We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stop in Bad Toelz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posthotel Kolberbrau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Posthotel Kolberbrau to your Saves list
Posthotel Kolberbrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktstrasse 29 | 83646 Bad Tolz, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bad Toelz
Padova
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for a stop in Bad Toelz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I was there for one night in October 2011.
The hotel is very well place in the middle of the pedestrian area in Bad Toelz, so if you have to stop there, it is in a very good position.

Good part:
Staff: friendly and very helpful
Restaurant: very good, both for dinner and breakfast.
Free WiFi in the rooms

So and so part:
Rooms need a renovation (at least the one I was in), but for the price you pay it is acceptable I guess.
Mattress was not very good in my room.
Bathroom was very very small (in my room).

Generally speaking I cannot say it was a bad hotel, but not even so impressive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Western NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Very nice place, rooms up to date, clean, well appointed. Would stay again for sure! Breakfast and Dinner was good as well . Nice place to stay right in the middle of the historic section. They made us feel welcome even though we showed up as wet motorcyclists. Internet is VERY limited

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The place is fine. We cycled here from Wallgau. The rooms are big and well maintained even if the local custom of providing two single beds instead of a double can become tiresome. The beds in this hotel are "sleigh style" so pushing them together still means that there is a cot like edge in the middle.

Bad Tolz is a beautiful town on the banks of the Isar and this is as good a place to base yourself as any. It is near a monastery however so beware the bells that ring for vespers and matins. If you don't know what they are think of an alarm at 5am and then again at first light.

Staff in the restaurant are quite brusque and unfriendly. We were refused water one night by a waitress and had to ask the manager to get the water for us. Slightly bizarre I know.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misgav
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A gem of a hotel with an old world ambience, including enormous and elegant bedroom/lounge suite. The breakfasts were memorable for their large choice of fresh and cooked foods and the service could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posthotel Kolberbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Kolberbrau

Address: Marktstrasse 29 | 83646 Bad Tolz, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Toelz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Bad Toelz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Kolberbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posthotel Kolberbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posthotel Kolberbrau Germany/Bad Toelz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posthotel Kolberbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.