We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Markets with Crusader/Motts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ochsen to your Saves list
Hotel Ochsen
Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kehl
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Christmas Markets with Crusader/Motts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel whilst visiting the Christmas Markets in the area. The hotel is charming and full of character. I had booked a twin room but upon arrival we were offered 2 single rooms next to each other, which worked very well. My room was a little on the snug side but was wonderfully comfortable and very clean. My daughter's room was larger with a spacious bathroom. Food was plentiful if a little basic, we had no complaints. The service really made this holiday - from our coach driver Ronnie (he is so funny) to the host Armin who is a great muti-tasker! and not forgetting Precious who is possibly the most lovely barmaid I have ever met. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 122 is a large single on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I too have only just returned from a three night stay at the hotel. The hotel owner Armin is so friendly. As others have already said, he is so entertaining, a natural. I laughed so much along with everyone else... If he gave up the hotel, he would easily outshine 99% of all the comedians and double acts on television.
The free bar was more than plentiful. There were no half measures, watered down beer, or cheap imitations. It's all the real McCoy. As fast as you drink your last drop, the staff are round to replace it. Precious the bar maid is absolutely wonderful. So helpful and the total life and soul of any party. What a complete little gem she is.
As others have said. The rooms are basic, but clean. The beds are lovely and comfortable. Food is freshly cooked and there are always three courses. For the price we paid, and the service, food, and drink we received, I don't think anyone could ever complain. It's not the Ritz, but then , would you ever have such wonderful personal caring service like you get here ( plus a free bar) ????
NO. You wouldn't. So I would recommend this 100% and I for one will be returning next year, along with 5 others for definate !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel, & have to say it has been one of the most memorable hotel stays ever. The owner & host Armin, is one in a million. He is the cook, bingo caller, magician & musician/singer. He is absolutely hilarious. I would defy anyone saying that they didn't enjoy their stay at this hotel. The food may be basic, but it is freshly prepared & plentiful. The rooms are basic too, and not the biggest, but they are clean & comfortable & have everything you need. The staff are very helpful & pleasant, especially the barmaid, Precious. She always has a smile & warm welcome. It really is a great place to stay, and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a lovely hotel with an amazing owner. Very friendly staff room was good size meals were awsome , cannot fault. travelled in November so Nightime spent in Beer Keller. Bingo was the funniest entertainment ever.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the Beer Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

i've recently returned from a most enjoyable 5 day tour of the Black Forest based at this superb hotel. My compact single room contained a comfy bed and decent bathroom space although no tea/coffe making facilities, (as is norm on much of the Continent). Breakfast was typically Continental with choices of cerials, fresh fruit salad and bread rolls with a selection of cold meats, cheeses and jams. The evening meals were delicious and plentiful with 'seconds' being offered (and enthusiastically accepted). The owner, Armin, is a friendly, rather eccentric person, (really enjoyed his 'take' on bingo which yours truly won!) whilst Filipino barmaid Precious was so wonderful and helpful. This was my first trip with Crusader and I was suitably impressed. We had a diverse bunch of around 26 on this tour who were great fun to be with and also so caring, (I have a few problems with mobility, toes amputated through diabetes). I must also mention our driver, Ronnie who was so informative and helpful but with a dry and very funmny sense of humour). I have no hesitation in recommending the Ochsen and also Crusader Holidays and would certainly like to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Just had a lovely 4 night stay with Crusader Holidays. Our second visit to the Ochsen Hotel. The food was once again simple but stunning. The room was small but adequate. The staff were delightful. Many thanks especially to Precious, and to Christine for making the stay very special. True the road is a bit noisy at times - but is there anywhere quiet within 10 k of Strasbourg, or London, or any metropolitan city ? Probably not

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxkutzcab, Yucatan, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely hotel in a pretty village. Good plentiful tasty food. All the staff were friendly, helpful, well organised. Room was small but cosy and very clean. The highlight was Mein Host Armin's Extreme Bingo. Gosh ! we laughed !

Ideal place to stay if touring Black Forest & beautiful Alsace region.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Address: Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ochsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.