We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birk Husky

Birk Husky
Melkefoss, Svanvik 9925 , Norway
+47 909 78 248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Svanvik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIRK husky, Norwegian Lappland - right at the border to Russia!Your provider of cosy accommodation, good local food and exclusive dog sled adventures.We have cozy cabins and rooms in our cozy b&b guesthouse for rent. And we do serve local food in our Viking long house or in our Sami lavvu.During the fall season you can come along on our wagon tour with our huskies and from December to mid April we go on sled tours with our dogs.For dog sledding we are truly exclusive with a maximum of 8 guests on all our tours - often described as the highlight of our guests holiday to the north! Welcome!
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a most fabulous day with Birk Huskies on 13th February 2013.

It started with being kitted out with warm clothing and then being very actively involved in harnessing up the dogs to our sled. The dogs are just so excited to be going out on a run, but soon calm down when they are working pulling us along.

We travelled through the forest and along the Russian border seeing some beautiful landscapes.

‘Mushing’ is quite an active pastime, but whilst my partner was standing on the back doing just that, I enjoyed the views and taking photos as we travelled. I’m sure he almost tipped me out to get his own back!!!

Upon return, we once again participated in removing the harnesses and taking the dogs back to their kennels.

We were then served a delicious Reindeer stew, together with wine, beer or coffee.

Many thanks to our wonderful hosts for the day - Luke and Sam. They made it an entirely amazing experience. They do an absolutely fantastic job.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRKhusky, Owner at Birk Husky, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi

Thank you for you kind words - we are very happy that we do reach our goal of giving our guests a great adventure with us and the dogs.
Your kind words are given also to your guides on the tour Sam and Luke!

All the best for now, and welcome back any time!

Trine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your best experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Since we started to visit Birk Husky 7 years ago every March/ April we always looking forward to go back. There is no better way spending a weekend in the beatiful Pasvik valley, the nature, the people ( our super host Trine ), the local food and most of all the wonderful dogs.
We`re really looking forward to work behind the dogsledge in March 2013. See you guys!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRKhusky, Owner at Birk Husky, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks a lot for good words, we look forward to see you here again this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“nice longhouse, nice people, nice dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Trine, the lady owner, a former school teacher, now breeds huskies and has a B&B plus restaurant were you can enjoy food in a wooden long house with fire places along the long axis of the house.
I liked especially that she served us a vegetarian meal without any problem. Wine and beer available.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Birk Husky, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed your visit, hope you had a safe trip back home and loads of good memories from your holiday!
Vegetarian food is no problem as long as we get a notice in front :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience in outskirts of Kirkenes, Norway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

After getting off the Hurtigruten Cruise in Kirkenes, our guide met us (group of 4) at the ship and took us off to BIRK Husky for a wonderful 24 hour experience. Upon arrival at BIRK Husky and after checking into our B&B, we were warmly clothed and then we started to assist in assembling our own dog team for our 15 mile husky ride through the country side. We had our own sled with 4 dogs. The day tour also included a lunch part way through the tour at a remote location where we roasted various sausages, fish cakes, bread etc over the campside fire. As we were returning, we had the opportunity to see a wonderful sunset as we glided along on our dog sled. We also had a fabulous viewing of the northern lights and then a scumptous dinner at the viking lodge before retiring in the warm and cozy B&B. The B&B is a stone's throw away from the Russian border. Trine Beddari ( owner) and Nigel ( Dog sled tour guide) were both incredibly gracious and accomadating to our every need. The next morning, we were all a bit sad to leave after such a fabulous experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birk Husky also viewed

 

Been to Birk Husky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birk Husky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.