We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lively restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus zum Riesen

Gasthaus zum Riesen
Hauptstrasse 99, 63897 Miltenberg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9371 989948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Miltenberg
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
wrexham north wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lively restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we called in for a beer we noticed the food looked good so we had a meal which was excellent and tasty so we made a reservation for the following night and we were not disappointed good value and a very lively establishment

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shavertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oldest Restaurant in heart of Miltenberg's "Altstadt"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Read reviews of this place on Trip Advisor and decided to try it out. It was fantastic! We were there in the afternoon and sat outside to have a beer. It was soo good we decided to have a meal, but it was only 5 in the afternoon and meals weren't available until 6. We did then discover that they have a inbetween menu, which offered quite a few interesting options. The sun was soo bright that we decided to ask to sit inside. Our waitress, Corinna, was very accomadating. On my way to the restroom prior to this, i had noticed one table tucked down in a opening in the wall that I found intriguing and she said we could sit there as long as no reservation sign was on the table. On our way to the table, I noticed that most of the tables did indeed have signs on them that they were already reserved, but luckily not my table of choice. We soo enjoyed our food and beer and my parents who live in germany, plan on bringing other visitors to this establishment. We loved Miltenberg and we loved "Riesen"1

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In Heart of Miltenberg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place, nice selection of beef brought in from South America. Beer was brought in from the local Faust Brewary just down the road. Good traditional food, excellant service. Can wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and even better beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Riesen is allegedly the oldest restaurant in the world. Whatever, it doesn´t matter. What is more important is the great traditional food and local dishes. They have to be accompanied with a beer brewed next door. The Riesen offers several different beers with a great variety of tastes. Browse through the menu and pick what you like. Great staff make the restaurant a must go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Superb "Bratwurst" meal at " Gasthaus Zum Riezen"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Everybody was talking about it so we went to see and eat at "The Oldest Guest house in Germany". Another very warm day so we decided to eat indoors. As it was "Bratwurst week" I did not order the 1 mtr of sausage but "just 5 links" of sausages with Sauerkraut and mashed potatoes. Together it went down well, Our friend and others enjoyed their meal too and of course a pint or two of the local grain beer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus zum Riesen also viewed

Miltenberg, Lower Franconia
Miltenberg, Lower Franconia
 
Miltenberg, Lower Franconia
Miltenberg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Gasthaus zum Riesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus zum Riesen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.