We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Traditional German Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historische Weinwirtschaft

Historische Weinwirtschaft
Liebfrauenstr. 17, 55430 Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
+49 06744/8186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Oberwesel
Cuisines: Winery
Restaurant details
Morpeth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional German Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've never been a massive fan of German food but I may need to revise my opinion. This is a very good restaurant.

Starter of hot goats cheese, with beetroot and dressed salad was excellent. The main course was pork schnitzel with roast potatoes an salad. The schnitzel batter was obviously home-made and light and crisp, with the pork moist and tender.

They have have excellent list of house wines served in carafes. The Oberwesler Riesling was a beautiful wine; dry, crisp and beautifully balanced and great value for €9.80 for half a litre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brits in Austria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Most memorable restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having travelled in Austria and Italy we drove back to UK via Germany. As it was along journey and we had never been to Germany we chose to stop in the Medieval own of Oberwesel. It was quiet from the other towns we had visited. Unfortunately part of the main high street was being retarmaced so made it looked like part of the town had nothing to see of interest. However we walked up this part of town and found the Historiche Weinwirtschaft restaurant! It was housed in such a beautiful medieval building with a very quaint garden. The restaurant was extremely busy but we managed to get seated in the garden. The atmosphere was such a contrast to the quietness on arrival to Oberwesel. The staff were delightful in helping with the menu and attentive throughout service! The food was absolutely delicious and melted in your mouth! The wine was local and the best white wine I have ever had!

We were so pleased to find this restaurant for great location, service, food and wine.

They also had a play area for kids and the kids were having a wonderful time!

This is one of the best dining experiences we have ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This wonderful little restaurant is a joy for the eye as well as the palate. The setting is charming, tables are set throughout an historic home filled with interesting furnishings. You may eat in a kitchen or have your table set in a bed! The outdoor dining in the pretty garden is a lovely way to enjoy a warm summer night. The food does not disappoint. The menu is sophisticated but has all the local German standards. Every dish was delicious and beautifully presented. Service was great, above and beyond!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a cozy fantastic setting for a special dinner in the sweet town of Oberwesel! My husband and I were here in September, so we are writing this late, but still remember our dinner like yesterday. It was so much fun to eat in this preserved historic old home, we ate in a bed converted to table and had the whole room to ourselves. There was a tiny mistake in our reservation, but the owner went absolutely out of her way to treat us like royalty with special wine and desert. The food was fresh and perfect, the wine perfectly paired. The entire staff was outstanding and very friendly. Would absolutely recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband, my sister, and I all got different dishes and we all loved them. The wine selection was great.

I noticed a little table with some children's toys when we came in, so it's probably a great place to take children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historische Weinwirtschaft also viewed

Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate
Oberwesel, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Historische Weinwirtschaft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historische Weinwirtschaft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.