We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm but not much else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch to your Saves list
Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktplatz 5, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Wernigerode
worcestershire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charm but not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having stayed here before a few years ago I was expecting so much more. Unfortunately I was disappointed. The old town charm remained and the room itself was clean and welcoming although it is the first hotel room I have had in many years that did not have tea and coffee facilities. I struggle to find other positive comments . Whilst the staff in the restaurant were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful the food was bland and overpriced. Thankfully I had no children with me as the menu offered nothing that would have appealed to them. Hoping for a good nights sleep before my onward journey I found a hard bed and the strangest offering of a pillow that it was hard to sleep with. When I finally managed to get to sleep I was woken at stupid o'clock, think it was about 5am, by delivery men to shops below my window and stall holders dragging things across the cobbled market square under the window. The breakfast was very average. Cereals, continental, meats, cheeses, fruit, assorted breads and pastries and an offering of scrambled egg and frankfurter sausages that were cold. Very very disappointed as previously I loved this hotel. Based on this visit I won't be back. Sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bad view that does not look out on the picturesque market if you want a good n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a room overlooking the picturesque market square, the fountain and the Rathaus. Room was comfortable and well appointed. However, it was noisy, not at night but in the morning as flower delivery trucks made seemingly endless deliveries one morning and the following day a similar amount of noise was generated by the market stall holders.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of cereals, cold meats, scrambled eggs, bacon etc and pastries and breads. The restaurant was also good.
English is spoken in reception but is limited among other staff.
About 10-15minute walk from the station if arriving by train. A good base for those interested in the Harz mountain trains or walking.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room overlooking the courage if you want peace and quirt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian-Wieland, Geschäftsführer at Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your nice comment!
Sorry that you were disturbed.
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best wishes and kindest regards!

Family Wieland and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a room facing the market place, with an outstanding view. When we booked in we were specifically advised that the room would be noisy until midnight because there was a wine festival on. The music finished precisely at midnight. The restaurant is superb. The breakfast buffet has almost everything you might wish for. There is no aircon so in very hot weather be careful of rooms facing the street.

Room Tip: In hot weather have a room away from the street?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian-Wieland, Geschäftsführer at Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and your friendly words!
We look forward to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best wishes and kindest regards!

Family Wieland and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was easy to find, well sign posted with underground (paid) parking. The hotel is in a perfect location overlooking the market square. The rooms are clean and modern with very comfortable beds, which we wish we could have taken home!
The breakfast offering was excellent with choice of cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries, juices etc. All help yourself so you could go up as many times as you wanted.
We did not eat at the restaurant as there are a lot of excellent restaurants / cafe's in Wernigerode and it was nice to experience different foods. A very good base to explore the Harz Mountains

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian-Wieland, Geschäftsführer at Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks for your stay in our Hotel and your very nice comment!
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

All the best and kindest regards!

Family Wieland and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here during April 2013. The hotel was easy to find, and all of the staff spoke excellent english. Our room was lovely and kept beautifully clean, and we enjoyed using the hotel as our base as we explored the Brocken. All questions were answered very quickly, and the breakfast was more than ample for both of us.

One thing I would really recommend is the sauna! My partner and I found out about it, and they acted like it was no big deal, but I have never been to such a well resourced saunarium. They even put lemon oil in the water! Even if you do not go to the Brocken, you must try this!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that faces the town hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian-Wieland, Geschäftsführer at Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your nice comment!
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Best wishes and kindest regards!

Family Wieland and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

With a magnificent location overlooking the main square, this is the perfect example of a supremely comfortable and expertly run hotel. Although it was the first purpose-built hotel in Wernigerode, the Weisser Hirsch has moved with the times, and the spacious rooms are equipped with modern amenities. There is also a terrific bar and resataurant and breakfast Is superb. Very highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for one night in March 2012 on a tour of the Harz mountains area.
This hotel is right on the market square in Wernigerode. Ample parking to the rear and also underground - which was easy to find, as it was well sign posted.
We had paid a little extra for a comfort double room, which was well worth it. Very large room, living room area, satelite TV, mini bar and a huge bathroom. (room 307).
We used the hotel's restaurant for our evening meal which was fantastic. The staff all spoke very good English, and helped us out with our German. One guy in particular gave us a lot of his time advising on places to see and how best to get to them - we were later told he was the owner of the hotel!
We would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again - it is a little more than others in the same town, but given the location, quality and service it is well worth it.
Try it, you won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: Try room 307 and order the beef
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch

Address: Marktplatz 5, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Wernigerode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringhotel Weisser Hirsch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.