We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schiff Schluchsee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Schiff Schluchsee to your Saves list
Hotel Schiff Schluchsee
Kirchplatz 7 | Hochschwarzwald, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Schluchsee
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel it self is just average,but the location is superb.View of the lake, very peacful and beautiful.
Free Wii-Fi,free parking outside, elevator.Perfect location in the center of the small town.Supermarket just across the hotel .Restaurant overlooking the lake.Our room was small with limited lake view ,as all the other rooms with the full lake view were taken.Overall it was comfortable.I didn't like the quality standard of the towels provided .Breakfast was OK.Friendly staff specially Olga the receptionist.The hotel provides the schwartzwald card.Reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room- a pity there wasn't a kettle to make tea/coffee. The double beds are in fact two singles alongside eachother). Parking right outside the hotel.
Friendly staff, good food, nice view of the lake and surrounding forest.
There's a small indoor swimming pool and also a sauna. Dressing gowns are provided in the rooms- you need to bring your own slippers (useful for going into the bathing area where shoes are forbidden) .

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiff1652, Manager at Hotel Schiff Schluchsee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest

We appreciate your time on writting your comment. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With pleasure I will forward your praise to the whole team. We hope to welcome you once again at the hotel Schiff.

With best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch during a tour of the Black Forest. Good range of dishes on the menu with some local dishes. Service was good even though they were rather busy and the terrace was full. Make sure you opt to eat outside as the view from the terrace is wonderful. Will keep coming back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel Schiff is wonderfully situated overlooking Lake Schluchsee. Rooms overlook the lake and which is so peaceful. (One warning is that the church bells ring the Angelus at 7am, so be prepared be woken if you're at that end of the hotel)
The breakfast was plentiful and served with good cheer helping the day to start really well.
The rooms are clean and tidy and the housekeeping staff work really hard and late to ensure that each room is made up daily.
The restaurant offers a limited but exquisite menu made up of local specialties.
The town of Schluchsee itself is a delight - we were there during the annual dragon-boat festival and even though the party went on late into the night on the Saturday, it is hard to be grudging because the atmosphere was great.
If you're wanting a scenic quiet spot to relax in then this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a lake-view and try to get put at the opposite end from the church!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went for the walking offer of three nights with two three course evening meals and a packed lunch each day. We arrived on wednesday to a really nice welcome and found we had a very nice room and where very impressed with the hotel. The three course meal that evening was delicious and the service friendly. The nights sleep was good although we where disturbed a little bit by people leaving the irish pub during the night which is directly opposite the hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated for day trips and the konus card which allows travel with public transport for free was really beneficial. The breakfast was also really varied with lots available. The packed lunch was satisfactory with a couple of rolls, fruit and water (although the glass bottles provided where perhaps not the best for a walking holiday due to the weight). The service was disappointing at times. The receptionist was quite unfriendly at times and not willing to help which put a bit of a downer on our initial brilliant opinion of the hotel (we pointed this out to the manager at the end of our stay and she was very understanding and took this on board which was impressive). At the weekend when the hotel got considerably busier we noticed that the restaurant staff took quite a bit longer with our food and on the friday night we waited quite a while for our food to come. As I previously said the food was really tasty but apparently not very varied. The two times when we ate evening meal in the restaurant we had a curry soup starter, spätzle, carrots and meat cut into strips on both occasions. Although very tasty we where a bit disappointed to be eating the same dish on two evenings of the holiday and although there was a second dish available we are not great fish lovers so that didnt really help. To sum up, the hotel is very pretty and perfectly situated at the edge of the lake. The room was very clean and well equiped. Parking available, good transport connections. Free use of sauna and swimming pool. Just let down a bit by the service but the walking offer we had is to be recommended and although we have moaned about the service a little bit I think I would go back again if I am in the area but I expected better service. Take the chance to find out for yourself and you will have a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We visited The Schiff for a business workshop for 3 days/2nights in March. Our group was large enough for us to have the entire hotel to ourselves. The staff was excellent... from the front desk to the wait staff... everyone was very accommodating. The food was excellent... I can't say enough about how fantastic the food was. Rooms were large, with very comfortable soft beds, my room (#17) had a view of the lake with a small balcony. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

If you will consider to dispense with the steel and chrome, so often found in modern hotels, and would you like to stay in the beautiful heart of the Black Forrest in in southwestern Germany, Hotel Schiff in Schluchsee is the place.

The hotel offers rooms of different sizes and a few with a balcony with a partial view of the beautiful Schluchsee (Lake Schluch). The interior is inspired by the local farmhouses, and the rooms are cozy and clean. The Hotel sports a small indoors swimmingpool, two different saunas, a massage - and a beautyparlour. The restaurant offers both local (delicious) dishes as well as items from the international cuisine.

The town of Schluchsee offers possibilities of hiking, sailing and outdoor bathing in the summertime. Besides that the guests of the hotel are free to use public transportation in the area, which comes rather handy, as the railway station is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and the closest, bigger and very charming town of Freiburg is almost impossible when it comes to parking.
Instead you can take a 45 minutes free trainride, which will place you right in the centre of Freiburg, and in addition to this take you through some of the most spectacular parts of the Black Forrest, among others the dramatic ‘Höllental’ (Hells Gorge), where there hardly is room for both railroad and highway.

The hotel doesn’t get my topmarks only because I missed a small fridge/minibar in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schiff Schluchsee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiff Schluchsee

Address: Kirchplatz 7 | Hochschwarzwald, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schluchsee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Schluchsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Schiff Schluchsee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schiff Schluchsee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.