We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most memorable hotel stay ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ochsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Ochsen to your Saves list
Hotel Ochsen
Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kehl
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The most memorable hotel stay ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel, & have to say it has been one of the most memorable hotel stays ever. The owner & host Armin, is one in a million. He is the cook, bingo caller, magician & musician/singer. He is absolutely hilarious. I would defy anyone saying that they didn't enjoy their stay at this hotel. The food may be basic, but it is freshly prepared & plentiful. The rooms are basic too, and not the biggest, but they are clean & comfortable & have everything you need. The staff are very helpful & pleasant, especially the barmaid, Precious. She always has a smile & warm welcome. It really is a great place to stay, and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
22
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What a lovely hotel with an amazing owner. Very friendly staff room was good size meals were awsome , cannot fault. travelled in November so Nightime spent in Beer Keller. Bingo was the funniest entertainment ever.

Room Tip: Ask for room over the Beer Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

i've recently returned from a most enjoyable 5 day tour of the Black Forest based at this superb hotel. My compact single room contained a comfy bed and decent bathroom space although no tea/coffe making facilities, (as is norm on much of the Continent). Breakfast was typically Continental with choices of cerials, fresh fruit salad and bread rolls with a selection of cold meats, cheeses and jams. The evening meals were delicious and plentiful with 'seconds' being offered (and enthusiastically accepted). The owner, Armin, is a friendly, rather eccentric person, (really enjoyed his 'take' on bingo which yours truly won!) whilst Filipino barmaid Precious was so wonderful and helpful. This was my first trip with Crusader and I was suitably impressed. We had a diverse bunch of around 26 on this tour who were great fun to be with and also so caring, (I have a few problems with mobility, toes amputated through diabetes). I must also mention our driver, Ronnie who was so informative and helpful but with a dry and very funmny sense of humour). I have no hesitation in recommending the Ochsen and also Crusader Holidays and would certainly like to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Just had a lovely 4 night stay with Crusader Holidays. Our second visit to the Ochsen Hotel. The food was once again simple but stunning. The room was small but adequate. The staff were delightful. Many thanks especially to Precious, and to Christine for making the stay very special. True the road is a bit noisy at times - but is there anywhere quiet within 10 k of Strasbourg, or London, or any metropolitan city ? Probably not

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxkutzcab, Yucatan, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely hotel in a pretty village. Good plentiful tasty food. All the staff were friendly, helpful, well organised. Room was small but cosy and very clean. The highlight was Mein Host Armin's Extreme Bingo. Gosh ! we laughed !

Ideal place to stay if touring Black Forest & beautiful Alsace region.
Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here,food excellent,Precious the bar maid briliant,made the nights so much fun.
Only down side,room a little on the small size.No where to put luggage a shelf over the foot end of the single beds would be a great advantage.
Entertainment wonderful a really good few days,would definately come here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Enjoyed our late-September break. Loved our room, even though the bathroom was extremely 'compact' - a little more space to move in there would have been welcome.
Staff were friendly and helpful - the owner especially.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and evening meals tasty, well-cooked and very generously portioned.
We had none of the fly problems mentioned in other reviews, possibly due this being later in the holiday season.
We would love to go there again, but have too many other places on our wish-to-visit list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ochsen

Address: Zirkelstrasse 33 | Kork, 77694 Kehl, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kehl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kehl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family rum historic half timbered hotel with cosy atmosphere. All rooms with shower/toilet/Tv/Tel/safe/hairdryer/wifi. Restaurant, cellar pub, beer garden, heated pool and sauna from Easter til end October (little supplement price) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsen Hotel Kork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ochsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.