We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zum Schiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel zum Schiff to your Saves list
Hotel zum Schiff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bismarckplatz 5, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Salado, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

For our first visit to Meersburg, the Hotel Zum Schiff initially offered a pleasant surprise with it's wonderful location. Likewise, the staff we encountered the evening of our arrival were both pleasant and helpful. The room was large and comfortable, though dated to be sure. Some of the lights worked, some didn't, some worked sometimes and not other times... couldn't figure that out. We had our 11 month old daughter with us, and I was quite annoyed that the heat must be on a timer as it didn't work at all during the night, but came on the next morning. The room got cold, nothing we as adults wouldn't mind, but too cold for our daughter. Seriously, let customers regulate the temperature of their own rooms. The breakfast was nice, though nothing too special. We forgot a personal item on the table and it was returned to us in our room by one of the restaurant staff. Indeed, all of the staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of the older woman working the front desk when we checked out. Which brings me to another one of my personal annoyances... in today's world, it's odd and disappointing when hotels charge for wifi... and this hotel did, at a rate of 9 euro for 24 hrs. Free access to the internet should be part of the stay, but if you're going to have to pay, at least the hotel should provide decent access. This hotel's internet was incredibly slow and frustrating. Furthermore, while we were told access in the lobby was "free" by the lady who checked us in, when my wife got up early to email some work projects, from the lobby, the "older" grumpy lady claimed that it was only free for the first 30 minutes, after that you had to pay. That's a cheap shot... you pay for access to the internet, but then have to pay again if you're not in your room. I disputed the extra charge but suddenly the lady at the front desk no longer understood or could speak english. So, some positives, but also some negatives...but in the end, the next time we visit Meersburg, we will not be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel, is on the lakeside, I think all the rooms would have a lake view, ours did and was spacious and clean. We spent many an hour in the comfortable armchairs gazing at the lake activity. A small boat gave trips from alongside the hotel.
Parking in Meersburg is a problem, but the manager for only €5 a day will squeeze you into his courtyard, and you leave the keys for him to shuffle them as required. I was not keen, but it worked well.
An excellent buffet breakfast feast was included in the price, and tables cleared by the owners charming children.
We had 2 night here on a Bavarian touring holiday, and it was the best time we had in Germany. Do visit the modern spa a short walk away, lay in the very warm waters gazing over the lake in the inside/outside pool.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel would only have an oblique lake view, and the higher floors would have a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breitenfurt
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Part of the hotel is refurbished without loosing the touch of an excellent traditional old house. Reception very friendly, hotel restaurant with its terrace towards the lake Bodensee invites to relax with good fish dishes and local wines.
Brakefast buffet couled not be better, offers dishes for all tastes
due to the location of the hotel, parking is a little problem, parking reservation together with room reservation to recommand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a wonderful stay here in this just the most perfect hotel in a fabulous setting! Absolutely nothing to complain about. Fabulous room right over the lake and very peaceful. The room and bathroom were spotless. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

The hotel is located right on the lake at the beginning of the pedestrian shopping area. It's minutes away from the ferries, thermal bath (totally recommend), castles, shopping areas. We had a view to the lake which was breathtaking and hearing the sound of the water was very relaxing. The hotel just renovated their entry and added an elevator. The staff was great, very friendly and professional. The room was comfortable enough for a couple and it's large dog. We don't go anywhere without our dog, so a pet friendly hotel like this one is very important. The hotel has it's own charm with decor to go with it. Parking is provided right at the hotel (although it was difficult to find at first). We only had breakfast at the hotel which was very nice (traditional German).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed one night in August. We were on the first (European) floor with a lake view. The room was big and in a bit of a time warp but the bathroom was new and very nice. The beds were fine and the room was very clean. We parked in the hotel courtyard which made things much easier and the staff were extremely helpul in arranging this. The position is perfect and the service was excellent, we had tea and cake in the afternoon and had breakfast there too. The hotel is dated and there is no lift and the stairs could prove a challenge on the higher floors, but the postion and the service more than make up for it. Meersburg really merits a visit and we will return!

  • Liked — service, view, position, value for money
  • Disliked — decor, no lift
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Stayed here in June. The location is excellent and the waitress was great. The hotel has seen better days and caters for elderly Germans. The lack of lift is a challenge. Rooms are dated but clean. Parking is difficult and some of the staff less than helpful. Breakfast is a segregated affair ,which was very strange, the whole place catered for the said elderly folk, with the rest of the guests annexed in another room.
The outside tables with the friendly outside side staff were a delight, it has to be said.

  • Liked — The outside location ...what a view
  • Disliked — Agressive elderly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel zum Schiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Schiff

Address: Bismarckplatz 5, 88709 Meersburg (Bodensee), Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Meersburg (Bodensee)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Meersburg (Bodensee)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Schiff 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel zum Schiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zum Schiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.