We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly rated hotel, recommended if little out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inselkammerstrasse 7-9, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Unterhaching
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Highly rated hotel, recommended if little out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We choose to stay at this hotel in August as the Holiday Inn in Munich Centre where we had previously stayed was too expensive this time. I am glad to say we were not disappointed with the hotel.

Firstly, it is a little out the way being c. 12-15 minutes from the station called Taufkirchen to the centre (don't go from or stop off at Unterhaching Station, it is much further to the hotel). Trains to the centre of Munich are only every 20 minutes and take around 20 minutes to get to Marienplatz so it can be a bit of a trek if you are doing it each day. If with a family/group get the excellent value three day ticket for Munich City (Innenraum) at 23 euro.

When exiting the station take note of the Holiday Inn sign which guides you to them from the station. Go through the mall and turn right at the end of the mall, don't keep going as we did and get lost in a housing estate!

The staff are nothing if not pleasant and helpful, we could not fault anything there.

The room itself was actually two rooms on two floors, very unusual and yes the stairs were a bit steep but a handrail was provided. Our son slept downstairs and this doubled as a living room for which the room was a little on the small side. However, there was a flat screen tv on each floor which impressed us and there were many stations available, including BBC World. Also free wifi which is not always the case with Holiday Inn and this was fast and reliable.

Bathroom was clean and good hot shower with towels replaced as required.

Beds were comfortable and there was an efficient air conditioning machine which you could set to belch out cold air which was great as it was roasting when we first arrived.

Tea and coffee sachets were not always replaced.

Breakfast was varied as usual at Holiday Inns and the pleasant and efficient omelette chef who made omelettes to order with ingredients of your choice was a welcome bonus. It is somewhat expensive so we couldn't eat there every day but you can book before you get there - 15 euros each and we got it for 12 euros for our son who is 13. The bistro was also inviting and we ate there twice, a little expensive but not overly so. You can sit outside in a pleasant area there, weather permitting.

For eating and shopping we would recommend the mall area near Taufkirchen station. This has a cheap breakfast bar where we went several times, rolls for 20 cents plus. Also a Lidl, a greengrocers, and a Pauliner Biergarten. Also there is a Penny Markt down the road from the hotel where we stocked up on water, chocolate etc. and you can take the bottles back for recycling and get some of the purchase price back.

There were some additional nice touches. There is a pleasant rooftop terrace on the fourth floor from where you can see the Alps (and some giant cranes!), a room downstairs where you can iron clothes, a kids play room and a shoe shining machine.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay, perhaps it was little too far out for us as we wanted to go into the centre of Munich every day. But there is little to fault in the hotel itself.

Room Tip: Ask for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear APP06,

thank you very much for your very kind and detailed impressions of your stay and taking your time to let us know!

We greatly appreciate your nice feedback and we are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the replacement of the coffee and tea sachets, we appreciate you brouhgt this matter to our attention and apologize for the mistake. We have already informed the Housekeeping Department which will take more attention from now on.

Altough we know that you prefer to stay in the Centre of Munich, we really would be looking forward to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching!

All the best to you and your family,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    157
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
56
19
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and it is simply outstanding.Not only are the staff friendly,the lounge welcoming,the bar and outside area fine, it is an easy 25 min train journey into Munich.This time we stayed in a split level bedroom suite which we found ideal. However,if you have trouble walking, the stairs are steep, so not really suitable.As for parking ,there is free parking about 400 yards away ,near Stefan's Sport. Ask at reception.If going into Munich by train ask at reception for a ' partner' ticket as this only costs 10.50 Euros and is valid all day, on all networks and trams.It is valid for up to 5 adults[2C=1A].A steal !The only slightly bad thing about the hotel is that the breakfasts cost 20 Euros each.ABSURD!.However,as well as others, there is a good coffee shop in a small shopping arcade right next to the station which is ideal for breakfast .In addition,next to it is a very cheap fruit shop.In conclusion,this hotel does not act like a chain hotel and, in my opinion,is how a hotel should be run.

Room Tip: Both rooms we've used were good but the split rooms are fun and quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear “klammer”,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay in our hotel for the second time!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your bedroom and the service throughout the hotel. And the fact, that we were even able to surpass our performance from your first stay.

We take service very seriously at the Holiday Inn München Unterhaching and it means a lot to us, that you highlight our great members of staff. You can be sure, that we share your comment with the rest of our team.

Once again, thank you very much for your gorgeous feedback!

We do look forward to welcome you and your Family back at our hotel soon.

All the very best,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It is just like any 3 to 4 star chain hotel in Europe, rooms are nice and clean, but it lacks something in the ambiance. Staff are friendly and helpful, the food is ok, but lacks variety. The location is in the suburb of Munich, and getting to the train station is a long walk, about 20 min. I stayed for 6 nights, and the rooms lack some basic amenities, which as a frequnt traveller, I already have in my travel kit. The bed is ok, but the pillows are too soft, and felt like it lacks stuffing. It is not near the usual places you want to visit, but it has a lot of the specialty shops, that you usually see in the suburb.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear doc8reg,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our hotel.

To ensure every guest can enjoy a restful night of sleep we offer a variety of pillows with different fillings and therefore with different degrees of hardness. Our housekeeping team is on hand to bring the pillow of your choice to your room.

The suburban location of our hotel provides our guests with plenty of benefits, like green surroundings and close-by shops. But the city center is easily reachable with the direct fast train to Marienplatz, where sightseeing can be started.

We would appreciate it, if you would contact us directly on gloria.niedermeier@holiday-inn-muenchen.de to let us know, which basic amenities are missing in our rooms. In this way we could improve our equipment and our services for the future.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon.

With best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

In a quiet neighborhood, peaceful, quiet, no traffic, and comfortable. very well kept room, have water heater in room for coffee or tea. Staff are friendly, which is hart to find. there is a supermarket right across the street, very covient. breakfast is in a nice setting room.

highly recommanded.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear BogeyMike,

thank you very much for your fantastic and very kind review, which we really appreciate!

We are very delighted to hear to you have enjoyed your stay with us und felt comfortable. Your feedback is the most beautiful compliment for us and keeps us going to give our very best everyday. Thank you again for letting us know!

We hope, we will welcome you again at our hotel the next time you stay in Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 24th to 29th Aug 2012.This is a hotel, if you want to stay away from the hum-drum of city centre. Surrounded by lush green farms, it gives a feeling of living in a resort. Though quite far from ciy centre, but S-Bahn station Taufkirchen on S3 route is close by. On going from hotel to station is a 10 minutes walk, but requires, two time descending and then climbing about 20 stairs, which may be problematic if you are carrying luggage. The route while coming back from Taufkirchen to Holiday Inn is even longer, about 1.5 kms taking around 20 mintues, which is quite cumbersome, after a long day of sight seening and tired feet. Though I have seen people talking short cut, by walking along the tracks, which is totally not advisable.
Now for reaching the City centre, either Marienplatz( Main Market square), or Hauphbahanhoff( Central Station) takes 25 minutes from Taufkirchen by S3. Which is not that bad.
Another shock which i got while coming and going to internationation airport by taxi cost me 82 Euros one way. Which ripped me off.From airpot, It is better to take the S 8 to Ostbahnhof and from there change to S3 going towards Holzkirchen. It would be much cheaper, but problematic if the luggage is heavy.
Now coming to Hotel, the check in was quite efficient, took only 2 minutes, and I was on my way to room on the third floor. I was surprised to find a very good, neat and clean room with all usual amenities. In fact, before coming I requested for an iron and an ironing board , which was already provided in the room. Other good add on was the free wi-fi in the room with upto 4 mbps speed, sufficient for all our needs.
The breakfast was on the lobby level restaurant, and was quite sumptuous, with live omelett chef.
What i missed was english newspaper in the room. On TV, also there were BBC, CNN, Euro News And CNBC english channels.
The only negative point which I found was a very small gym in the basement, with ony one treadmill, no weights.
A supermarket Liedl and a good bakery is near the hotel for your day to day needs.
Overall I was quite satisfied by the services. And would recommend this for people who want to stay in a quiet and peaceful surroundings.
My wish list for the hotel managers, is they should have arrangement with Airport Shuttle providers( as is there in all major international cities) which would provide cheaper alternative than an 80 euro taxi.

Thanks

Dr Nishith Chandra
New Delhi, India

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

(sorry, we are not allowed to use your name) thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn München Unterhaching. Feedback directly from our guests is paramount for us in order to improve our service and we gratefully take all comments on board.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services met your expectations.

As our hotel is located at the suburban area from Munich we benefit from plenty of green areas surrounding the hotel. But, of course, we are aware that this is not a city center location and the travelling time to Munich city center takes 25 minutes by train.

We have passed your wish regarding the airport shuttle service to our general management and we can assure you, that we will look into this matter and search for a better solution for the future.

Since you missed an English newspaper in your bedroom, we would like to advise that we offer a variety of international newspapers for our guests free of charge at the front desk.

We are sorry to hear that our small Mini-Gym did not meet your needs. As we are aware of this small amenity, we cooperate with a large fitness center called Stefan Sport Center just around the corner from the hotel, where our guests can enjoy a work out for only 5,- EUR per person and day.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel, the next time you are visiting Munich.

With best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the holiday Inn Unterhaching for 4 nights during August 2012. We were a party of 4, 2 adults and 2 teenagers.
We got suite to accommodate all 4 of us. Although the suite was quite large, the room arrangement was such that it made it a bit uncomfortable to be all at the same space.
We had 2 bathrooms in the suite, but one was not quite functional.
The hotel services were good. Breakfast was very good (with a omelet chef that prepares the omelet of your choice) and plenty of selections to choose from. The swimming pool and fitness centers seems nice (although we did not use them).
The hotel location is good for exploring the many Munich attractions. Although it is about 10km from city center, access to the city center is relatively easy. The S-BAN is at a walking distance from the hotel (although coming back from the station to the hotel at night is not that great...). And access by car to other locations is also very easy.
Price is reasonable. The only annoying part is the 10Euro charge per night for parking.... I would expect this to be waived for a hotel located at the suburbs....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear amby1891,

thank you very much for your very good feedback which we greatly appreciate!

It's always a pleasure for all our team to know that our guests felt comfortable and well served while they're staying with us.

Unfortunately your room you have booked was not to your overall satisfaction, wich we like to apologize for. Our suites we are big rooms but as you mentioned they don't have seperate rooms. For your next stay we would suggest a family room, as they have seperate rooms, some even on two floors. Regarding an alternative to the parking garage we would like to inform you that we also have a free of charge parking space round about 300 meters from the hotel.

Once again we like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we would look forward to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn München-Unterhaching for your next trip to Munich!

With kind regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Professional hotel and team. Clean, friendly staff and a good restaurant and a lively bar and beer garden.

Excellent business hotel with quality wifi and busines center. huge conference center.

Availability can be an issue, so book in advance.

Room Tip: Elderly travellers should avoid the split level suites(unusual as it sounds - there are stairs insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria „, Verkaufsleiter at Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear brian m,

thank you very much for your fantastic review and taking you time to let us know!

We really appreciate your kind feedback and that you have enjoyed staying with us! Right know it's really the best time to enjoy the beergarden as every day is sunny and warm and we hope it lasts until September!

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel again, the next time you stay in Munich!

Best regards,

Gloria Niedermeier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching

Address: Inselkammerstrasse 7-9, 82008 Unterhaching, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterhaching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Unterhaching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bleiben Sie unterwegs. Wer viel reist, braucht Raum fur Ruckzug. Ein Hotel, das verlassliche Standards bietet. Kombiniert mit einem angenehmen, personlichen Service. In einer ruhigen Lage, die gleichzeitig sowohl per Auto wie auch per Bahn und Flugzeug gut erreichbar ist. Durch diese Vorzuge hat sich das Holiday Inn Munchen-Unterhaching als feste Grosse im Munchner Raum etabliert. Mit 260 hochwertig ausgestatteten Zimmern und 27 Tagungsraumen fur jeden Bedarf. Mit einem eingespielten Service-Team, das Ihren Aufenthalt mit zuvorkommender Freundlichkeit maximal angenehm gestaltet. Hinzu kommen ein hauseigener Fitness- und Wellness-Bereich, kostenloses WLAN sowie ein Restaurant mit Biergarten und eine gemutliche Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munchen Unterhaching Hotel Unterhaching
Holiday Inn Unterhaching
Unterhaching Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Muenchen Unterhaching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.