We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel Fortuna to your Saves list
City Hotel Fortuna
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Echazufer 22, 72764 Reutlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reutlingen
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

It's somewhere to put your head down, garage parking is extra as is wifi (which drops out all the time, unless your sat in reception). Rooms are clean and functional, bar is small and still allows smoking there, so it stinks. Restaurant is ok but expensive compared what you would find a few 100 meters away

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
2
2
5
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed there for on night only. Although it is located within walking ddistance of old town which is great to visit, the hotel is nothing to write home about! Rooms are very basic with minimal ammenities. Also, although included, breakfast has very limited selections!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

City Fortuna is located about 7min from Bosch, which if you staying here, odds are your working there.

The Hotel is an older hotel. The rooms decor could be described as 1990's. Rooms are suitable for stay , just plain rooms- Bed, desk, mini-fridge, tube TV, chair. The bathroom is very euro, a bath tub with late addition hand held shower head that can be seat up as a shower. The one thing I did like about the bath room was the soap dispensers.

The room I stayed in had a balcony, the door could open regular, or crack it at the top. There was a heater, no A/C. Room was on busy street side, although noise level wasn't bad with door shut. Its busy during rush hours.

The Hotel is located well for food and shopping. The is a market and restaurants only 2 blocks away, and the shopping street starts behind the market. A pharmacy and doctor office is near by. A grocery (Migros) is just a quarter mile from the hotel, easy to walk back with a bag or two. Easy to walk to everything here.

The thing I enjoyed most from the hotel was the service from the Staff. The people at the front desk were great, special thanks to Christopher and Katrin. Even the waitstaff were very friendly and able to accommodate my needs. Never had a problem with house keeping either.

Breakfast very morning was very good, huge selection and fresh. Internet is extra, and can get tricky some nights, but the most part work well enough to stream video or skype. There is a underground parking garage for a fee. They have a bar, with a pretty good selection. They have a roof top gym, which is good enough to get a little work out. They have a restaurant that's open for dinner mon-sat.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would return if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband was here on business so I flew over to join him for a week.
The hotel is in a great location- close to shops, restaurants, and bars. All are within walking distance. The main marketplace is about 1km away so I was able to walk around town while he was working.
The staff is very nice and most spoke English well. They were able to help us make reservations and find our way around. (We don't speak any German)
The food in the restaurant is very good and they serve large portions around here. There aren't too many options but everything I had was tasty. And they have English menus. Most nights we were they only ones in the restaurant. The hotel has a bar separate from the restaurant where smoking is allowed. The breakfast is very good with tons of options and very nice servers.

The hotel rooms themselves are VERY basic. Our 'king' bed was two twin beds on rollers pushed together. You get a heavy down comforter and one feather pillow- that's all. No flat sheet, no blankets- nothing. My husband asked for a flat sheet since the comforter was to hot for him and the front desk staff was very nice about giving him one. The towels are awful- small, old, and not soft. The shower itself is tiny but the water pressure and temperature are good. TV is old school and only CNN international for English channels. Our remote didn't even work. It's painfully obvious that these rooms are in need of major update. It was kind of shocking to us that the hotel's 'star' rating was so high. One thing that I thought was weird- the 4th floor is the smoking floor and it's also where the gym is. I was in the gym several and could smell cigarettes. It just was odd that they would smoking on the same floor as the gym. And let me tell you, the 4th was booked! They have a sauna there too but I didn't go in. Gym is adequate- treadmill, 2 elipticals, 3 bikes, and 5 weight machines. The veiw is lovely from the gym. They do have WiFi but it's slow and costs 5euro for 24hours.

Overall- nice enough place to stay on a business trip- no frills.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location if you are looking a hotel close to shopping and restaurants. We pretty much walked everywhere and never felt like we were in a bad neighborhood. Being from the states, it's hard to compare this hotel to what I'm use to. One pillow, a heavy blanket, charge for internet, not much of a selection of English speaking TV channels (but what the heck, I was in Germany where German is the spoken language) the bar is a bit pricey for the volume that you get, and what you get is measured very carefully.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and I definitely got my moneys worth of breakfast. Nice selection of food. Real good coffee too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Average business hotel. Rooms are big and clean, bathrooms too small . Few TV channels ( but including Italians, English and French), wifi 2 euros for 2 consecutive hours or 5 for 24. Restaurant with few courses, but accepatable ( a lot of german and ethnic restaurants in 10 min walk) . No air conditioning , but we are in Germany....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel is situated on a main road next to a shopping mall. It is centrally located. The staffs were friendly and efficient.

My room was facing the road. Even with all the windows closed, I could still hear the traffic. There is no Air conditioning in the room, so having all window closed may not be an option in a hot summer night. My room was big and comfortable. However, the furnitures, carpet and wallpaper showed their age. The breakfast was good. WIFI did not work in my room because of weak signal. It did work well in the hotel lobby for 5 euros for 24 hours.

Considering its good location, reasonable rate and friendly service, this is definitely one of the lodging options next time I am back to Reutlingen.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Fortuna

Address: Am Echazufer 22, 72764 Reutlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Reutlingen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Reutlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel Fortuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our modern 4 Star Business-Comfort Hotel at the foot of The Swabian Mountains, centrally located in the heart of the City Reutlingen. It is the ideal starting point to explore The Swabian Mountains or to plan a visit at the bargain paradise Metzingen. The connection to the highway A8 and A5 is optimal. The Stuttgart Airport and the New Fairground are in twenty minutes distance. In all hotel rooms as well as in our conference rooms you are able to use WLAN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your City Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.