We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in a Beautiful Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Klassik Hotel am Tor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Klassik Hotel am Tor to your Saves list
Klassik Hotel am Tor
Schlorplatz 1a, 92637 Weiden, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Weiden
Fort lauderdale, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Find in a Beautiful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Just returned from an amazing visit to Germany, We stayed at the Klassik Hotel while visiting family in the area. Hotel is clean and centrally located in the beautiful town of Weiden. Hotel staff made us feel welcome and were always available to assist us with questions regarding the area. Great location with many shops and restaurants within the market square. Would definately stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsens, Denmark
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Going to Weiden for business, there are some hotels to chose from, but the fine, old hotel build right into the old town gate - including parts of the original town wall - is an excellent choice, because you're close to the centre of the city, with a plethora of restaurants, cafés and shops. It is soothing to sit with a large, draught weissbeer and watch the passers-by.
The rates are very affordable and the sleep quality of the rooms are good. The layout is a bit funny with all the nooks and crannies in an old house, but the small rooms are clean, with a well-functioning bathroom.
Wifi is not free, but I got 1 hour of connection at a reduced rate (1,50 €), which is fine for checking mails late in the evening after a nice meal out in town.
The breakfast buffet is fine - not monstrous, but with a ample selection of cereals, bread, pastry, cheeses, and ham etc.
When going back to Wieden, I'll definitely stay there again. The amenities might not be on par with what the mainstream hotel chains can offer - but the location and charm I'll prefer any time.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the square are most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I was here for a week on a business trip and decided to try out this hotel from built in 1471! Old world charm on the outside, closet like space on the inside. I entered the elevator thinking this isn't so bad, then walked the plank! Up and down at least five sets of stairs, to finally arrive at my room in the closet! This room was so small, the bed abutted the slanted roof line of the building. I think they made too many rooms for this hotel! It's kind of like Japan, sleeping next to your luggage. The tiny window reminded me of a prison type window, up high and barely able to see out of. The room was cold, with this enormous quick electric heater in the bathroom which must have burned through electricity while burning the cold air too!
The breakfast is very good.
Please, go have a beer in the bar, check out the building, but don't stay here unless you think your lucky enough to get the King's room--like some posters in this thread!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theigl, Inhaber at Klassik Hotel am Tor, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for you reply. I am very sorry, that you did not like your stay in our family-owned hotel. I have to say, that you are absolutely right about the size of the room you were staying for the 3 nights. It was the smallest room in our hotel (about 129 sq.ft incl. bathroom). But that room no longer existed since 03 Dec, 2010.

We are currently renovating the whole floor, investing over 60000 EUR and making 2 rooms out of 3 with an area of 270 sq.ft. each. Furthermore we build a second stairway to make these rooms reach more comfortable.

The window, by the way, is a standard window, about 3.3x3.5 feet, like in all other rooms.

Please also be aware that our hotel consists of 5 buildings, partly from the 14th century in the heart of a medieval city, built following the curved line of the old town wall. Therefore, small steps and longer stairways are unavoidable. Despite that, some of our rooms are reachable by elevator without any stairs.

As you may have noticed, we are always listening to our guest´s comments and are working hard make our hotel a cosy and comfortable place to stay. If you are willing to give us a second chance, we will surely proof that!

Regards

Thomas Heigl
Owner
on behalf of the family and all employess of the Klassik Hotel am Tor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We ended up in Weiden for business and got a suite room at the Hotel am Tor. Our room was great, very clean and comfortable. While not high end or super modern, it is very cozy at this hotel, the staff is beyond friendly, the free breakfast really tasty, and the location is in walking distance from the main areas in Weiden, which is a quaint and safe little town. There is great park for walking right around the corner, several great restaurants nearby (Ratskellar is delicious traditional German food, they speak English, have an English menu if you ask, and take credit cards). The only thing was that they don't have free wi-fi (but buying it is cheap and several neighboring coffee shops have it free, e.g. Black Bean and Beanery) and I could hear some footsteps and doors opening closing at night but not too loud.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'round the word
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

I stayed in hotel for one night in single room. Hotel was clean and good. Everything was fine except unfortunate build toilet which wasnt accesible by normal person and i must sit on it by side. Breakfast buffet was very good. As i have information, one of best hotel in Weiden in Opf. Its quite small town, so maybe this is best hotel there.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — inlogical build toilet in single room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Metro Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

This is my second stay at the Am Tor, and I am just as pleased as I was the first time around. The staff is very friendly, with at least a couple people who speak very good English. The Am Tor is a family-run business, and you can see the pride they have in their hotel; it is very well cared-for and is spotless. The rooms are quiet, with not a lot of noise coming from the other rooms or from the outside. There is a small bistro bar located on the premises; and though they have no restaurant of their own, there are many restaurants within easy walking distance in the Fussgangerzone. For traditional German food, I'd recommend the Ratskeller. For a more contemporary-Euro experience, there's Zoe, which is located very near the Am Tor. There are also Greek, Asian, and Italian restaurants within walking distance. A nice advantage to the Am Tor is its proximity to shopping, to include City Center Weiden, which is about a 10-minute walk. Overall, the Am Tor is a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room was small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

Our 4-day stay at this hotel was thoroughly enjoyable. The location is wonderful - step outside and you are in the historic square in the middle of the town. Many restaurants & cafes were within 5 minutes walking distance. Staff were very helpful in advising on train travel and sightseeing suggestions. Some rooms and bathrooms do seem small by American standards, but our triple room for 3 was more than adequate, with a separate sitting area and large bathroom. Excellent breakfast also. The family's pride in the long history of this guest house is evident and the pride is well-deserved! Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — quaint setting
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Klassik Hotel am Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klassik Hotel am Tor

Address: Schlorplatz 1a, 92637 Weiden, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Weiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Weiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can always expect a warm welcome!In our romantic house in the heart of the old part of town directly alongside the lower gate on the historical market place with parking spaces and without the noise of traffic On our doorstep Restaurants, cafés and barsShopping and window shopping in the pedestrian zone Weekend market and "Max Reger" town park Art and culture, museums and art galleriesUnique in this historical location: Managed by the owner's family Caring, friendly staff Bavarian homely hospitalityA traditional guest house since 1567 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Klassik Hotel am Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klassik Hotel am Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.