We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel in the Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berghotel Schlossanger Alp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berghotel Schlossanger Alp to your Saves list
Berghotel Schlossanger Alp
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Am Schlossanger 1 | Obermeilingen, 87459 Pfronten, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Pfronten B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“super hotel in the Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Schlossanger Alp is a wonderful hotel in the Alps. The location is absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff and owners are very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable. I was on a business trip but would recommend it for families and anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Liked — views and location
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

It's a little difficult to find, but well worth it. Isolated from the rest of the world in a forest at 1100m you are guaranteed calm. The standard of service throughout the lodge is excellent, as is the food, and other facilities. The owners are big wine fans and you'll find some great German and Austrian wines at v. low prices. There are walks in the woods to be had, and when sun falls you can settle into a comfy chair in front of the fire in the main salon. As a family of 4 with 2 young children, we were delighted with everything here. More expensive than many, but still excellent value for money.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We booked the Schlossanger Alp Hotel because we wanted to visit Schloss Neuschwanstein (a few miles away) and also wanted to do some walking. We were delighted by the whole experience; the staff, room and food were all exactly what we needed.

I booked one of the 'Alpzimmers' (room 8), which was on the first floor with windows and balconies facing in two directions and with glorious views to the mountains. We had comfortable twin beds, with a separate kitchenette, shower room and lounge. We didn't need to make use of the television - but did use the computer/internet in the upstairs guest lounge. We also enjoyed using the health spa; massages could be booked and there was a sauna, plus steam room and several sitting areas.

Breakfast was a typically splendid spread of fruit, cereals, fresh-baked breads and cold meats, cheeses,etc. Dinner a gourmet delight; we particularly enjoyed the local pike perch and the steak. Staff were ever helpful, friendly and professional.

  • Liked — comfort levels and glorious views
  • Disliked — can't think of anything...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

This was my favorite hotel during our European vacation! Yes, it is a little out of the way, but it is well worth it. We did have some trouble getting there with our GPS because the road it took us to was out and we had to re-route, but once we found the hotel, we were in love! It is currently finishing a renovation/new construction, but this was not a problem at all for us. The hotel is lovely and has spectacular views of the German Alps. We stayed in the Small Mountain Suite, which was simply wonderful. Huge! With a large bathroom, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and the best part...a huge balcony looking at the mountains. We sat out there in the morning, afternoon, evening...it was a highlight of our trip. This room is the best! Also, the staff is so nice and helpful. And the common rooms, which are brand new, are gorgeous. Another highlight here is the food. Dinner in the restaurant was the best meal we've had in years. Fabulous! And breakfast was a delight. We also enjoyed petting the two sweet Collies that roam the property. I would go back to Bavaria for many reasons, but I would not stay anywhere else if I was in Southern Germany!!! WONDERFUL!

  • Liked — Views, room, food, service--everything!
  • Disliked — My trip ended and I had to leave! I would have stayed forever...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We had business near Pfronten and on the recommendation of friends stayed at this hotel. You are truly in the Alps! It is a beautiful setting, and had a gorgeous lodge type feeling. It’s very warm and inviting. They didn’t really have a bellman, however 2 of the staff memberes helped with our luggage—and we had a lot! We loved our room; it had a sitting area, a balcony facing the mountains, and a little kitchen. It was so homey.
We had dinner in the dining room and it was a 5 star experience, very much a gourmet meal. Also, breakfast the next morning was wonderful. It was served in another room that was decorated really cute. We just loved it.
The only problem with the hotel was the location; it sits up in the mountains, probably 2 miles from the little town. It was much too far to walk so we took a taxi down into town. It cost 9 euros! I was shocked! The town is very small, not much going on and not too many shops, but my friend and I just had to keep busy for a couple of hours while our husbands went to a meeting. All in all though, it was a fun place to stay.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Far from everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

My mother and I stayed for four nights in this hotel and were impressed with the standard. The rooms were lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a quiet location and is ideal for peace and quiet. There is alot of available walking in the area. The hotel is child friendly and caters well for kids but you never get the impression that kids are there, if you know what I mean. I would go back again. The food is good.

  • Liked — room, view and food
  • Disliked — liked it all.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

I noticed that the Schlossanger was classified under B&B. I am not sure where this opinion came from but it is certainly far, far more than that. The hotel stands in the mountains high above Pfronten, but with an excellent road from the town, and nestles beneath Schloss Falkenstein, the highest castle in Germany. It has one of the most attractive outlooks across the alps of Bavaria and Austria.
The hotel itself is very traditional, with large comfortable rooms with balconies, and the public areas are very spacious. The restaurant is, in my view, certainly the best in Bavaria and probably in all Germany too. The service throughout the hotel can not be bettered with most of the staff speaking good English. The proprietor makes a point of seeing all his guests daily and really does take an interest in their well-being.
We have stayed at several of the "better" hotels in Pfronten over the years, but this is by far the best, with several mountain walks through the pine forests at your door as a bonus.
B&B it may be, but it's B&B in a luxury hotel. Get a brochure and see what I mean.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berghotel Schlossanger Alp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schlossanger Alp

Address: Am Schlossanger 1 | Obermeilingen, 87459 Pfronten, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Pfronten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Pfronten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berghotel Schlossanger Alp 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitor, honored guest!We welcome you on the pages of the mountain Schlossanger Alp, a 4 starsuperiore hotel in the Allgäu, Bavaria. Situated at 1130 meters above sea level, surrounded by meadows and bordered by the mountains of Pfrontener, lies the castle Alp.We are always actively involved as a host to keep the equipment and services, within an attractive and contemporary levels.Daily we are enthusiastically for you, you give a piece of home in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Berghotel Schlossanger Alp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schlossanger Alp Pfronten, Germany - Bavaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berghotel Schlossanger Alp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.