We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Isar Hotel to your Saves list
Isar Hotel
Isarstrasse 4, 85356 Freising, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Middle River, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had to make a last minute business trip to Freising, and this was the only place that had availability. The room was pleasant and clean. The bathroom was pretty dim, though; which made shaving in the morning a little more difficult than you'd want. For an extra fee, you can get internet service. I paid the extra fee and the internet was a good speed. All in all, not a bad place to stay in Freising.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Isar Hotel Freising
A very comfortable Hotel- not expensive there is WIFI (7 euro for 24 hours) and a shuttle to Munich airport at any time (20 euro at 5 a.m.) a good breakfast but u can skip the Thai restaurant that adjunct to the Hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here as an overnight stay between flights. The room was very nice, with an octagonal bank of windows overlooking a garden and barn. The room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight was the breakfast-one of the best I've ever had. The variety was amazing - smoked salmon, fresh fruit cup, sliced meats and cheeses, fresh breads, etc. - even fresh orange juice that you make yourself with a juicer! The hotel is a short walk from the center of the old city, but it is practically on the river and along a nature trail, giving you the options of quiet and city fun. We slept with the windows wide open and it was peaceful and tranquil. Very, very pleased with the service too. Really a great bargain on top of it all!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed here with friends on 28th October.

No complaints. Staff very helpful. Rooms large and clean. Good location and decent buffet breakfast.

Its a classic German family run 3 star hotel. Nothing spectacular but does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. The room we had was clean and basic. The included buffet breakfast was good. The hotel is not in the center of Freising but they do have a mini van which we used to go to the train station and airport. There is a fee for the minivan, I think it was $5 to go into Friesing, about the same price as the taxi we took one time when they were unable to meet us at the station.
There is a chinese restaurant next door which was reasonably priced and very good. There didn't seem to be any other restaurants within walking distance.
We would stay here again, it was good and quiet, but do not expect a typical american chain hotel, i.e. no room service, no kleenex in the bathroom etc. It did have a minibar and wakeup call.
We paid 99E at the height of the tourist season including breakfast. Probably more reasonable at other times of year. The Marriott in Freising was charging 155E no breakfast for the same nights we were there.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Angel, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We stayed at the Isar one night as we had been looking for a reasonably-priced hotel near the Munich airport. This looked like it fit the bill and would have been quite reasonable except for the add-ons....there were extra charges for parking and charges for transportation to and from the airport. On the plus side, the breakfast was fantastic and served early enough so we could leave the hotel at 6:15am. The staff was pleasant and helpful; the room was big and adequately furnished, with comfy beds but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isar Hotel

Address: Isarstrasse 4, 85356 Freising, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
08161 / 86 50 Fax: 08161 / 86 55 55 E-Mail: info@isarhotel.de ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Isar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.