We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bayerischer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Hauptstr. 3, 85354 Freising, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
East Sussex
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Right in the middle of the main street in Freising. Hotel does not have parking but you can park temporarily right outside to drop of your stuff and then free parking can be arranged in a public car park round the corner through reception. This was convenient enough for us. Friendly reception staff, but waiting staff seemed a bit "distant". Single room bed was a bit hard but ok. Good breakfast selection. Didn't try the restaurant (except for a drink) but it looked pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
7
32
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed a night in one of their renovated rooms all very nicely done good quality.
I also ate in the Restaurant it was a good meal
Breakfast was normal continental not spectacular but nice.
Hotel still being renovated but other than smell of fresh paint not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night before catching a flight back to the UK from Munich airport. The hotel is in a great central location, but that is its downfall. The noise from the street - despite the double glazing - was really awful. Do request a room at the back of the hotel as they will be quieter. The hotel seems to undergoing extensive renovation which it does need badly, however, it is full of old charm at the moment and I hope the modernisation will reflect this.
There is a bus stop just 30 yards from the hotel towards the town square and it costs just 2.60 Euros per person for a trip to the airport [change at the bus station for the no. 635].

Room Tip: Please request a room at the back of the hotel as these are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great local hotel right off the main square of the Freising old city. I didn't have time to explore but it looked wonderful. Taxi from airport took about 10-15 minutes, cost 33 Euro. The hotel arranged their own taxi back to the airport that only cost 20 Euro. The hotel itself was fine. My single room was not large but had everything I needed: bed, small couch, table, and desk. The renovations are still underway in January 2013, with some of the lobby blocked off (not a problem for me). The breakfast is amazing. I'd stay there again, and see if I could arrange ahead of time for the 20 euro taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is very open about undergoing renovations, so you book with the full knowledge that there could be disruption. The place certainly does need a makeover, but Freising is a lovely old town, and the Beyerischer Hof has the opportunity to return to the prime hotel status in the town.

The reception and breakfast staff are, without exception, courteous, helpful and understanding. No bar at the moment, which is strange, but the gentleman on reception in the evening found us a nice bottle of wine from the restaurant. Breakfast, typically German, is excellent, with again, friendly staff.

The restaurant menu looks good, but we opted to eat in one of the tradio9nal bier restaurants. The rooms, if simply furnished, are large and comfortable. Even our main street facing room was quiet well into morning.

Certainly will be back. We fly to and from Munich Airport nearby several times a year. This hotel needs to tap into the airport market - it's a short taxi or train or bus ride away - and it would make a very welcome change from faceless airport 'industrial estate style' hotels. Looking forward to the benefit of the rebuilding work - oh and please get a working lift!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were very happy to have stayed at this hotel. Fortunately, we stayed two nights, and wished we had more!
I especially loved the delicious breakfast; all of the usual hotel breakfast items, plus yummy cakes. Also, the other meals at the hotel restaurant were delicious, and not overpriced for good quality.
The staff were all excellent.

Room Tip: We had a quiet, cozey room on the corner; number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After reading the mixed reviews we were hesitant about making a reservation, but we loved this place!!, it's true it could use some updating, but it was charming, clean, had good beds and an updated bathroom, best of all the breakfast was great. We also loved Freising and were disappointed we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and loved watching all the action, noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Address: Untere Hauptstr. 3, 85354 Freising, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Freising
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the Bayerischer Hof! The Hotel Bayerischer Hof lives tradition and hospitality for many generations. The hotel is located in the city centre of Freising close to all attractions and just a couple minutes from Munich Airport. The restaurant serves home-style cooking at attractive prices. The Bayerischer Hof combines traditional ambience with modern amenities and invites to feel home. Own parking garage at the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Freising

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayerischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.