We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly stube” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jakob-Kessenring-Strasse 12-14, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Uberlingen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“very friendly stube”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Schapfle in Advent period (5 december), the season is very low and we payed 90 euro, not cheap but the room was very spacious and confortable. The staff is very friendly and for 5 euro more you have a place in the near parking facility. The breakfast was good, not exceptional. All in all very good.

Room Tip: probably the front lake are spectacular but they cost a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is a perfect location just off the promenade, and you can easily walk to everything! The front staff is really pleasant and eager the help. The rooms are spacious and quaint. The door and the floors are not silent, but it adds to the rustic feeling. The bathroom in room 21 is quite small, but adequate. Breakfast buffet was plentiful. The only real negative is the parking. It was great to know that the car was secure, but not right at the hotel.I would recommend the hotel for anyone who wants s short term stay at the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on our Summer Holiday. Room 20 on the 1st floor near to the side entrance which was only a few yards away from the lakeside promenade...very pretty.
Room was spacious immaculately clean and with a very large bathroom containing shower,toilet and wash basin. No bath if you like a soak which didnt bother us.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Didnt eat in the hotel other than breakfast which was very good and in a beautiful dining room, but the restaurant always seemed to be full at night.No parking at the hotel so you had to pull up outside, unload your luggage and then take the car to a multi storey car park about 15 minutes walk away but for which the hotel give a discounted rate for guests...5 Euros per night. Didnt have a problem but it could be a bit of a hassle for some guests...older/families with young children. Paid 104 Euros per night for bed and breakfast which for the standard of the hotel I thought was very good.
Uberlingen is a very pretty harbour town with plenty going on. We had a trip to nearby Meersburg...caught the bus at the station near the multi storey car park, about a twenty minute ride and about6 euros I think. Meersburg was very pretty and worth a visit.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is just off the lakeside promenade, and a short walk away from both the centre and the park and Bodensee Therme. The only minus point is that their reserved parking spaces have been moved from the nearby West parking to Stadtmitte, following a fire in the West parking. This is only a 5-6 minutes walk, but you are advised to just park in front on the sidewalk to unload your luggage, get a parking chipcard from the hotel and then go to the parking. Leave your warning blinkers on and you will have no problems with the local police. Same procedure in reverse for checking out.

Rooms are clean and spacious, flatscreen TV has many German but only two English-language channels, prices of minibar are surprisingly reasonable. Pillows are thin so don't hesitate to ask for more if you need extra neck support. There is a sauna (free of charge) that we didn't use because you have to notify an hour in advance as that is the time for it to heat up. Didn't really need it as the Bodensee Therme with 5 saunas and 1 steambath is nearby.

We booked a package deal that included half-pension (breakfast & dinner), a day ticket for the Therme and 2 nights. Good value for money. Breakfast was good with sufficient choices, dinner consisted of a 4-course menu where you had 4 choices of main course including a vegetarian main course. Soup, starter and dessert were fixed but staff was flexible if you get my drift ;)

The quality of the food was good to very good, the only problem we noticed was an excessive use of salt on some dishes, especially on the french fries that were served pre-salted. I would recommend that you ask for unsalted fries with salt on the side. Portions are German size so big. Staff is helpful and speaks English well. You will know when Gabriela is on duty ;)

Note: Hotel doesn't take credit cards, but there are ATMs from the Sparkasse and Volksbank nearby, and also a Deutsche Bank ATM near Stadtmitte parking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

While on a three week holiday in Germany we knew we wanted to stay on the Bodensee (Lake Constance) and we drove into town and located this little Gem! I would recommend anyone looking for a spectacular little inn with fantastic food and staff to stay here! This was truly a wonderful choice! Great location, good walking, perfect for photographers wanting to capture a great little German village feeling! We could not say enough about how wonderful our stay was! Fantastic linens on the beds too!

  • Liked — The overall feeling you got when you walked in the door!
  • Disliked — The tiny shower...
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

web site: [--]

Subject: Hotel Schapfle
Location: Uberlingen, Germany
Title: Wonderful hotel-restaurant only steps from the promenade


We stayed at this 3 to 4 star otel on a bike tour around Lake
Constance. The hotel, above a very wonderful and popular restaurant, had a cozy
but large lobby and clean, modern rooms finished in a lot of pine wood
and pine furniture. The hotel was one of the best of our trip and just
steps from the people packed promenade but up a small pedestrian alley
where you leave the crowds of the cafe lined waters edge. Some rooms
may have a lake view but ours was on a main street one block off the lake
shore but it was absolutely quiet in the room. The hotel restaurant was
very reasonanble and tremendous regional food. The restaurant was
filled with locals as well as a big tour group from Germany.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle

Address: Jakob-Kessenring-Strasse 12-14, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uberlingen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Uberlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Weinstube Schapfle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.