We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing mountain views of the countryside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Tegelberg

Mt Tegelberg
Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing mountain views of the countryside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The views immediately at the top of the cable car are simply amazing. You get views of Fussen and all the local countryside. I went up after the first snow of the season, and the contrast between the top (inches of fluffy snow), and the countryside (beautiful lush green) were unbeatable for photo ops. Even more amazing is the hike to Neuschwanstein castle, which takes about 2.5 hours, and all downhill. From the vantage points of Tegelberg, you will have unbeatable photos of Neuschwanstein castle that 95% of the tourists won't have (since they normally just take the shuttle to Marienbrucke and walk to the castle itself for a tour). I arrived at Mt. Tegelberg via bus from Fussen. Very convient. Worth the cable car fee.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We like everything about this mountain. The views are out of this world and quite sole searching. The mountain walks are a must and the scenery to beautiful. The café at the top of the mountain provides good food and drink but would be better if the staff smiled more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Take the bahn up and hike down the mountain - the views are breathtaking!!! You will not be disappointed. Make sure you have comfortable shoes and lots of water. And, don't expect to be too active the next day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular views but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I am glad I did not let my fear of heights deter me from taking the cable car ride. The views from the top were not to be missed. It was 18 Euros per person for the round trip ride, which I thought was rather expensive. You will also have to pay to park. But like most things you do on vacation, you do them because you will likely never have a chance to do them again. I wasn't too happy about being packed into the cable car with so many people for the 5+ minute ride, but we managed. Have your cameras ready for some amazing photos of the landscape and the paragliders who are crazy enough to go running off the side of the mountain. I suggest touring the castles early in the day and take the gondola ride on your way out of town. We were there around 2 pm on a Sunday and there was no waiting to board. If it is not crowded, you will only need about an hour to visit this attraction. *Warning: there are no railings, etc. at the top to protect someone, particularly a child, from slipping and falling over a rocky edge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pricey Thrills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's over $20 to go to the top of this monster mountain. Views are spectacular, but you'll pay for your thrills. Snack bar was also very expensive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Tegelberg also viewed

Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mt Tegelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Tegelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.