We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views but cable car experience not so good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Tegelberg

Mt Tegelberg
Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Schwangau
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful views but cable car experience not so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The views are amazing, as were the flowers and butterflies when we visited. The cable car was on the expensive side and not pleasant when you are packed in like sardines, in very hot weather. I wish now that I had chosen a mountain trip with a smaller cable car so that I could appreciate the journey up and down better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“very expensive views”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I cannot deny that the views are fantastic - including watching paragliders taking off. However after 30 mins of this you need more to do to make the cost of 18.50e worth it. There are walks but there is absolutely no information in anything other than German to invite visitors to take a walk. There is a signpost - in German only - that indicates how many hours it takes to reach a place but there is nothing to say what's there when you finally reach it or what you might see on the way. I cannot recommend this as value for money as we lost interest after 30 mins and went back down thoroughly disappointed and angry at the lack of help for foreign visitors. Thankfully the parking was free. We did ask for information and a map but all we were offered was a map of southern Germany!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view and interesting for flower lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mt Tegelberg has a lot to offer: great view to mountains and lakes, good walking tracks from easy to moderate and more challenging with via ferrata for experienced persons (good walking shoes should be worn anyway as there are rocky sections that can be slippery even in dry weather conditions), a really good selection of typical alpine flowers on the slopes, including different species of orchids in summer. The restaurant is reasonably priced with a good choice of meals.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great visit for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We decided to go to Mt. Tegelberg for a break in our journey from Austria to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. It was a great choice.

Besides going by cable car up to the top and enjoy the great view, kids can enjoy fun activities like muntain coaster ("rodelbahn") etc.

We spent a couple of hours there before we drove on. Great, kids and parents were happy. Everything closes at around 17 hrs., so you should be there a couple of hours earlier.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow, What a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We took the cable car up Mt. Tegelberg and it was smooth and fast and what a beautiful view from the top! We watched hang gliders and parachuters take off from the top, which is only for the very brave! You can hike around on different trails while up there, and there is also a restaurant there. Go on a clear day, and you can see ALL over! We also enjoyed the wonderful cow bells on the little herd eating at the bottom. So fun. A must do!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Tegelberg also viewed

Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mt Tegelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Tegelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.