We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Schloss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Schloss to your Saves list
Hotel Am Schloss
Burgsteige 18, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tubingen
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent three nights here close to Christmas. Very very good location, in a wonderful old shopping district. Room decor could be updated slightly, but very clean, with a very nicely renovated bathroom. Fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
30
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were in town for the Tübingen Christmas market, and on a side note, I'll just say that I'm so glad I got to see this historic downtown, which was the best preserved but real, "living" medieval city I've seen besides York, England. (Given the choice, I'd steer people here rather than to Rothenburg ob der Tauber.) This hotel is in the perfect location to explore the old part of town or the Christmas market, only a minute's walk to the main market square, and I'd readily stay here again.

Finding the hotel is a bit of a trick. We were directed to put Neckarhalde 1 into our GPS. That isn't where the hotel is, and we didn't see the signs for it. (It was after dark.) Actually, if you look at a map, you will see that Neckarhalde makes a sharp "elbow" bend to the left past this address. This is a little side street called Burgsteige. The hotel is at the top of this street, literally where you can't go further. (The parking lot for the castle is there as well.) That's the street you need to drive up.

Neckarhalde and Burgsteige are scary streets for an American to drive, and I would say a small car is a must. They're only one lane wide, but they're two-way streets. This means that if you meet a car, you need to find a place wide enough to pass one another on the sidewalks; on Burgsteige, one or the other of you backs up. But common sense rules the day, and they're not long streets. A matter of a couple of minutes, and you're there. We left the car by the door, and they parked it for us. We were happy to pay only seven Euros a night for downtown parking, and they let us leave the car there while we visited the castle and the Christmas market, even though we had already checked out.

The staff were very friendly. The older members of staff didn't always explain themselves that well, but we never got the sense that this was on purpose. Probably they simply overestimated our cleverness or our German ability. However, perhaps because of the criticisms below, they've hired young, sharp people to work at reception and in the restaurant, and they were very service-oriented. We had no problems during our stay.

We were in the annex across the street, on the ground floor. The room was very large, large enough for a couch in addition to the bed, and it had plenty of room to spread out luggage and walk around. The decor, as others have said, was dated and a little shabby, and the furniture was cheap. The mattresses could have been better. But the hotel excelled in some ways that really matter. We had plenty of spare electrical outlets, including two right by the bedside tables so we could charge our cell phones. The night was cold, but the room was tight and warm--a little too warm for the heavy winter comforters on the bed, in fact. I should have looked to see if lighter ones were available in the room. The bathroom was warm, and the shower was small but very refreshing, with a good shower head and plenty of hot water. We were only there one night, and if there was Internet, I forgot to check, so I can't speak to that. Reviewers have mentioned noise, and it's true that we heard a few people come in, but we overheard no one in a room. We had no issues with noise at all.

We very much enjoyed the breakfast. The sausages were mild and tasty, the bread was as good as only German bread can be, and the place had real butter available instead of some sort of artificial stuff. Another reviewer complained about the coffee, so I'll just say that our coffee was absolutely fantastic, with that "cream" that you usually only get from a very expensive machine.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor of the annex. Cell phone reception was poor, but the room was snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

invested in it, that makes hotel stay nicer. Sometimes it is good or bad- in this instance, choice. It could be so very much nicer. Location - very good, at castle, close to centre old town. Very nice terrase in restaurant. Food-mediocre at best. Rooms- some better, mine was bit shabby. But even shabby can be estheticly pleasant- this one not. Everything seems 50 years old, orange and brown (this combination should be prohibited) with plastic flowers.... Towels in bathroom-harsh and minature. Beds rather hard. The breakfast - mediocre, but coffee outriight bad. Thank god nearby are some cafes. Internet in the hall. Why 3 dots? Because it was clean in a good german way.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking tiny street- there is a pub downstairs and young people drink and smoke in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very comfortable hotel. We were in the annex, on the top floor which made it a good climb to get to our room. Lucky we had help with the bags. However the room was large, the bathroom was very good, the heating worked well, we had a nice view and the breakfast was excellent. One minor quibble was that the bed was a strange shape. Next door to the hotel is a nice little bar which was a good place to have a drink-it seems that the Tubingen students also like to drink there. Tubingen is a lovely little town but it was closed the day we were there for reunion/reunification day (celebrating the two Germanies coming together in 1990). So really can't say much about the place.

Room Tip: depends whether you want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed on night in June 2012 at the Hotel Am Schloss. We were driving and the streets are narrow and the actual street the hotel is on does not even look like a street to drive on. HTere ae signs for hte hotel and the castle as you get close. The hotel is in a great location to visit the castle., walk to the town square and the river. The staff was very friendly. Our room was overlooking the front of the castle which was a nice locaton. Others have mentioned the bar across the street but even with the World cup game going on it did not disturb our sleep.

The breakfast in the morning was nice in the resturant. There was a nice selection of breads meets and cheese.

One suggestion is that if you want to eat in the restaurant for dinner you should make a reservation when you book your room. We wer ethere on a Thurday night and the restaurant was booked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Close to the old castle of Tübingen,situated in the centre, this old hotel gives a very romantic and charming impression. The rooms are not too big, but comfortable. Everything was clean and worked properly.Meals were great. But be aware: There is no elevator, staircases are sometimes narrow- thats the price for staying at a medieval place. But anyway we enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel is located at a nice place near the Tubingen castle. The outside view is perfect; however when you go inside, the room decor is not so good. Confort levels are not good with bad quality pillows. Everything here is written in German and it is very difficult for Non-Germans to understand anything. Breakfast was awesome!! The worst part is the hotel staff which is not at all friendly, except a couple of house-keeping ladies. They have a lot of room for improvement in all aspects.

Room Tip: Select a room on the front side towards the parking/castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Schloss

Address: Burgsteige 18, 72070 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schloss Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Schloss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.