We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg to your Saves list
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This has been by far the best place I have been in Europe. When we got there It was to early to check in and so we went down to the town, the town was gorgeous and quaint. Then when we checked into the hotel, they took our bags up to the room and walked us to our room, which were absolutely gorgeous. They gave us a scroll with a map of the hotel and so we could explore places other people couldn't go and there was a giant chess set, a Bocche pit, a billiards table, and a dart board for hotel access only, it was awesome. Then we went and had a fabulous 3 course dinner with multiple tastes of food compliments of the chef. The food tasted great on top of that! Just a great experience all together! It's great for families too!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    34
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
242
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

During our trip to Germany, my wife and daughter wanted to stay in a castle, so while we were in Frankfurt I made a reservation at this unique property. We took the train from Frankfurt and arrived in Oberwesel (pretty easy to do) and found a cab to drive us to the hotel. My daughter and I spent most of the entire evening simply exploring the wonderful grounds. Our room was the honeymoon suite, was extremely large, but unfortunately had no view. I am sure that some of the other rooms higher up, would have spectacular views.

Our rate included dinner and breakfast. Both of which were fine.

It is a real fun place to stay and I would recommend the hotel. In addition, the area around Oberwesel is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon! We felt like the King and Queen of our own castle! The castle itself is gorgeous and you can explore the castle and the grounds. It is just beautiful everywhere you look. The castle is set upon a hill and offers amazing views of the Rhine River and of the town of Oberwesel. Our room was fantastic. We felt as though we had stepped back in time and we so enjoyed our balcony and luxurious beds and bathroom. Be sure to have dinner, drinks or dessert in the tower room! This is a dream come true!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Rhine river or a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The night we spent at this castle was magical. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were shown to our two rooms. Our daughters' room had a secret door that opened up to their balcony. Their balcony was the actually battlements of the castle and they could walk along it around the top of the castle. Our room was right next door and was just as elegant and had a wonderful view of the Lorelei and Rhine river. Both rooms had a bottle of port for our enjoyment and a stocked minibar that was complementary. A four course dinner was included with our room along with a large breakfast buffet. Both were the best meals we had during our entire Germany trip. We had fun exploring the castle grounds and finding the gate to the gardens surrounding the castle. They were so beautiful. This is the perfect romantic get-away. I wish we would have spent more than one night here. Our teenage daughters felt that this was one of the best parts of our trip to Germany. Thank you Burghotel auf Schoenburg for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Rhine are amazing. You can't sleep with the windows open though because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I'm not sure what I can add to the earlier positive reviews of Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg except to add to the chorus of voices praising this hotel. I stayed here with my mother and 10 year old daughter as we have relatives who live in Oberwesel and we wanted to visit them. We also knew about this place from previous visits. Everything was divine. The room (number 19) was amazing -- we had great views of the river and I much enjoyed the sherry that is provided in each room. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We had dinner there as well and yes, it is long -- count on 3 hours or so -- but my daughter did fine. It's great that they serve very high quality meals but are also very kid-friendly (there were much younger kids in the dinning room on the night we were there). My daughter could order spaghetti with tomato sauce and salad while we ate spaghetti with truffle sauce and pork medallions. All delicious and well worth the price. If you are looking for a special treat, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: They have pictures of each room on their website so you can see exactly what your are getting along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

What an amazing place! This is your castle dream come true. We are a family of 4; stayed for 3 nights in June in the Honeymoon Suite, which is actually the 2 story guardhouse of the castle. The space was perfect for us: the boys had two beds on the first floor which had been folded out of the wall. But not to worry, they were comfy, full sized beds with puffy duvets. The only bathroom (huge, with shower and tub) was on that floor too. Upstairs, a full living room with TV, sitting niche by the arrow slit window, and a secret door into the master BR-with canopy bed! Tons of room for a family to spread out and so nice to have our own little "house."
Breakfast was generous and tasty. Dinner was delish but quite long. OK for adults, a bit challenging for US kids. They do have a kids' menu and you don't have to take the set menu--you can just order parts of it, or order off the ala carte menu instead. Delightfully, they let me purchase a bottle of wine on the first night, then kept it in the kitchen for me and brought it out with dinner each evening.
The tiny wooden bridge you drive across to reach the parking is not for the faint of heart! But the free parking was nice. We didn't mind the short walk up into the castle.
Definitely worth exploring all the nooks and crannies, as well as visiting the tiny museum and climbing the tower.
We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is magic. We splurged on a night here after backpacking for 2 weeks. Our room was incredible. We stayed in room 21 which has an breathtaking Rhein view. The bathroom was lux, they offer nice robes for you to use. The room itself was incredible with a very large bed ( and a suprise hidden bed, great since I was with my sister). The closet was awesome, with an umbrella, sewing kit and shoe shine kit if you needed it. We had an enormous semi private terrace that wrapped around half of the castle. Each room has a small refrigerator stocked with juice, water and beer. There is also a cd player with an assortment of classical music. The included four course meal was amazing. Each course was more delicious than the last. The weather was great so we dined outside on the terrace. The views are to die for. They advertised a "lavish" breakfast buffet and they were not kidding. Items included lox, assorted meat, powdered sugar dusted
croissants, cereals, fresh yogurt, fruits, cheeses, all top quality. Assorted juices are served in champagne flutes ( which in my opinion, makes them taste better!). The staff is friendly and all speak English. We arrived very early and they hustled to get our room ready long before standard check in time. The castle is very large and one could spend many hours exploring the fantastic gardens or the other public rooms. There are also paths from the castle to the town ( very rugged!) which make a nice hike if you are up for it. The only cons are: if you want to explore the town of Oberwesel or nearby Bingen, you MUST take a taxi to and from the castle unless you are up for the very long, uphill walk. Taxis are cheap (7.50 Euro) and easy to get. You need only to ask the desk to arrange one or if you are coming from the train station, go to the phone booth and call 488. The taxi company will be there in record time and the drivers are delightful women who speak excellent English ( the 5 minute drive is a bit treacherous, don't look down). Additionally, the walk from where the taxi drops you off, to the reception is a bit of a challenging climb. If you are loaded down with luggage, they do offer a porter who will take your luggage from the drop off point, right to your room. I just loved this place and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic place to stay or a real castle experience. I plan on returning next year with my husband, but I think we will stay longer!

Room Tip: The hotel's website has pictures of every room. You can browse through them and email them to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg

Address: Auf Schonburg, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Oberwesel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oberwesel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Oberwesel
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg Germany/Oberwesel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.