We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, nice atmosphere but not cheap ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Egern 51

Egern 51
Seestr.51, 83700 Rottach-Egern, Bavaria, Germany
8022 660257
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, nice atmosphere but not cheap ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Go here for gear steaks, seasonal salads, fesh trout .. All with a good Mediterranean touch. Prices are not cheap, but consider you are in Rottach-Egern, a mundane upper class village. We were sitting fairly close to the next tables, so a little minus for the Ambiente. Definitely worth to go!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, and wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a lovely table on the patio overlooking the lake. The waitress was very friendly and spoke good enough English to help us out! We had wonderful fresh garden salads dressing with a yummy vinegarette, and Thai vegetables with basmati rice, as we wanted something light. The wine and beer selection was adequate. Lovely day and they didn't rush us. Great place to relax and enjoy this beautiful lakeside town!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We liked this place so much we went back a second night but they were closed. Bummer!

The service was impeccable, they have an English menu and the ambience is great. Oh yes, I forgot about the food. Fillet mignon and ribeye were perfect. We also had the white aspargus soup which is in season. And scallops. Yums. Plus the wine they recommended was fantastic. You see why we went back?

Now get yourself there!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldenbuch, Germany
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Warm atmospere and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Great food in a nice restaurant right on the lake. English speaking staff with English reading menu plus a good kids menu. I had the filet migon (yummy), my husband had the fresh caught lake trout, and the kids had schnitzle and spaghetti...all very tasty! Great place for couples or family with kids. It came recommemded by our hotel staff and i couldn't agree more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great fun,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Informal, fun restaurant with great service and fabulous food. Schnitzel was superb as was the goose. Highly recommend this place.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egern 51 also viewed

Rottach-Egern, Upper Bavaria
Rottach-Egern, Upper Bavaria
 
Rottach-Egern, Upper Bavaria
Rottach-Egern, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Egern 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egern 51, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.