We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg to your Saves list
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We normally do not stay in four star properties, but this was a special birthday occasion. The four of us booked two rooms. Half of the fun is choosing your room online, look at the photos and read the descriptions, all of the rooms are different. We opted for the extra wine and dinner option. Upon arrival, the wine was chilled and waiting in our room along with fruit, chocolate, and sherry. The dinner was fabulous, and the chef added a little extra. The service was outstanding, whenever we looked around, someone was there to direct us through the rooms of the castle to where we wanted to go. The property is full of antiques and artwork and the views are the best. We stayed in room 34 and the bathroom is behind the bookcase. It is a large room and very comfortable. The walk from the parking lot is not long so don't be put off by the description. Luggage service is available, although it is easy to bring a small bag up the short hill. If you want something special, and are willing to pay the price, this property is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    34
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
243
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was so fitting to spend 24 hours at Castle Hotel Schoenburg after having cruised up the river Rhine looking at fairy-tale castles, churches and vineyards. The Schoenburg has been restored wonderfully! Every corner of the castle is absolutely charming, from the well appointed bedrooms (ours faced the river), to all of the public areas, each with their own appeal. The four course dinner included in the price of the room was one of best meals we had in Germany as was the service. The castle itself is quite the unique experience but the grounds outside the castle are in a class by itself. Plan to spend sometime discovering it. It takes good walking shoes. The grounds have all sort of magical little corners including a library inside a tree house, an outdoor pool table, a life-size chess set, and many sittings areas from where you can enjoy the beautiful vineyards around the castle and grounds. We went as a couple but could see a group of friends coming here for a day or two. Recommend Schoenburg very highly. We had a very wonderful time!

Room Tip: Getting a room overlooking the Rhine would add to the unique experience of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have to say I felt like a princess and totally loved this hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the Castle is great. I would have love to stay another night but our itinerary was all booked.

The dinner was awesome and the service was impeccable. It is a must see!

Room Tip: we had rooms 22 and 23 they were both beautiful in their own special way. Both had balcony's an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer but were only in that area of Germany for that time. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and such a unique experience to stay in a castle hotel. Our room was very spacious and even included a little library/study. The bathroom was very large with a great soaking tub. We had a balcony overlooking the Rhine as well as another outdoor space in the courtyard. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there so we were not able to enjoy this much. The meals included were excellent and add wonderfully to the experience. The staff was extremely helpful and very attentive. One of the best hotels we've ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for just one night during our holiday in Germany.
Room was very unique and spacious. Our room also had a cool twist with the bathroom being behind a bookcase. The balcony with the Rhine view was wonderful to have - we enjoyed a bottle of wine out on the balcony and it was very relaxing. The decor and furnishings are a bit on the worn side - and I don't mean "antique" kind of worn, I mean just plain worn out. For the price you pay for a night's stay, seeing couch and chair cushions with holes is a little less than the standard you expect.
The grounds are gorgeous and the views were wonderful - I'd say it's definitely worth staying here at least once just for the dramatic scenery. How often do you get to say that you staying in a castle hotel during your holiday?
The dinner was just okay. The service was great, wine pairings were well selected and attention to detail was paid by the servers and food runners. The atmosphere was nice but, again, with the prices that are charged, there should not be burnt out light bulbs, dust, drooping chandeliers, etc. I would not specifically go to their restaurant and pay for dinner by itself - it was a nice inclusion with the room but, in my view, I don't think the actual meal is worth the charged prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This castle hotel is one of the most amazing hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in a few. We booked the honeymoon room which is actually a two story cottage type pad and it was unbelievable. We weren't on a honeymoon but it felt really special. Sherry to welcome you, lovely lovely inside and a short walk to the hotel reception. Castle grounds are great and the terraces where you can have tea or a drink have views that are world class. the whole place oozes class, the service is outstanding and to be fair this is reflected in the price. the food was good, but not amazing the breakfast was also good but not as good as the rest of the hotel. If you get there late be sure to make arrangements so you can access your room, we arrived at midnight and my family (two young kids) and I had to find a room in another hotel at 2am after 2 hours as no-one would answer the door, apparently I did not ring the doorbell that no-one told me about. to be fair to the hotel, they were genuinely apologetic the next day and did not charge me. Still gets five stars as the place really is stunning.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite all the way, even if you are not recently married (Room 25). Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted to stay in a castle hotel on our trip just do do something different. The reviews on here were wonderful and we weren't disappointed. The staff and service were fantastic and worked so hard to help us out at every turn. Multiple times they immediately left the desk and guided us to where we needed without even a pause.

The included 4 course meal was wonderful and we enjoyed it hugely. Every dish was perfect and we ended up ordering additional little items we were enjoying ourselves so much.

We walked the grounds extensively to see everything. The views are amazing overall and include Oberwesel, vineyards, and of course the Rhine. The lower gardens are a little hard to find the access to, but worth the walk around. Some of the items in the gardens need some repair and attention (billiards area, gazebos, a few sitting areas). But they make for an enjoyable walk and a nice sit down to enjoy.

We had two rooms at this hotel and they represented a big spread in size. Both were well furnished, clean, and beautifully decorated. Really an enjoyable stay with a lot of character.

Definitely take the time to stay!

(Also, if you need help with your luggage they will send a cart down to help. It is a bit of a steep walk and slippery in the rain! Just ask at the desk and they'll help right away).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Address: Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg Germany/Oberwesel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.