We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Murnau

Save Saved
You added Alpenhof Murnau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhof Murnau
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Murnau
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We came to this hotel as part of a package for the Oberammergau Passion Play so the whole 2 night stay was pretty expensive. I cannot comment on prices for other years or months.

The hotel property is beautiful and in a country setting. There are many superb facilities on site, with indoor and outdoor pools, sauna and spa. The whole place is spotlessly clean and wonderfully maintained.

The staff are very friendly and completely reliable. Everything was organised for our trip and there were no last minute hitches which can be so stressful.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were both met on arrival and taken back on departure to the local railway station. We had the most truly relaxing time in beautiful surroundings.

If I had any negative comments it would be regarding the food which we felt was fairly mediocre and the wine list exorbitantly expensive. Also, not once did we ever get a HOT cup of coffee or tea; every drink being tepid!

Perhaps if we had been staying longer we would have hired a car and travelled around a bit and eaten in other places.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
59
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for Oberammergau Passion Play. Room was fabulous, well equipped, very clean with a wonderful view of the mountains. Check-in on 1st night for our party of 45 was very slow, leaving no time to use the wonderful indoor pool. Bar and waiter service was very slow, especially at breakfast when I waited 20 minutes for a fried egg - gave up in the end. Wine very, very expensive, gardens lovely and would make a great spot for cycling or walking in spectacular countryside.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marnewt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here for two nights as part of a package to visit Oberammergau for the Passion Play. The hotel has all the facilities you would expect of a 5* hotel, and in addition lovely scenery in blissfully peaceful surroundings. However what makes the Alpenhof exceptional is the staff - they are delightful. All helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Found by surfing in order to escape the Oktoberfest in Munich!!
I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

  • Liked — The view of the gerdens
  • Disliked — Not very much
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

We found the Hotel Alpenhof in Murnau by chance, but to say this is a hidden treasure would be an understatement. Faultless service allied to large comfortable rooms, with free mini bar, and a fabulous restaurant all wrapped up in the most amazing location make the Alpenhof one of our favourite hotels. We stayed in many different hotels in Germany dring a week long holiday and found that you get what you pay for. Certainly the Alpenhof is not cheap, but then again compared to similar Irish hotels, it is a bargain. We had a comfort room on the second floor with a balcony and a beautiful view over the nature reserve and to the Apls beyond. The room was large and had a seating area with a couch and table. As with a lot of hotels we stayed in the beds were two single beds moved together. The bathroom was generous and had a large bath. Noise levels were non-existant save for the distant cow bells from one of the farms nearby. We ate in the hotel restaurant and both the food and service were fabulous. Next door to the hotel is a riding centre, and just beyond that is the start of the Marnau Moos. Spending only one night didn't allow us time to explore the reserve but it looked like it had much to offer, perfect for a bike ride and picnic. The only downside was the parking. This has been mentioned already in another review, but the hotel has its own covered car park, however we were charged €7 for the night. We would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — Service and quality
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

We stayed here in late September for two nights on the tail end of a business trip. Rooms were surprisingly large with a sitting area and large deck facing the southern mountains. For the price, we expected luxurious accommodations and I'd say they met our expectations. Stocked minibar that is included in the price and filled each day. Bathroom is large and has separate shower and a nice tub (but only for one). Request a room on the 2nd floor so that you have a slightly better view.
Service is friendly and I believe everyone is expected to have some familiarity with English as we had no problem getting what we needed.
The hotel is located in a country setting adjacent to a couple of other inns and horse farms. It is located in the foothills and facing the mountains. We also think we heard cattle, or pehaps sheep, in the morning but never saw them. We found the atmosphere relaxing. There is a hiking trailhead that is a 5 minute walk down the road. We didn't get a chance to hike but it seemed like it would be a easy but beautiful walk.
The property has two restaurants, one that is Bavarian cuisine and the other has more of a French flair, which is considered their upscale restaurant. Both are expensive but we found the food to be excellent; however, we liked the Bavarian restaurant more for its atmosphere - it was in a larger room, the food came in larger portions (yeah, we're American), and the other patrons seemed to be more relaxed. We did do the set menu with both restaurants including the wine selection and think that is the best way to go to get a taste of food and wine from different regions. The upscale restaurant was a little too snooty for our tastes - but if you get off on all the subtle gestures involved with eating at a French restaurant, you will enjoy.
I suppose the only thing that really bothered me was that they charged 6 euro per day for parking on their property. I would write this off as a cultural difference but we didn't experience this much on our trip. I think if you are paying $350 per night and the hotel is located in a suburban setting, they should include the parking.
Otherwise, a great stay and a great region of Germany to explore.

  • Liked — good view, away from town, Bavarian restaurant's set course menu with wine
  • Disliked — 6 euro charge for parking
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2004

Perfectly located in the center of Bavaria near King Ludwig's castles and the Alps. Hotel Alpenhof Murnau is an outstanding find. Our room was a split level suite with marble bathrooms and balconies with views of the Alps. The hotel has two outstanding, Michelin starred restaurants and during good weather, a beautiful terrace. The hotel also has a excellent spa as well as indoor and outdoor pools. The service was friendly and professional. I highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenhof Murnau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Murnau

Address: Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Murnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Murnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenhof Murnau 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern Bavarian alpine chalet-style retreat, Alpenhof Murnau lies on the edge of Murnauer Moos nature reserve with a panoramic terrace overlooking the Alps. Member of SLH – Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Expect Michelin-starred dining, an exceptional spa, two pools and 11 nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alpenhof Murnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Murnau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.