We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandra Hotel
Kyreinstrasse 13, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Bad Toelz
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We walked into this lovely guest house in the middle of the afternoon without a reservation. This we would not do again – it retrospect it seemed a bit rude. Our hosts were lovely people who made us feel at home the moment we walked through the front door. The positive reviews on tripadvisor are 100% accurate. They accommodated us in a lovely corner room. Everything about it was positive. The location was perfect. It was an easy walk to the Christmas Market and downtown along a well used walking path along the river as well as to the therme which is a cluster of pools where one can “take the waters”. This therme was amazingly expensive but we were given BOGO free coupons at the guest house which helped in that department. We had dinner over at the pool. There was free ample parking available and Wifi throughout. We loved it.

Room Tip: No elevator, but when we expressed a desire for first floor we got one. Although right at street lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

On a road trip along the Deutsche Alpenstrasse (fantastic, by the way), our target village had no rooms available, but a helpful hotelier phoned ahead, and booked us in to the Alexandra. A lucky discovery for two reasons - the hotel itself, and also the Baroque town of Bad Toelz.
I cannot add anything to the many comments about the hospitality - this could not have been better. The hotel itself is a traditional Bavarian style, with lots of dark wood, and forest style accessories. Comfortable, very clean, and spacious.
Monica directed us along the pretty riverside walk into the town, and recommended a restaurant close to the start of the pedestrianised section. What a treat - great meal, and the best beer of the holiday - perfectly served, ice cold!
If you are going to Bad Toelz, stay at the Alexandra

Room Tip: We had a dual aspect corner room - overlooking a road junction, but not at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My son and I stayed for a night during a recent trip. We got in late without reservations and were immediately accommodated with a genuine welcome. The rooms were clean and spacious with a beautiful shared balcony. Dinner across the street at the Greek restaurant was delicious and inexpensive. The morning's breakfast offered eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries and homemade jellies and jams. As we departed, the owner very kindly removed the almost 1 foot of snow that had accumulated on our car and wished farewell. We will return to this great hotel in a beautiful Bavarian town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is very charming and Hosts Walter & Monica are warm & helpful. From arrival to departure (we stayed 8 days) they were so gracious and eager to assist in any way. Our toilet had a little water running problem and Monica herself came in with her wrench and fixed it right up! She can do about anything. Walter keeps your coffee cup filled and they are both so attentive to their guests. The hotel was decorated for the Christmas holidays & was a delightful experience to behold. On New Year's eve, their son had lots of fireworks to display and made it a true celebration. Each morning was magical due to the amazing breakfast buffet (see photos) - when they say gourmet, they do mean gourmet! We now need to be on a diet I think. The location was great as it was within walking distance to the altstadt / old town. The Isar river was just down the hill and had a great promenade. There were several walking trails nearby also. The town itself was lovely and so enjoyable. We do recommend buying some groceries to snack on in the room if you are staying a longer period. The free wifi worked perfectly and saved us from having to watch only German TV as we could pull up some online programs to view. From Bad Tolz you can go south to Garmisch or north to Munich. We went to many of the smaller towns nearby and thoroughly enjoyed seeing them (special mention: Murnau) All in all, this hotel is a lovely experience and the Olschewsky family makes your stay exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here. The decor and rooms are different than what you would find in an American hotel, but very charming, clean and well-maintained. The shower was awkwardly shaped, but again clean. Wi-fi was free, which was nice. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was quite a spread! The hotel is in a good location, walkable to the historic section of town and nearby restaurants.The couple who run the hotel could not have been more hospitable or helpful. They were there to give us the best stay in all ways possible and made us feel right at home. They helped to give us recommendations on places to eat, visit, directions, and also gave us free bus passes. This great service is what made the hotel shine!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked the Hotel Alexandra for a short break over New Year (29th Dec 2010 - 4th Jan 2011) as a group of coupled were spending some time with a friend and his Bavarian wife.

This hotel is about a 15euro cab (with tip) from the Bad Tolz train station - you could walk it but you would have to be extremely fit and with all my luggage, I didnt fancy it!

The hotel from the outside looks extremely traditional. From the entrance to the hallway, it is very traditionally decorated and extremely clean. Monica and Walter were so friendly upon arrival and their English was extremely good as I am ashamed to say I had only mastered please, thank you, can i have etc. Walter took us up to the room and it was very lovely. It had a little balcony but to be honest it was a little too chilly when I went to take advantage of it! We had booked a double but like most of Europe this consisted of two singles pushed together - this was no issue for us and perfectly comfortable. This is no slick minimalist 5* hotel but for a cozy, family run 3* hotel we were pleasantly surprised!

The one highlight for us was the breakfast - it is a buffet style breakfast but is the best quality one I have ever seen, You get limitless tea/coffee (everytime your cup is almost empty they top you up!) and all the laid out items from toast/rolls with spreads/peanut butter/Nutella, cheese and hams, 6 different types of cereal as well as 2 types of museli and 3 different type of yogurt with 6 different stewed fruits to choose from to acccompany it. They also will boil you an egg, which they always wrote Guten Tag! with a smily face on it! These little touches were brilliant.

One thing that isnt mentioned when you book is that you get free bus passes for the length of your stay. These were extremely useful for us as the cab fare to Lenggries (where our friend were) is 20 euros and we could get a bus from about 5 minutes away. Monica kingdly provided a map, showed me where everything was and wrote down the bus times. I would advise you get bus times as they arent very frequent. This bus trip was extremely scenic and quite lovely to do even once. If you need a cab, they will call you one which is quite helpful as it was so cold we didnt fancy walking into town to the taxi rank.

We used the Brauneck for skiing (30 euro cab or use the bus, get off at the Hotel Alpenrose and walk straight up the hill about 10 mins) which was breathtaking! I am a novice and my boyfriend is quite proficent so I had ski schooling (25 euros for morning or afternoon) and hired all my ski equipment for 25 euros which is extremely cheap in my partners experience! One thing I will say is to take your own drinks from local supermarkets as the bottles of water and fizzy drinks ranged between 4 and 6 euros - a bit steep in my opinion! The nudel soup (chicken broth with cut up spaghetti) is a delicious warmer for 2 euros. There are many different levels of slopes - I stuck to the low level ones and my boyfriend and his friends went up much higher! The restaurant just below the slope may not look like much during the day but is fabulous in the evening.

Bad Tolz itself was extremely pretty and there was lots to do from cafes and restaurants to pretty walks and once you have the map, you will manage to get around quite easily. There are plenty of places to eat and drink so ask for a recommendation or simply do what we did, walk past places in the day and check the menu.

Monica and Walter was so helpful throughout our stay that we genuinely felt sad to leave as they made us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

In July I stayed at the Hotel Alexandra. It was totally delightful. The owners, Walter and Monika Olschewsky, were very helpful--Walter even showed me where to put the gas in my rental car! There is beautiful artwork throughout the hotel. The room and breakfast were everything you could hope for in Bavaria.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: Kyreinstrasse 13, 83646 Bad Toelz, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Toelz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bad Toelz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Germany/Bad Toelz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.