We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alleine zum Geburtstag auf Schoenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg to your Saves list
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alleine zum Geburtstag auf Schoenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spending a birthday alone may seem sad but it wasn't, staying here has been one of the most wonderful stays I have had In the many hotels around the world.
A stunning property filled with little nooks and cranny's to explore, beautiful pieces of furniture. A very interesting hotel with real character run professionally. An Excellent dinner, A Fantastic nights sleep.

This place has a very interesting history and is a story upon itself which will reveal itself by wandering around and down through the garden to the safari gazebo.

I plan to return one day but not alone

Room Tip: Room 17 good for Travelers Alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    35
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
254
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN. USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I had booked room 22 (look it up on the website.) It's a tower room with a small balcony overlooking the Rhine. It was stunning in every respect. Little details were amazing, such as the TV built into the wall and "framed" with wood to look like a picture. Yes, the beautiful 4-poster bed is only what is called a full-sized bed in the US...and it might not be enough for two bigger people, but it was OK for us. The bathroom was beautiful and spotless, with a bathtub and a hand-held shower attachment that could be hooked up on the wall.
The included 4-course dinner was served out on the shady terrace. We were concerned that we might not like something on the fixed courses and would have to ask for a substitution, but every one was delicious and served with flair. I wish we had counted the dishes and doilies that went past.
Do not worry about the train noise. Inside the room their sound isn't that loud, and it actually lulled us to sleep thinking of days gone by. Breakfast the next morning was elaborate with an extensive buffet, along with a unique hot egg dish that was brought to our table...once again on the terrace.
The staff was delightful and helpful in every way...even coming up to our room to collect the luggage and take it (and us) down to the car in a golf cart.
Our only complaint would be the lack of signs to direct you to the correct road to find the hotel. We drove back and forth on the road down by the Rhine until we finally tried one that looked like it might work. Even on a multi-property sign to other hotels, halfway up the hill, the name of this one is lacking. And a GPS won't help because the hotel is on a private road.
However, I must say that I've stayed at countless hotels over the years in many foreign countries...and this has to be among the best. The only runner up would be the Thornbury Castle hotel in England's Cotswolds. Yes, the price is high but well worth it. We will keep the welcoming scroll from Burg Schoenburg as a valued reminder of our stay.

Room Tip: Room 22 is high up in the only restored tower, with a wonderful river view and a balcony. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel earlier and loved it. It was nice to come back, this time with good friends. Our suite had a wonderful view to the Rhine. The room was spacious with a huge comfortable four poster bed. In the bathroom we missed the shower. Are not very fond of bath tubs. But it was of good size with some beautiful tiles. We simply love the little treat with the caraf of free sherry. We had the four course dinner (with two lovely extras from the chef) with very good wine pairrings. It was exellent. So was the service. The staff is extremely nice and polite. The breakfast at the terrace was just fabulous. We definitely will come back to this lovely spot on earth. If possible I would haved rated the hotell to at least 6 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June, 2013. The ambiance is memorable and the dinners were excellent both in quality and presentation. Service is outstanding and personalized without being intrusive. We were very impressed with the attention to detail the dinner staff took in noting our preferences. However, there are three aspects which make this an overpriced experience that is worth doing once, but not worth repeating.
First, the location is extremely isolated. We were traveling by train, and while we managed to walk down the hill each day for sightseeing trips, it is really impossible to walk up. There is no hotel shuttle service, and (even though the taxi drivers are very friendly) it is expensive and stressful to always have to rely on the taxi. I believe that the hotel should offer shuttle service. Even if they just offered it during peak hours of the morning and afternoon it would be a huge selling point. While Oberwesel is a charming little town, there is not more than one day's worth of things to see there. We did make other day trips, but the trains stop infrequently at the Oberwesel station. You must budget in a lot of extra time for day trips because of this.
Secondly, the breakfast is really poor. You receive half a soft-boiled egg as the only hot food. Everything else is canned or processed food,except for a few fresh apricots. Every German hotel we have ever stayed at (from 2 to 5 star) has offered a better breakfast. Dinner is excellent, but the pacing is a little rushed. As soon as you finish one course, the next is right there. It makes it feel a little like a plate dinner at a group reception. They also have an odd seating policy. There are three dining rooms they use for guests. They ask you ahead of time for an estimate of your dining time. Instead of seating people as they appear and filling up a dining room, they have assigned guests to different rooms. The first night we were there we were the only two people in the whole dining room. It was awkward and uncomfortable. The other three nights we were one of only two or three couples in the dining room. It makes more sense to me to fill up one room at a time, and it would make for a more pleasant and congenial dining experience. A full room of people eating and talking is just more fun that having three separate dining rooms with just 2-6 people in each one.
Finally, the rooms are spotlessly clean but not comfortable for an extended stay. We stayed in Room 34 which is enormous and quite memorable. We were prepared for the many flights of stairs with no elevator, and we were not bothered by any sort of train noise despite having all the windows open all the time. The room has a lot of furniture, but none of it is comfortable to sit on for any length of time. The biggest problem is that the bathroom is somewhat dangerous. There is no shower and the tub's faucet is situated in the middle of the steep-sided, narrow, and very slippery tub. There is no slip mat in the tub and nothing to hold onto to steady yourself. We took several falls while we were trying to get in and out of the tub. Washing your hair in that tub is a real challenge, and there is no shampoo or bar soap provided. The nearest Rewe to buy such necessities is a 20 minute walk each way from the train station, then a 20 minute wait for the taxi, and then the 7.5 E up the hill. Just to acquire shampoo required us about 90 minutes of time, money, and effort. (It was a good grocery store for the other things you will need like water and soda.)
The staff is well-trained, the castle is beautifully restored and updated, and I am glad we had the chance to stay here. My recommendation would be to try it once, and to not stay more than two nights. For $450 a night you should have a hot breakfast with lots of fresh choices, transportation provided up and down the hill, and basic bath amenities like bar soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoenburg, Inhaber at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear travellingmother,
thank your very much for your comment. We are very glad that you mainly enjoyed your stay at our castle hotel and liked the setting, details, staff and dinner.
You are right, the location is a bit far off and isolated and a hotel shuttle would be very helpful. We have discussed this in the past seriously. It is just that most guest do arrive by car and would not need the shuttle and as we only have 22 rooms altogether a shuttle service that is very seldomly used is simply too expensive to maintain for such a small hotel. We do understand that especially when staying several nights this is a problem to guests and annoying to always have to order a taxi or to walk to town. We are sorry about this inconvenience.

Your comment about our breakfast did not meet our understanding. We are kind of puzzled about it. We think that we have a very nice breakfast with freshly brewed coffee or leaf teas or hot chocolate, several juices, sparkling wine, fresh breads, rolls, cakes, croissants, several cereals, cream, curd, ham, special venison sausages, cheeses, salmon, shrimps, baked cold minced meat balls. There is nothing canned or processed- really nothing- event the butter is fresh and not in a package or plastic as you often find it. We also automatically bring our small egg speciality, the half soft-boiled egg on fried tomato pieces. Of course, one can order more of these or also scrambled eggs with or without bacon or omelette or any other hot egg dish. We do not have a special list for these and they are not on the buffet but we do serve them happily when asked for . No problem at all. Therefore your comment on our breakfast is a riddle to us because we do take great care for it. It might not be the biggest buffet but we really look for quality.

You also did not like our seating policy for dinner. We do understand that it is not very nice and entertaining to sit alone in a dining room and we usually do try to avoid such a situation. We very much regret that it nevertheless happend in you case and want to apologize for this. But we cannot just fill one restaurant after the other as guests arrive because most of the guest have chosen ‚their‘ table in one of the three restaurants beforehand already and then, of course, have to be seating at this very table. Therefore it might happen that we have to seat guests in two dining rooms even if they might have fitted in one (which would have been easier for our service also).

One last thing lacked while staying with us: we do not have small bottles with shampoo in the hotel rooms but in every bathroom with have a glass bottle with blue liquid soap near the washing basin and another glass-flacon with golden luxury liquid shampoo and body wash near the bathtub fixed on the wall. At reception, we also have small shampoo flacons to lend (also tooth brushes and paste and pieces of soap) if preferred - which, however, usually is not the case. We very much regret that you did not mention your wishes to our reception or breakfast service. We could have certainly helped.

This has become quite a long answer now but we felt it important to explain and we do hope that you nevertheless have good remembrances of Schönburg Castle. We even are quite trustful that you do as you also found such nice and positive words for us. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in room 16 for a few nights during our honeymoon in July. We absolutely loved it! The staff is so helpful and friendly. The dinners are amazing. The garden is straight out of a storybook. We explored the village of Oberwesel and fell in love with it.

Room Tip: Room 16 had a great view and a cozy balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It may well be a romantic spot and I conceed the view is fantastic, but if you are not staying here, dont bother coming up as the Hotel is not open to non residents?! Instead I'd recomend a short walk up the hill to Delhoffen (0.25m) and enjoy a drink on the terrace of Gaust Haus Stahl

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoenburg, Inhaber at Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are sorry to kind of read between your lines that you might have had an unpleasant experience at Schönburg Castle (?).
This, we would highly regret.
Our hotel, of course, is only open to hotel residents and not open for sightseeing
but our restaurant and the restaurant terraces are open to the public as well and we are very happy for guests also not being hotel residents as long as we have free availabilities.

With best regards

Family Hüttl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We, two couples, much enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. Nice rooms with much love and attention to detail, great four course menus with fine wine pairings and always a very friendly and attentive service. All in all the place for a very unique and fine experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Address: Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg Germany/Oberwesel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.