We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane
Hauptstrasse 12, 97332 Volkach, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Volkach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Volkach is a pretty village and this looks like an inviting Inn. We went for the more expensive option but were rather disappointed with the size of the room although everything was spotless and the bathroom was good. Quality of food was also good and the choice at breakfast was excellent. They have a secure car park some distance from the hotel, which was full but we were fortunate to find parking next to the hotel. Took a bit of time to find the reception which I initially mistook for a wine tasting room!
The problem for me was communication so that is down to my ignorance and lack of German. I am sure the hotel had plenty to offer but difficult to know what it was as everything was in German. I also found their manner rather aggressive which may well have been due to dealing with a particularly stupid foreigner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianBauer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Onich,
thank you for this constructive rating. Unfortunatelly you did not feel very well in the Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane. Herefor I would like to appolgize.
The room you stayed in, was actually one of the smaler rooms we offer. I remeber that ther ewas a big confusion. Your room was booked in the Hotel Turmdieb and you wanted to stay in the Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane. That is the reason why you sayed in this smaler room.

There are points I wold like to comment. The Guest information, which you can find in every hotel room is written in german and in english. Here you can find allmost every Information about the Hotel. As well most of our employees speak english. Somtimes it can happen that an employee might not understand you. Herefor I would like to appologize. As well we have an english meue which changes every 2 month. We really try to do our best to provide our international guest a pleasent stay.

Thank you

Yours sincerely

Florian Bauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The town of Volkach is one of the prettiest you will see in Germany. This Hotel is located right in the center near the square. The rooms are all nice some updated more than others but always comfortable. The staff is also very good. Can't beat this hotel for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianBauer, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for the positiv rating. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay in Volkach. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane.
Yours sincerely
Florian Bauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

This is a wonderful hotel in the little town of Volkach in the Franken wine region of Germany. We used to eat in the hotel's restaurant nearly 40 years ago when we lived in Germany. When we went back to Germany last month, we spent two nights in the hotel and again ate in the restaurant The food was superb as was the Franken wine from their own vineyards. Staff was highly professional and helpful. I think we were the only English-speaking people there at the time, but the staff spoke perfect English.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane

Address: Hauptstrasse 12, 97332 Volkach, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Volkach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Volkach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The swan glistens gold in the evening sunshine against the clear blue sky. Come inside! We have been providing hospitality for over 600 years and view the combination of tradition and innovation as a challenge rather than a contradiction. Whether in the old Wirtstube bar or in the vine-clad inner courtyard, we tempt guests with our contemporary Franconian cuisine. Wines from the family's own VDP vineyard offer an outstanding complement to this taste experience. In our refined and authentic rooms you'll find peace and quiet and wake up refreshed to face the new day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Zur Schwane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.