We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit Disenchanted!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AlpenClub Schliersee

Save Saved
You added AlpenClub Schliersee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AlpenClub Schliersee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchbichlweg 18, D-83727 Schliersee, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schliersee
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit Disenchanted!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

For a 4 Star facility, I had some issues with it. The staff was helpful and warm. We stayed at a comfortable quiet room for a week, with a beautiful view of the mountains. The meals at the restaurant were decent but not excellent. We didn't used any of the amenities (pool, sauna, gym etc.) since we were traveling every day to nearby tourist destinations. The laundry room was a great point to long term travelers like us, despite one of the washing machine, was not operating properly.

The biggest drawbacks were: No A/C (for the summer over 33* C), the balcony was dirty, full of cigarettes buts, mold, moss, and birds waste and the room service was only once a week. This last would not bothered me much if they will at least exchange the towels at no extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Verkaufsleiter at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Alex

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay at our resort.

In our Karmasee Restaurant we thrive to please guests from all over the world.
I am sorry that we were not able to wow you with our food.

The climate on europe is such that airconditioning is not necessary as we do not very often get 30°C or more. However all our rooms offer black out curtains to cover the windows and prevent the sun from heating up the room.
I apologize about the dirty balcony. A quick word to our reception staff and we would have sent somebody to clean it up for you.

For enviromental reasons we have reduced the cleaning of our apartments to only once a week. This and charging a small amount for fresh towels has helped us to reduce our laundry and together with our rubbish segregation it is our contribution towards protecting our beautiful nature.

We would love to be able to welcome you back so that you get to use all of our facilties and let us charm you with our legendary hospitality.

Kind regards
The AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
64
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at the Alpen Club as Royal Resort members. We have stayed at several Royal Resorts around the world and this is definitely the best. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms which was great. The staff were good as a whole and we ate in the restaurant several times and loved the food and the service. The guy who runs the bar is the only staff member who we found to be below par as he was very rude and arrogant.
The facilities are good and there is a nice spa and indoor pool. The grounds and the setting are beautiful.
The town of Schliersee and surrounding areas are stunning and some of the best scenery we've seen in Europe. I imagine it would be great in Winter for skiing.
I would definitely recommend this as a stop if you enjoy the quieter and more beautiful aspect of Europe and The Alpen Club is a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Director of Sales at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Lynn

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize for your unpleasant experience with one of our staff.
It is important for us to receive such feedback as we always thrive to improve our services.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the winter as Schliersee has it's very own magic in the snow.

Kind regards
Judith
Sales & Marekting Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Schliersee is a German village or township about 50 minutes away from Munich. A picture perfect town for a week in the alps. Alpen Club is a four star resort which offers all types of accommodation from hotel rooms to apartments. We stayed in an apartment and found it to be so comfortable. The best part was two bathrooms in the one bedroom apartment which can house four adults.
The resort has all possible facilities one can think and expect of. Food is very good, however I personally did not dine at the resort. The staff was helpful and warm, though there could be issues of english with some. The resort manager is a warm and helpful person who mixes around well with the guests.
Definetely recommended.

Room Tip: Super markets are nearby and can be relied upon for basic necessities. BOB trains to Munich every ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your feedback about your stay at the AlpenClub.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us.

Thank you very much for your comments about our services and especially the accommodation choice, the food in the restaurant, the facilities and the friendliness and hospitality of our hotel team members.

We are always focused on delivering our guests the best possible service at any time.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to the AlpenClub in the near future.

Kindest regards from Schliersee.

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Ganganagar, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

it is a quiet and beautiful location. greenery is everywhere. city is very clean and cool.i have enjoyed very much. facility in club is excellent. problem of veg food in the club. staff are cooperative and sincere.

Room Tip: apartment and corner suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed the location of Schliersee, which indeed belongs to the most recommended places to visit in Bavaria.

Our resort services gave you the positive impression and satisfaction you had expected, although you found our vegetarian options to be not in the menu options.

The fact is, that we do have 4 vegetarian dishes included in our menu offer, which we always can extend, depending on our guests wishes. You probably have overseen this.

Thank you again for your comments and we would love to see you soon again in our hotel.

Kindest regards from Schliersee.

The AlpenClub Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Room basic 3.5 star.. great facilities though. Whole place has a sterile, up tight soul less feel to it.
Luckily, Spitzingsee had it's best Easter conditions in decades as the 'vibe' is quite unwelcoming.
Restaurant very basic but reasonably priced, reception staff aloof.. not interested in anything but the bill:(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Manager at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are not happy to hear, that you haven't been satisfied with your room, the front office service and and the atmosphere of our resort. We apologize for this non-positive experience.

Surely, 3 months after your stay is quite difficult to answer questions like who, where and why but you can be sure, that we'll communicate your message with all responsible departments in our business.
We remember, the Easter time this year was more or less winter time, pretty cold and unpleasant to holiday.

We hope, you give us a further possibility in the near future to persuade you with our high level services and quality.

Kindest regards from Schliersee.

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Even Yehuda, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very spacious appartment,with a balcony to the garden
Great location near the lake with travelling distance to all main cities:Munich Chiemsee Salzburg
Innsbruck
The small towns around are beautiful
the restaurant is nice and the fittness room is fine
the furnitures in the appartment are a little shabby and there is no dishwasher
There is wifi in the appatrment with a code for a fee
addtional towels are for a fee too,quite ashame

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Verkaufsleiter at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for all your feedback about your stay at the AlpenClub.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Thank you very much for your comments about our services.
Whilst the majority of our facilities are for free (kids playroom, leisure room with table tennis, darts and TV) please understand that there are a few services that we have to charge in order to cover our own costs.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to the AlpenClub in the near future.

Kindest regards from Schliersee.

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Even Yehuda, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a week,we had a spacious appartment,quite nice but the furniture a little
shabby,had no dishwasher
The location was great for travling around:Muinch,Salzburg,Innsbruck and of course the small places nearby

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, Verkaufsleiter at AlpenClub Schliersee, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guests

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
and thank you very much for comments.

We are always thriving to improve our facilities and guests services and therefore we appreciate your suggestions.

We would love to welcome you back to the AlpenClub in the near future.

Warmest regards from Schliersee

Your AlpenClub Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AlpenClub Schliersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpenClub Schliersee

Address: Kirchbichlweg 18, D-83727 Schliersee, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schliersee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Schliersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpenClub Schliersee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Bavarian Alps, close to the tranquil lake Schliersee, AlpenClub is blessed with some of the most stunning mountain scenery. The AlpenClub Schliersee has all the facilities to make your vacation a success. This recognized health resort has a unique setting and offers something for everyone. It has an excellent restaurant and bar, along with indoor and outdoor sporting and other leisure activities. The resort is consists of 88 beautifully appointed units with modern facilities, equipped with kitchen and tasteful living space with Satellite TV, DVD and balcony. The resort is also near the bus and train connections to both Munich and Salzburg, so sightseeing tours of both are within easy access during your stay. Popular activities available near to the resort include hiking, and many different winter sports. Whatever time of year you travel, and whether it is winter sports or summer relaxation - AlpenClub is a wonderful place to visit at any time of year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your AlpenClub Schliersee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenclub Schliersee Hotel Schliersee
Alpenclub Hotel Schliersee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlpenClub Schliersee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.