for walking, hiking and biking. Hotel has bikes for you to ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although not as close to the two castles as other hotels, from our balcony room the benefit was clear: you can see across the farm to the mountains & Schloss. Food was excellent as was the quality of the accommodation in one of their luxury suites.

Room Tip: A view of the mountains is the best way to make the most of this property - although the view can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ruebezahl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruebezahl

Address: Am Ehberg 31, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Schwangau
#3 Family Hotel in Schwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ruebezahl 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic Hotel is direct at the village of the Castles of King Ludwig II. The Castle Neuschwanstein (Cinderella Castle) and Hohenschwangau.We are located by Bavarian Alps. Near Munich and Innsbruck (Austria) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ruebezahl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellvital Hotel Schwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ruebezahl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.