We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and out of town” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel St. Leonhard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Parkhotel St. Leonhard to your Saves list
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Obere St. Leonhard-Strasse 71, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Uberlingen
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Run down and out of town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is at the top of a hill on the outskirts of Uberlingen- about 20-30 min walk into town. The layout of the hotel is very confusing, and the rooms and common areas (in our wing at least) appear to have not been renovated since around 1985. Furthermore there is no Wi-Fi, and no air-conditioning in the rooms. On the upside the staff are friendly and they do offer numerous facilities- nevertheless, for the price I would have expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Pay up for a room with a lake view and don't stay in the lower wing of the hotel toward the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParhotelStLeonhard, Guest Relation Management at Parkhotel St. Leonhard, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jane,

thank you very much for your stay with us and for your feedback. It is important to get to know our guests’ opinion in order to improve our performance constantly. Therefore we appreciate your comments very much.

We are glad that you were happy with our services, our helpful team, and the various facilities we offer for our guests. It is sad that not everything could please you like that. We always do our best to satisfy our guests. If someone is not happy with its room, we always try to find another one which fits better. The rooms of our east wing offer a new and modern design, and also an air conditioning and wifi. Maybe you would have liked one of these more? We are renovating, renewing and maintaining our hotel constantly. This happens in stages, so soon all the rooms will have such a comfort. When we built our annexes during the last decades we had to follow the rules of the building authorities. We also wanted all our rooms to have a view on the lake. That is the reason for the “confusing layout” you described.

If we were not able to satisfy you totally during your last stay, we would be happy to get the chance to do that during a next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us for furthermore concerns or wishes.

Kindest regards
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    19
    16
    6
See reviews for
22
46
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This modern hotel sits on a hillside outside Ueberlingen with great views of Lake Constance (Bodensee). It is in a suburban neighborhood across from an orthopaedic hospital. The staff is very friendly and helpful but seemed to change every day. The rooms are average for a 4 star hotel, a bit cramped, tiny shower, small bath towels and generic body wash/shampoo called Hydro Basics which squeezes blue gel from a wall dispenser. But the rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel is spread out over 3 buildings and everything seems to be far from the main area. There is no gym but there is a very nice indoor pool. The hotel rents bicycles and E-bikes and there are walkways down to the town. Breakfast was standard continental fare with a few extra amenities like smoked salmon and fresh rolls. But these things tended to run out early. The staff was very apologetic. Guests receive a free bus pass to get into Ueberlingen so you can leave your car at the hotel. The stop is 40 meters from the entrance in front of a little chapel from the Middle Ages.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParhotelStLeonhard, Guest Relation Management at Parkhotel St. Leonhard, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Jon,

thank you very much for visiting us. We are glad that we could contribute towards your pleasant stay and that you were amazed by the stunning location, our helpful service, and our pool area. Thank you very much for finding the time to let us know about this experience.

We would love to be your host again during a next travel to the idyllic scenery of southern Germany. You might want to test one of our new suites in the east wing then, those offer more space.

Warm regards to Connecticut
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very nice hotel just outside Ueberlingen. The room was very satisfactory although it took us awhile to figure out how to put lights on. We had a limited view of the lake but a nice balcony. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choices & a beautiful view. Unfortunately, the weather was rainy & cold & prevented us from sitting outside. Front desk was very nice & spoke good English. Indoor pool was very nice. Nice paths surrounding hotel but could not find path to lake. They have bikes to rent & would have if weather hadn't been so bad. Hotel is hard to find & we were very glad we had a GPS. It's a must in Germany.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's easy to find & one with good view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParhotelStLeonhard, Guest Relation Management at Parkhotel St. Leonhard, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for staying at the Parkhotel St. Leonhard and for your gorgeous feedback. There's nothing better for us than to hear that our guests have felt very well during their stay with us. Your words make us happy.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and that you liked the beautiful location, our comfortable rooms, our helpful service, and our breakfast. Unfortunately, you left too early; right now we do have the perfect weather for enjoying the view outside at our terrace.

It would be great if you visit us again during a next stay to the beautiful landscape of southern Germany - hopefully with a lot of sunshine next time!

Kind regards to Texas
Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for thee nights to explore the area for the first time. We arrived on abrilliantly sunny day and spent the afternoon relaxing on the balcony of our room with awonderful view across the lake. The reception was first class as was the service throughout the hotel. We were in 'The West Wing' and it is somewhat minimalist in decoration but the room was large and comfortable. It's a drive or a bus ride into town.
We ate each night in the hotel and were delighted with the food and the restaurant service. A three night stay pretty much took us through the menu.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParhotelStLeonhard, Guest Relation Management at Parkhotel St. Leonhard, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for staying with us and for finding the time for your kind review.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that our services made you happy. We are pleased that you liked the beautiful location, our helpful service, and our food.

We hope very much to welcome you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards from Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Parkhotel St. Leonhard is up the hill a ways from the town center, but offers amazing views of the lake. The rooms are comfortable, and I believe, most on the lake side are equipped with balconies. They offer a nice spread for breakfast with plenty of fruit, bread, meats and eggs, plus excellent coffee. I ate two dinners in their restaurant and was impressed with the quality of the food and variety on the menu

The hotels offers outside parking for no additional charge as well as free WIFI service. The WIFI isn't all that strong in the rooms, but worked great in all the rooms near the lobby. The staff was exceptionally helpful throughout my staff - they even gave me a jump start when the battery in my rental car died.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the lake with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParhotelStLeonhard, Guest Relation Management at Parkhotel St. Leonhard, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay at the Parkhotel St. Leonhard. We are pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and that you were amazed by the beautiful location, our comfortable rooms, our helpful service, and our food. Thank you very much for finding the time to let us know about your experience.

We would be thrilled to welcome you again for your next visit to the idyllic Bodensee in southern Germany!

Kind regards from Parkhotel St. Leonhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night for a family reunion. My sister told them that I travel with a dog. So we stayed in a "dog" room. As far as we could see they put all the nasty furniture from the early 90. The room was on the ground floor, so we had no view of the lake. The reason we were told is that you can walk your dog straight out the balcony door. As far as I could see- the place in front of it was often used by dogs and never cleaned!
The same night a wedding took place in the hotel. It was very noisy and we could hardly sleep. All entrances were blocked by smoking people.
As far as we understood the rooms of our family were ok. They also provided nice family rooms.
But after our experience we will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: As far as we heard of the rest of our family the rooms in the 7th floor seem to be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

fantastic view from terrace and most rooms onto lake constance. very good service, spacious rooms, but pool a bit small. enjoyable vacation spot, this hotel offers a nice option for exploring the region.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel St. Leonhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel St. Leonhard

Address: Obere St. Leonhard-Strasse 71, 88662 Uberlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Uberlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Uberlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel St. Leonhard 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parkhotel St. Leonhard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel St. Leonhard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.