We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abbey on the Danube (Donau) River” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery Weltenburg

Monastery Weltenburg
Asamstrasse 32, 93309 Kelheim, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 45 Attractions in Kelheim
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Denville, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Abbey on the Danube (Donau) River”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The river ferry to reach Weltenburg Abbey is very enjoyable and includes a guided talk along the river journey. When buying tickets, be very clear about whether or not you want a one-way or round-trip ticket -- the cashier did not appear to speak much English. If you want to hike back (or there) you only need a one-way fare. In order to enjoy the hike, you will be dependent upon another much smaller ferry to cross the river to the hiking trail. The grounds of the Abbey are nice, but not as extensive as I would have expected. Not much of the interior was actually available for viewing; that was disappointing. We were there just a month or so after some serious flooding and the chapel had a very strong mildew smell. The bier garden in the center of the Abbey grounds where we ate was staffed by mostly cranky waitresses -- very unfortunate. Although the food was good. Perhaps a bit more research before visiting would have been advisable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Scenic Sail to a Magnificent Monastery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Sailed from Kelheim throught the Danube Gorge to Weltenburg Monastery; it was an extremely hot and sunny day which made the trip on the boat somewhat uncomfortable. The scenery along the way breathtaking in parts. Almost magical in parts. The Monastery, which is amongst the oldest in the world - oldest with a working brewery, was surprising upon entry. Walking in to a monastery courtyard, and seeing an well attended beer garden in full swing, at first seemed out of place. However, understanding the history and context of this place is important. We visited St George Church, a baroque chapel bulit in the 1700's. It is worth seeing. We spent 30 minutes in the pew, taking in the walls, cieling, statues and altar. Like most Baroque style churches, the ornate decoration takes some time to view and appreciate. Tours are available on-site. As we were part of a tour group from a cruise, our tight timelines did not permit a tour of the site. I believe it would be worth doing after taking the scenic sail from Kelheim.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olen, Belgium
Top Contributor
665 reviews 665 reviews
640 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Anno Domini 610”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Anno Domini 610 the oldest monastery in Bavaria was established, after the fall of the Roman Empire, with support of Duke Tassilo III, the monastery brewery manuscript dates back to 1050, thus being the oldest monasterial brewery in the world. After centuries of flooding damage and looting the smallest Benedictine Abbey in Bavaria had under Abbot Maurus Bächl new haydays: he had the current baroque monastery church built period 1716-1739. Secularized in 1803, the Benedictine monastery was rebuilt in 1842 by King Ludwig I as a Priory and was in 1913 by King Ludwig III exalted again as an Abbey. The monastery is still inhabited. A wharf is situated directly beside the monastery. Guided tours in the monastery are on offer, the monastery beer can be tasted in the beer garden, a further visit to the monastery church and the somewhat secluded Frauenbergkapelle situated at the Frauenberg and ajoining Via Dolorosa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“BOAT RIDE IS WORTH IT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived at the monastery by ferry through the Danube Gorge, passing Liberation Hall. This was a beautiful ride through steep mountains on either side. The monastery is quite touristy but there are still approximately 20 monks on the property. We had to sample the famous Weltenburg beer and a pretzel before our sightseeing began. The beer was pretty tasty, so we had a second. The Monastery Church was quite beautiful with lots of Kodak moments.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good if you do the boat trip up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I enjoyed the boat trip quite a lot as there were amazing photo opportunities. There was much more at the monastery than I thought (beer garden, museum etc) and it was busy considering that it was a Sunday afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery Weltenburg also viewed

Kelheim, Lower Bavaria
 
Kelheim, Lower Bavaria
Regensburg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Monastery Weltenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastery Weltenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.