We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel with an Incredible Breakfast with a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domizil Tubingen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domizil Tubingen to your Saves list
Domizil Tubingen
Woehrdstrasse 5-9, 72072 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Tubingen
Milan
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel with an Incredible Breakfast with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in the heat of Tubingen on the riverside. Rooms are exceptional and breakfast is served in the garden on the riverside if weather allows. I spent two nights in July and the weather was quite hot. Every morning I had breakfast in the garden while I watched swan and boats slowly passing by. What an experience :) rooms are very clean and cozy. Definitively a great location for spending your time in Tubingen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
24
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. Didn't have the best of views (multi-story car park next hotel), but the rooms were nice., clean, and comfortable. One thing they fail to tell you in theur adverts is that this hotel is directly across the Neckar River from several large capacity outdoor bars. Lots of late night noise... Great if you join in. Not so great if you want to sleep.

Would have rated this hotel one star higher but I wasn't happy with the staff's reaction when I brought to the front desk's attention that I had found a cockroach doing laps around my families toiletries in the bathroom (I literally brought it to their attention...cockroach in ziploc.). The guy behind the front desk's reaction? "Oh, how embarrassing. It's because we are next to the river." What?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. It is very well located in Tübingen, at the river Necar, close to Alt Stadt, restaurants and shops. We rented two rooms and recomend booking a room with a view of the river and the Österberg. The rooms are not very large but funcional and very clean. The service is quite efficient if not very personal. We will choose this hotel again when visiting Tübingen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Domizil hotel in Tübingen is a correct business hotel that is apparently used a lot by university visitors and lecturers. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is also correct with an ever-smiling waiter. There is a public parking nearby where you can park the car for 10€/night and there is plenty of space. The location is at the border of the Neckar which gives it a nice character. The dinner in the evening was surprisingly good, taking into account that there was just one waiter and a small kitchen.
I experienced 2 down-sides. When I returned to my room one evening you could smell that someone had been smoking cigarettes in the room. I guess that it must have been the cleaning personnel. I had to open the windows completely for an hour to get the smell out of the room. At night, the street is often frequented by youngsters who shout or play with the garbage containers.
Globally it is a nice hotel but I would prefer a room at the Neckar-side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the Neckar side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmkoping, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our room had a view over Neckar and the Österberg on oposit side. Modern, clean and with good service with garage next door. Beds a bit on the hard side though. Breakfast quite ok, but no hot food on the buffet - found out eventually that scrambled eggs were served at th asking. Walking distans to everything in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First the good: The location is great. It is in old town at the bridge. It is a short walk to restaurants and scenic attractions. The personnel working at the front desk speak good English and are very helpful. The wifi worked great in the room. The wifi was fast and unlimited. The breakfast is only fair and the same thing every day. Now, the bad: The room was extremely hot. We had to keep the windows open for cool and then the noise was unbearable. The noise of people screaming and laughing outside was terrible. This noise went on until 4 AM. The noise combined with the heat made sleeping very difficult. The room did not darken well. Even at night it was like daylight out because of the lights and thin curtains. The bathroom was dark with only two tiny lights above the mirror. The room was not swept or vacuumed during our three night stay. Two of our nights were Friday and Saturday and our problems may have been exacerbated by the weekend. Regardless, a hotel room is useless if you cannot sleep. We will go elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: A room away from the street and away from the parking deck would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice hotel located in the centre of Tuebingen, restaurant with nice river view.
The hotel is clean and nice. The rooms are not that big, but ok. The hotel is located in the city centre, to reach just few minutes by foot! Nice pub with home made beer just 2 minutes by foot from the hotel! If you arrive by car, good park possibility by the hotel or in the park just nearby.
I reccomend it!

Room Tip: ask for a no smoking room if you need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domizil Tubingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domizil Tubingen

Address: Woehrdstrasse 5-9, 72072 Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Tubingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Tubingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domizil Tubingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domizil Tubingen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.