We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gasthof zum Baren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof zum Baren

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof zum Baren
Save
You added Gasthof zum Baren to your Saves list
Marktplatz 11 | Lake Constance, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gasthof zum Baren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our room was spacious, though the bathroom was tiny, but spotlessly clean. There is no lift but the staff came out immediately to help with the bags as well as explain the parking garage.
This is a charming town, and it is very good to be here with your car firmly tucked away- the pedestrian areas are lovely.
Breakfast was generous and predictable, but good.
We would definitely stay here again.
The very friendly staff were also helpful with suggestions of little towns and villages to visit on a day trip out of Meersburg. We also did a day trip to Konstanz with the boat from the shore.

Room Tip: We stayed here based on reviews seen in TA, and weren't at all disappointed. We stayed in Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here with our two teenagers in two doubles for three nights. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the breakfast buffet was first rate and the building contained lots of history.
The 24" thick walls kept our room (#31) refreshingly cool in spite of the 92 degree heat for three days.

Room Tip: If you like a cool room in the summer choose room #31 or let them know when you register. Several ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

On our road trip from Austria thru Germany into Alsace, we stopped at Meersburg. A very cute and charming little village. It feels a bit like time has stopped and is definately worth a visit. Go and see the fortress while you are there, one of the smallest I have seen but also well presented and preserved.
During our visit we decided to stay at Gasthof zum Baeren a cute, charming property and following its history, the oldest in the village.
The staff and the owner are super friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is really good and portions are more than satisfying.
Rooms are spacious and decorated in a charming 'old style'.
A great advantage was the fact that the bedroom is separeted from a small entrance area in which the tv was located. A great thing as my husband and I sleep at different times and so we could both enjoy a great sleep and a little late night.
There are tho, a couple of things I would like to mention.
Depending on where your room is, the kitchen is not far and neither is, unfortunately, the smell that comes along with it.
Now, we stayed only one night so it was durable, but if you plan on residing there for longer, check the location of the room and maybe try to face the side to the village gate.
The second thing was the breakfast. It was kept rather small and out of all the places we stayed during our trip, the one with the fewest options.
I am not saying it wasn't enough, but being able to compare it to other ones we had for the same price it was rather disappointing.
Nevertheless, I can only but recommend this cute property and would happily go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, US
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Gasthof zum Baren on the recommendation of a good friend whose standards are quite higher for hotels (much higher than ours!). This was her favorite hotel on a recent trip to Germany & Switzerland and she absolutely raved about it. Our experience during our 2 night stay was perfectly fine but nothing out of the ordinary.

We chose Room 18 which is one of the lower priced double rooms and we got what was pictured on the website - a very clean but basic and small room. If you're looking for a "charming" or "traditional German" style room, I'd suggest choosing one of the more expensive rooms. The bed was very comfortable with standard twin duvets and there was a small table with 2 chairs in the room. The bathroom was small (even for European standards) but spotless. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom which is very nice!

The building is very convenient for sightseeing in Meersburg and is one of the most beautiful around, located in the pedestrian zone. The clock tower is just outside the hotel and rings starting at 6am so if you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs. The instructions from the hotel directed us to drive on the pedestrian zone to the hotel. The garage for the hotel is nearby but not attached to the hotel and the front desk person was very helpful with getting our car situated.

The breakfast was a standard but oh-so-delicious "German breakfast" with breads, jams, hard-boiled eggs, cereal and so on - which was served in their main restaurant. Everyone who works at the hotel is very pleasant. Although the older woman who checked us in didn't speak much English, we got by with her English and our bad German. The next morning, the desk clerk spoke great English and gave us the information we needed. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the menu looked interesting.

The hotel does not take credit cards but there is a bank next door with several ATMs.

We were satisfied with our 2 night stay. Although we were not dazzled as we expected to be by such great recommendations from our friends and Trip Advisor, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a close look at the pictures of the rooms on the website as you make a reservation for the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Those who complain that the Baeren smells of cooking or grease obviously have a French fry stuck in their noses, because over more than 40 (yes, I travel for a living) stays at this lovely, traditional hotel I have never, ever smelled anything other than fresh detergent from the sparkling clean bathroom and pressed duvet covers in my room full of beautiful antique furniture. Really folks, this is a special experience and some people should probably just stick to staying in Hiltons where there are absolutely no surprises or little challenges. I find the Baeren to be a wonderful respite from modern living. Sure, a few stairs to climb but why bring a huge and heavy suitcase for a stay or only one or two nights? Those who complain about such things need to be at the Hyatt where there is no atmosphere, just a box and an elevator to take you there. The restaurant is excellent, with fresh dishes prepared by the owner/chef and his team. Naturally, if you take a little time before your trip to learn even a few rudimentary phrases in German, it will help the overall experience. I feel certain that those who have little complaints on minor points probably start out every visit with 'Do you speak English?'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the hotel. It was so refreshing to visit a hotel that had been in the same family for so many generations and loved .It was full of atmosphere, up to date in its amenities, NOT corporate like so many hotels are these days. We stayed in Room 13 The Turret which was clean and light.
The Bed was large firm and comfortable and the en suite was roomy.
Service at Breakfast was welcoming and friendly and choices accomodated most tastes.
We did not use the restaurant in the evening, as we chose to sample the other eating places in Meersburg.This was no reflection on the standard of the hotel food.
On our return home to UK I discovered I had left some personal belongings in the room. A simple phonecall,and three days later, those belongings and I were reunited by way of a postal package and a letter wishing us well.
If you want a romantic short stay in a fairytale town leading down to a lake, are fit and can walk up the hill to your Rapunzle Tower at the end of the day....This is a hotel for you.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed one night in May in the 'best' room which is a corner room in a 'turret' which is flooded with light, but we found the decor let it down a bit. We viewed another room first (a basic room) and it was decorated in an elaborate and traditional german country style: very pretty. But this room that really ought to be the 'flagship' room had very basic varnished wood furniture in a kind of art-deco style. We would happily have paid double for the room if it was decorated in similar style to the cheap rooms. It was clean with a nice bathroom including a bath tub.

The hotel itself is amazing: it's ancient and has things like a bear skin on the wall, antique furniture in the hallways, a list of owners/proprietors going back hundreds of years. Unfortunately the whole hotel, including our room, smelt extremely strongly of cooking to the extent that everything in our bags smelt of cooking for days afterwards. The owner greeted us in chef's whites and I think the restaurant might be more of his focus than the hotel.

The hotel is at the 'top' of town, with a fairly steep 10-ish minute walk from the lake up to the hotel, along old winding streets. There is a private car park just a few seconds walk away but you need to park up anywhere you can and check in before you can get into the car park (6.50Euro per night).

The restaurant is very good but I didn't like the expectation that you would share your table with strangers. We weren't asked to share so perhaps they picked up that we were uncomfortable with it (or maybe they could just tell we're anti-social!), but other people seemed to be sharing happily (except for one lady who complained in the evening and again at breakfast the next morning). Breakfast was good with a nice selection.

We spent a while chatting with the owner (or 'innkeeper' as he described himself): he's a very charming and interesting man with many strings to his bow, and I suspect many many stories to tell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof zum Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof zum Baren

Address: Marktplatz 11 | Lake Constance, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Gasthof Zum Baren Hotel Meersburg (Bodensee)
Gasthof Zum Baren Meersburg Bodensee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof zum Baren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.