We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Demas Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Demas Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Demas Garni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstr. 32, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterhaching
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good base for exploring Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is minutes from the A9 Autobahn and less than 5 minutes walk from the S-Bahn, which gets you into central Munich in less than 20 minutes. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel. We were on the third floor and the Wifi was a bit hit and miss at times and the room was very hot as there is no air conditioning. Admittedly, we visited during a particularly hot spell but as our room was at the front of the hotel it was quite noisy at night as we had to have the windows open. We did not have breakfast there as we considered 10 euro as expensive. However, there are several bakery/cafes between the hotel and the S-Bahn and a supermarket directly below the hotel which opens between 7am and 8pm. There are also a couple of restaurants in walking distance, including a Chinese and a Pizzeria, but we did not try them out. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke very good English.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot, ask for a room at the back so you can sleep with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
13
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I had a good stay. Room nice and clean... did not have air conidtion... but if you dont have it now it is not a big deal. Coming from south of the alps we need it. so we were little hot. Sleepy with the window open helped. Close to the train station ( 5 min. walk).. Nice German restur. only 7 min walk the opposit direction. Over all I would stay here again because of the price and location.

Room Tip: If you are going into the town center... no need t buy breakfast. train ride is about 20 mins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Yes, this hotel is only a 5 minute stroll to the train and then a 15 minute ride to town. But it just felt too far away from everything. It meant that once you went back to the hotel, there was no walking to places nearby of any interest really. The room was beyond small - we were a family of 4 and there were 2 beds in the room but the ceiling was sloped and made the room even tinier (and a few bumps on heads!). The bathroom is OK. The breakfast I think, was 10 euro per person - which for kids who only eat a bowl of cereal was too expensive. After the first morning, we got coffee and pastries in a small shop opposite. The staff, though pleasant, weren't overly helpful. Not a terrible experience but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This location ended up being quite a pleasant surprise. It's only a five minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute train ride into Munich so that's pretty easy. Plus, the town is quaint and peaceful with a couple nice restaurants. The hotel also sits atop a market, which is convenient.

The rooms are about par for Europe - clean but smaller. The front desk was extremely helpful and answered a number of questions for us. Someone in my travel party had breakfast and enjoyed it.

If you're looking to stay outside of downtown Munich, give this one a look.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Pro: The staff at the lobby were very helpful. They helped me reserved a car rental and provided us some hot water when we requested. The location is not very bad. It's just about 10 minute walk from the s-bahn station "Unterhaching". The area was safe. Also, there have plenty of free parking lot. They also have a free sauna that we didn't use.

Con: The bathroom door is a bit weird. It's made of glass so you can see people in the bathroom if they did stand far enough. It also cannot be locked. Also, there is a gap between the wall and the door so people can see inside if they want to and sometimes you car here some sound from the bathroom. It's not very bad but I found it a bit inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribbean
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

this has been by far the worst hotel we have stayed, first off the rugs all over look like they have not been washed ever, the bed was like sleeping in concrete, pillows super uncomfortable too, we had to use our neck pillow to sleep better, is super far from city center, after a 10 minutes walk to train station, then is another 20 minutes by train to the city center, I requested more pillows and was told there were none, is very pricey, maybe because it was during oktoberfest, which is the only reason we stayed here because there were no hotels available, they didnt even had an iron to lend me, only possitive thing is that staff is nice, they have some good restaurants nearby, breakfast was very good indeed, the bathroom had no ammenities whatsoever, if you travel by car, they have a parking which is free and very convenient, but wont stay here again, no ac either and they dont offer a fan either

Room Tip: none, simply dont stay in this hotel but if you must then request a room that doesnt face the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Its not a good location if you travel with public transportation, but it is in a nice area. The breakfast buffet is a little bit pricy. However, the staffs are every nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Demas Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demas Garni

Address: Hauptstr. 32, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Demas Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Demas Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Demas Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.