We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Altora, Wernigerode” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Altora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Altora
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstr 24 - 26, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Wernigerode
Crewe, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Altora, Wernigerode”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not a great start when we arrived to find 1 room rather than the 2 booked 3 months in advance. 2 of our party being referred to another Hotel in Wernigerode with the promise it would all be sorted for the 2nd night. It wasn't, girl on duty knew nothing about the 2nd room, luckily this night they had a spare, but tried to charge incorrect amount on checking out. Compound this with being told at 22.15 in Germany, that you can't have a drink in your Hotel Bar as they've cashed up!! Rooms were OK, Breakfast was very average for such a Grand looking place, but a struggle to find staff to get coffee with breakfast. Great location for the station, but not much else going for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
strathclyde
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently returned from a holiday which included 5 nights at the Hotel Altora and going by some of the previous comments I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel. We had the Railway Room which was a very spacious room overlooking the locomotive depot where we could watch the engines being coaled and watered. The room itself was well appointed with a comfortable bed and two tub chairs and coffee table, desk with flat screen tv and chair. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with a large shower cubicle with good powerful shower. At the time of our stay the temperature was 30 degrees and we had the windows wide open. At no time were we bothered by any smoke from the steam engines and the air quality was definitely not affected. The last steam train at night is 8 o'clock and the first steam train is at 8.55a.m. so there is no late or early morning service. The hotel is located at a very busy junction and there is a lot of road noise which starts quite early so if you are a light sleeper you would probably be better with a room at the back.
We found the staff efficient and friendly although very few spoke English.
Breakfast was good with fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs,bacon etc.
It would be very difficult to be vegetarian at this hotel as the evening menu is predominately meat based. As mentioned before the portions are huge. The food is typically German fayre but perfectly adequate. The little train which delivers drinks to your table was working on our visit and was quite entertaining. As the restaurant is popular it is advisable to book a table as some nights the restaurant can be quite full - on one evening we managed to get the last table on the outside terrace. After that we made sure we had a reservation.
Access to the room is by electronic card. This electronic card also gives access to the hotels rear door at night and we had no problem gaining access.
If I return to Wernigerode I would certainly stay at the Hotel Altora. I would definitely recommend the hotel as long as you were aware that there can be a lot of road noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the railway but can be noisy due to road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Booked in for three nights, but had to leave after the first one as we were having difficulty breathing, due to the steam engines giving out steam and dirty smoke. It was exceptionally hot and there was no air conditioning, so we had to open the windows but the air quality that came in from the steam trains was appalling. Not all the engines shut down overnight and we were woken by sudden strange 'train' noises. The lighting in the room was poor, there was no fridge in the room, which is a problem as we are travelling with medication which has to be kept refrigerated, necessitating us taking our car fridge to the room. The staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful, but that was difficult due to very little English spoken. We saw the mini railway in the dining room in use for the service of drinks only once, which was a disappointment as it's a real feature of the hotel. The portions of food in the hotel restaurant were large and the quality okay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty breathing and/or want a good night's sleep, ask for a room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Although we were not staying at the Hotel Altora, we used the restaurant twice during our visit to Wernigerode. The first night we ate there, we each ordered a schnitzel, and when it came on a plate 18 inches across and full of food, one meal would have been more than enough for two. The quality was average and the service could have been improved considering how few people were in the restaurant. On our second visit a couple of nights later, we ordered a small meal option and even that was huge. The service on this occasion was better, but it could have been that Germany were due to play in Euro2012 that evening and they wanted to clear up before the match. The little train to bring the drinks is a nice gimmick, but for me the view of the trains across the road made more of an impression. There are better places in Wernigerode to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Location was everything they advised. Straight across the road from the steam trains. We had booked a room facing the trains, wonderful. We considered ourselves fortunate to have learnt a bit of german as we found we needed it. The model train in the restaurant was available but the staff were reluctant to use it as it had to be manually controlled and thus slowed down the service.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a window facing the steam trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at the Altora with a group of youngsters with the intention of exploring the Harz railway system. The situation of the hotel is perfect with clear views over the coaling area for the steam locos and close to the station. The hotel staff were friendly and did at least speak a bit of English. Quite reasonably, they did appreciate our attempts to at least try to speak German. Communication was certainly not a problem. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the evening meals, while not being cordon bleu, were more than adequate and very reasonably priced. We loved the model train that delivered the drinks. The rooms were of a good size, clean and well presented. My only reason for not giving it 5 was the absence of a decent lounge area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at the Altora for 4 nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys trip and for location nit scores 10/10 as it is directly across the road from the steam engines sheds and station (I think you would have to request a front facing room if you wanted a bird's-eye view all the time). The hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs and is also not far from the town centre and the Market Square etc. Our bedroom (112) was OK with enough wardrobe space; a safe and the typical German style of bed - two singles joined to make a double. However, the bathroom was a little on the small and pokey side and our soap and shampoo were not replaced after the second day. There is no tea/coffee making facility which is not uncommon in German hotels of this size but as the place seemed to shut down at night there was no way of getting a drink or any sort - so we used the bars and cafes in town. There is a bar in the hotel but you have to pay every night (no "tabs" here). The breakfast was fine with a good selection which was regularly topped up (the usual cold meats and cheeses plus scrambled egg/bacon or beans). The dining room is set up for groups with the tables and chairs laid out in an orderly fashion though you had to pass meals down to the peple sitting at the window!! Food was a mix of pretty good to average - on the first night we sent the soup back as it was just a plate of grease!! Being German,pork features highly on the set menu. We were told that the food was of a higher standard if you were not a group member i.e. you bought a meal in the dining room and it wasn't inlcuded in your holiday price. However,it was a novelty to get your beer sent to your table by minature train !
There is a lift and you can get in late at night by swiping your room card at the door. We have rated this hotel as Very Good because overall it is fine and prefectly suitable for a short stay. It is as you would expect very popular with train buffs.

Room Tip: If you want to watch the trains all the time then ask for a front facing room (I don't know if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Altora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altora

Address: Bahnhofstr 24 - 26, 38855 Wernigerode, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wernigerode
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 hotels in Wernigerode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altora 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Altora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.