We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant, overpriced and self-centered” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rheinstrasse 1, 76275 Ettlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ettlingen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
california
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Arrogant, overpriced and self-centered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On arrival, I was greeted by a parking person telling me to go park somewhere else if I was going to stayin the hotel; he wanted the parking lot for lunch reservations. Stilled parked there and checked in. Found the rooms to need paint, carpets old and in generla not up to the standard the hotel wants to present. On the weekend, I was not able to sleep beacuse of a party going to 3 AM. No help from the hotel about the noise. The breakfast was limited and had little variety. I tried the restaurant one night and found the food dry, overcooked and tasteless. On several days got the parking person to tell me to go elsewhere in load and rude German.
ALso, housekeeping was horrible. Each day I had to call the desk to get towels, soap or even to get the room made. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    26
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
3
40
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Erbprinz in Ettlingen is the classical German upper-middleclass Hotel. They do everything to make you feel comfortable, the hotel is extremely well run and I've never discovered one single unfriendly or incompetent employee. AAA rating with regard to Service Quality and comfort.

It's also the place where you can make extended studies about the Germans and their behaviour - if you are foreigner, be sure that you have read something like "German for beginners" - and be prepared for the advanced lessons ;-).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Do not even bother looking anywhere else when in Ettlingen. This hotel has masses of character, is in the centre of town. Awesome breakfasts. As other posts confirm, rooms vary. Book early, it gets full weeks in advance. Enjoy!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Only stayed one night for business but the main drawback for this hotel was that my room had a single bed.
As I was only staying a night I didn't ask to be moved - it was almost funny seeing the small bed but I wouldn't expect this of any decent hotel.

Also the bar allows smoking which is not pleasant in the communal areas.

The service was friendly on arrival. On check out in the morning I asked to book a taxi (having checked the night before this would be OK) and almost got a sneer in response from the man behind the desk.... but the taxi was availalbe no problem.

On the plus side the room (bed aside) was nice, clean and spacious bathroom.

The location is good to be close to the centre of Ettlingen.

Decent breakfast.

I'm sure if you got a bigger room this hotel would be great.

Room Tip: Ask to have a larger room with a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Erbprinz makes a big deal of being very high-class, and it meets these claims in many respects - the staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. Sometimes you get a good room, sometimes one not so good - with no good way to tell. Quiet and comfortable, great restaurant - the barstaff are excellent - but the big, big problem with the bar is that it allows smoking. In today's smoke-free pub world, this is an anachronism and one of the odd things about Germany - years ago, I would not have minded, but now it is just plain unpleasant - but the good think about the Erbprinz is the Vogel pub next door that sells great beer with friendly service, so who needs the bar anyway???

Room Tip: It's a lottery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days just after Christmas. The food was fantastic - great breakfast and really tasty dinners in a hotel's restaurant. The service was excellent as well, so was the spa.

The rooms were pretty average though - the rooms lack character and the TV must have been 15 years old. They are very clean and reasonably spacious though.

I'd stay in the hotel again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we are in Ettlingen on business, this is the favorite place to stay. It is very popular and can be tough to get in, so either book early or try to get on the waiting list and check again a couple fo days before arrival.

The staff are consistently friendly and the breakfast, included in the price, is worth lingering over.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing, if possible. The older rooms can be quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz

Address: Rheinstrasse 1, 76275 Ettlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ettlingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ettlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erbprinz Hotel Ettlingen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.