We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mix of tranquility and charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhotel Gruener Baum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oberkirch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waldhotel Gruener Baum
Save
You added Waldhotel Gruener Baum to your Saves list
Alm 33, 77704 Oberkirch, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oberkirch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of tranquility and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a wonderful 9 nights here in August. We were there with a 2.5 year old and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Top team - highly professional.

A perfect location at the cusp of the Black Forest and Vineyards. It is tranquil and feels remote yet only a 30 mts drive from Strasbourg. Lots of trips through the vineyards and into the forest as well as to Strasbourg.

The pools (indoor and outdoor) are fab and so is the sauna suite. Lovely garden to lie outside when the weather is fine. Perfect place to spend an entire day in the hotel if the weather is bad or if the sun in shining!

The food is consistently good and the set four course every evening were varied and interesting. The accompanying local wines are great. Try particularly the pinot noir and the pinot noir rose are refreshingly nimble compared to their more sombre counterparts from burgundy and the lighter ones from Alsace.

The clientele is an international mix of locals, Swiss and Alsatian border hoppers. The age brackets start with families with kids to elderly retired couples.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite with a balcony looking over the garden. Really quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
33
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited with my wife over a very rainy (English) Bank Holiday weekend. Although we did manage to get out into the Black Forest and some of the surrounding areas, the interminable rain meant that we spent a lot of time in the hotel and particularly in what must rank as one of the best spa's I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Spacious, calm and restful with very skilled therapists and the choice of 4 sauna's, I was in heaven.

The good things continued in the kitchen. It being asparagus season, we took advantage of the seasonal asparagus-heavy menu. Creative cooking with a delicate touch and superb wine recommendations from Uli, the owner who is in the reasturant every evening made for an all round memorable stay.

We will be back. I can certainly recommend the Waldhotel Gruener Baum for a couple looking for a peaceful break together in great surroundings with top class service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandersteg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The hotel is definitely a 4 star Superior! Most rooms are now renovated and the general areas are of a good standard. The wellness and beauty areas are worth visiting. The outside area and its location are outstanding as well as the excellent food in the restaurant. What really makes this hotel special is the quality of the staff and their superb level of hospitality! They make you feel welcome from arrival to departure. A hotel to return to for a relaxing weekend and holiday but as well for a business meeting.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandersteg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is just a wonderful hotel were service, friendliness, service and location are all in line with each other. The hotel is well situated in the north part of the Black Forest and is an ideal location for many walks in the forests and wine hills. The hotel is constantly improved and the rooms are of excellent standard. The restaurant is superb as well as the wine car.

If you are looking for a comfertable hotel with all amenities, good atmosphere, excellent service and quietness for a few days of peace and relaxation - this is a really good choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldhotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Gruener Baum

Address: Alm 33, 77704 Oberkirch, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Oberkirch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Oberkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhotel Gruener Baum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.