We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recieved a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni to your Saves list
Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni
Faulenfuerster Strasse 9, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Schluchsee B&B and Inns
Haarlem
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We recieved a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in Schöneck for a couple of nights and we were more than satisfied. We received a warm welcome and stayed in a nice room with view on a beautiful garden. Our room was large with a nice sitting area, a little kitchenette and a bathroom that is not modern but it is very clean and there is nothing wrong with it. Breakfast was served in a lovely decorated room and it was better than in most hotels. The centre of Schluchsee was only a short walk from Schöneck. So you can both enjoy the quietness of the woods and garden as well as the nearby lake, station and restaurants. We hope to come back here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very friendly guesthouse on the edge of a village that is interesting but not over-touristy (as opposed to staying for example in Titisee). The manager was really helpful and that Black Forest visitor cards that they give to anyone who stays more than 2 nights are brilliant. Valid on all sorts for local attractions. Also valid for the local buses and trains (we only found this out after we had already bought train tickets to Freiburg so don't make that mistake!).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location is great, less than a 5 minute walk to the beach and an easy walk into 'town'. Free parking and easy to find. The hotel itself is quite beautiful as well.

That's where the good stops. First, it's wildly expensive. After paying $200 per night you would expect that everything would work. It didn't.

The wifi was spotty during the day when the front desk person would 'reset' it every 5 minutes. After she leaves at 8pm-ish it just dies completely until they get there at 7AM. This is very tough for Americans who are trying to keep in touch with family/loved ones back home. Very, very frustrating. When we complained they said "Yes, it doesn't work very well". Turns out that it worked just fine in-town, but I had to walk 500 meters to find a home with free wifi so that I could Skype with our sick little girl. In the middle of the dark, in a deserted street. You don't want to have to do this after spending so much on a hotel.

Ending on a high note: At least the breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique Felix D, Inhaber at Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your evaluation.
We are really sorry to hear that your stay with us has not met your expectations.

Concerning the internet/wifi connection we would like to mention that if I would have known that the internet was not working during the night time,
we would have tried to solve the problem immediately. However, unfortunately we were informed as you were leaving us.

Furthermore my days do not start by getting up at 7:00am.
If you would have payed full attention to the note at the front desk,
you would have known that we are always available via phone, at any time.
We even have a phone set up for our guests for this reason.
Since we live in the building ourselves, we can act immediately if something is wrong even during the night.
Thus more, you were informed about that fact upon your arrival.

Since we own two hotels, it is logistically not possible to keep the reception open 24 hours.
In addition this is not a demanding criteria for a guest house.

Our apparently overpriced prices are not based on a well functioning internet connection (which is an additional feature), but newly renovated rooms, which meet a four star standard, and as you mentioned, a very well assorted breakfast buffet.

After all it seems you were very pleased with other aspects of your stay and therefore we sincerely believe that your unsatisfactory rating is quite misplaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni

Address: Faulenfuerster Strasse 9, 79859 Schluchsee, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schluchsee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Schluchsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus Schoeneck Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.