We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 94, 77652 Offenburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Offenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved this hotel, the room was spacious with 2 in 1 bedroom and 2 in the spacious lounge area. Whilst old it has so much character and is fully refurbished and right in the city. We also ate at the adjacent restuarant and had this charged back to the room. The food was lovely and it had a great atmosphere in the restuarant with many locals in attendance, always a good sign. The hotel whilst in the city is hard to find as it is an area which is a bus/pedestrian area only and hard to get into the car park which is within the hotel, however once this was overcome everything was perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
16
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
loveturquoisewater
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. From the moment we checked in, we were welcomed by German hospitality. We requested a place to park our car it it was waiting for us with our name on it. Check-in went smoothly and we were shown to our room. The room is beautiful and large! We had our own private bathroom. The bed and linens are very comfortable. The restaurant was busy and had great food the time we ate there. Loved the historical feeling of the building. It's awesome to stay at a hotel with a story! The daily breakfasts are pretty good. My only suggestion is that I wish the rooms had a little refrigerator with drinks in it or the lobby offered cold drinks for guests. It's difficult to find cold drinks anywhere in the area. Don't know if we'll ever return, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found this hotel by accident and left very happy. We will definitely return. We were given overnight parking which was a great help as we were driving back to the UK from Italy. Our room was beautiful, we had a shared bathroom, but this was reflected in the rate of the room 71 euros for two including breakfast. The shower and toilet facilities were of a very high standard with beautiful porcelain and stainless steel fittings. We had our evening meal there, they have a special guest menu for 15 euros, amazing. Our breakfast was really good. There was a market in the square on the morning we left and we could not find the cheese stall. The hotel very kindly sold us some cheese and a large bottle of water for our journey ahead. The staff were friendly and helpful and we have decided that we will use Hotel Sonne as our halfway house in the future when going to and from Italy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Found this hotel as a chance stop over just outside Strasbourg. Central location, warm welcome from friendly staff and the Siamese cat, wonderful historic building with comfortable rooms. Ours was large, unfortunately not en suite, but this was reflected in the price. Bathroom down the corridor was spotless. After a wander around town we decided to eat there too. Lovely food, good value. Breakfast buffet was good with outside courtyard to enjoy the summer morning. Hope we pass this way again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

reading Schone H's comments made me smile. Hotel Sonne is a friendly, charming "old fashioned" hotel with an outstanding value for money offering. It is very centrally located, has an excellent restaurant, offers in-house parking facilities and a choice between modern and antique rooms. But there is no lift and it is certainly not a 5* Hilton and that should not be expected at that price.
I have stayed there numerous times over the last 20(!) years and the service by the older and now the newer generation of family owners has been consistently friendly and correct. So go there and enjoy the place!
And... oh yes Mr. Schon, I also travel a lot, carry the HHonors card (and a few others) but I do value a hotel that is different from the predictable and slightly boring offerings by Hilton c.s.

Room Tip: the modern rooms are clean, simple and functional; the older ones have the older antique furniture a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Before starting my review, i would like to let you all know that i have stayed around 190 nights last year sleeping on the most different Hotels around the world.
I have a Hilton HHonors Platinum Card, i know what i am talking about.

When we arrived, from the first moment the "finesse" was more than clear. She told us 3 times not to put the room card near a cell phone. Just like we were some kids.
Than we had to go stairs up with our luggage , there was no help offered.

Once in the room , besides the old decoration the room was clean. Exception the side lamp that was with a considerable amount of dust.

On the first morning we went down for breakfast, and again a rude behavior, as we were going to take seat was told us not to seat there because they would have to prepare the table and we should find a table that was already prepared. What means 1 cup and 1 plate would have to be repositioned.
How bad customer service can that be ? The customer should be able to chose where he wants to seat and the Hotel staff has to prepare the table. Not the other way around.

During the second night when we arrive, the room temperature was very low and cold. We have discovered that they have reduced the heating inside our room. The heating is an old radiator that took more than 2 hours to get the our room in a acceptable temperature again.

During the third night, in the morning period i was sleeping wen the phone rang. It was someone from the reception asking if i was going down for breakfast! What is this people thinking about ? If i want i come until 10am ! Probably It was 9:30, and maybe they were looking to close the breakfast room earlier. Forget about relaxing on this Hotel, they want the guests to adjust to their timing.

Same day a little bit latter, again some one called me to ask if knew that the Check-out was at 11am. This was not my last night!
Just after she told me if i understand what the red card " Do not disturb" hanging on the door means, and that they would not clean my room.
It is more than clear that if i have the red card is clear that i do not want to be disturb! But in this hotel they think the own the guest.
Unbelievable rude and bad customer service.

But know comes the best. On our last day we were coming down the stairs with the bags ( no elevator and no one to help again) the Cleaning Room lady , told us directly if we know that the check out was on 11am. The time was 11:10 am . She was intimidating us, telling that we should leave because she had to clean. I never saw such a RUDE and IMPOLITE behavior in hole my live, especially coming from the Cleaning Staff. This was extremely not acceptable.

I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. During our 4 nights, all the time they were rude and impolite. They do not know how to treat customers in a proper way.

To rate this Hotel in categories:

Service : 0 Stars , Rude Staff Behavior
Room: 2 Stars
Breakfast : 2 stars

Overall Rating ; 1.3 Starts, this is what you should expect. From this perspective this Hotel is very overpriced !!

Also the Internet is extremely slowly.

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastia, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Beautiful old and characteristic hotel, right on the main square. Very charming atmosphere (romantic). The room we got was large, with old furniture and a modern bathroom (double shower). The restaurant was also good (we had wild boar, mushrooms etc – everything tasted delicious) and has a lovely terrace. We would certainly stop there again if we have the chance. Definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Hauptstrasse 94, 77652 Offenburg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Offenburg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Offenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.