We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg to your Saves list
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Living Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I am actually born in this region and returned after years for a visit. We stayed in the Barabarossa Tower of the castle and had a wonderful room with a great view over the Middle Rhine Valley. Do not miss the footpath down to the Medievil city. We had dinner on the castle, which was amazing and taking advantage of local supplies. It is not a "touristy" place at all, but all very decent. Staff is friendly and helpful and you feel the armosphere of a family run business at its best.

Would always come again, also for a longer stay. Enjoyed it very much. We took the boat with "Koeln Duesseldorfer" then down to Kobenz (Coblence) which is the best way to travel through this Cultural World Heritage site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    35
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
254
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baumholder, Germany
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for an overnight in May to try something new and was not disappointed. The castle itself is impressive with a museum, restaurant and garden areas. The room we stayed in was well appointed with toiletries, a decanter of sherry and a small fruit basket. The room was tastefully decorated in medieval style (without being severe), fantastic views, books and even a stereo with classical music. The room also had robes and slippers as an added bonus. The included four course dinner actually turned out to be 6 courses and while what was served would not have been what I had chosen for myself my husband and I both liked the food very much. Breakfast was equally delicious with a small but diverse breakfast buffet including sparkling Riesling so it was possible to make mimosas. All in all, it was a fantastic, relaxing stay and truly conveyed the ambiance expected when staying in a castle while providing all of the modern amenities (though it was a long climb up stairs to our room).

Room Tip: We were in room 36 and don't think you can go wrong with this one. Fantastic views of both the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I can't say enough good about this hotel along the Rhine River - I've wanted to stay in a castle on the Rhine for my entire life and this one far exceeded our expectations. My husband and I stayed here our last 2 nights on a 10 night trip to Germany, and this was a very special place to end our trip. The views from the hotel and our room are just incredible and the service was impeccable - I saw some compliants in other reviews about service but we found it to be incredibly good. The owner himself served us during dinner and helped to personally make our stay an enjoyable one. The quality of food at breakfast and dinner was remarkable. To spite being in a castle that is over 1000 years old, the furnishings, rooms and common areas are very comfortable and welcoming, yet reflect the appropriate period. It is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel, and there is a library and patio open 24/7. It is obvious that the owners take much pride in this property. The garden and grounds were spacious, well maintained and very enjoyable. You can't go wrong if you stay here. One word of advice - park the car and walk to the main entrance to check in. They have luggage service available via electric cart that you'll much appreciate as the walk to the entrance is quite steep.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the Rhine - we stayed in Room 24, a small suite that was very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We recently spend a night at the Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg. It was like living in a fantasy world where dreams come true. Our room was lovely - looking out on the Rhine with a small balcony and table. Our bathroom had a tub and shower and music piped in from the CD player in the bedroom - the perfect example of a castle feel with some modern touches. The beds are very cozy and comfortable and everything was spotless. We had a wonderful dinner and breakfast - all the food was delicious and the presentation was exceptional. Every person who served us was polite, friendly and willing to help us any way they could. We also took a vineyard tour for an additional fee - well worth it. Our guide was charming and we enjoyed learning about the winemaking process and sampling the product. Our stay was definitely the highlight of our trip to Germany.

Room Tip: Room 16 was spacious and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is my second visit to Schoenburg and it was as wonderful as the first. Lots to comment on let me get started: First the setting is stunning and unique, the views and especially the ambiance are amazing. It really is a wonderfully restored castle with an amazing and cheerful and helpful crew.

The multi course fixed menu dinners were both great, lots of different and complex flavors. I had the wine pairing with dinner, and it 24 euro its an excellent value and chance to taste the local vineyards.

Only downside is the internet seems to be a bit spotty-and my room required me to conenct via a hard cable -with most macs no longer connect to..

This is a very special place, the staff were all amazing, look forward to my next visit

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. We were in 14 which was awesome, great views, only problem-you had to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely castle hotel. The gardens are phenomenal. Give plenty of time in your schedule to spend time exploring the gardens and playing a game of life size chess or hanging out reading a book in the tree house or one of the gazebos. Very welcoming of children, despite the very fancy aspects of the castle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my second time staying at this hotel. Everything was perfect. We stayed in room 22 which was a tower room with a Rhein view and small balcony. The room was awesome, the view incredible and I found the bed to be quite comfortable. The 4 course dinner was heavenly- I highly recommend ordering the wine pairing, it costs extra, but it is totally worth it. We did it 2 nights in a row. We originally planned to spend one of our days in Rudesheim, but the magic of this castle kept us entertained all day. I would also recommend the castle museum. It cost 2 Euro 50 per person for hotel guests, but you can climb to the top of one of the towers for the best view of the surrounding area. It also has a computerized trebuchet that you can load and lob stones with a real time result on an adjacent flat screen. It is LOADS of fun. This hotel is very pricy, but the service and amenities are worth every penny. We hope to return again next year for a longer
stay.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms offer stunning views, but are more expensive and might not be worth it during colder r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Address: Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg Germany/Oberwesel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.