We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adler Baerental

Save Saved
You added Adler Baerental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adler Baerental
Feldbergstr. 4, 79868 Feldberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Feldberg
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been in the hotel with our 2 kids at the end of October. Thought we were told on the telephone that we can stay there as long ad we want because it is not the season after 3 nights the owner told us (in a very poor english) that we can stay only for another 1 night because he has big German group. We asked for 2 nights but it didn't help...
The location of the hotel is perfect but the facilities are poor.
The wifi works well only on the entrance of the hotel.
We took big suite but we only had one bath with low stream of water.
The room was clean.
The staff service was poor. We asked them to help us in finding an hotel for 1 or 2 nights but they only gave us a big brochure in German and said they don't know hotels and have no time...

Room Tip: If wifi is important for you ask for a room in the first floor maybe it works there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raamsdonksveer, Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed in hotel Adler in Baerental over New Years Eve 2010/2011and we stayed for 5 nights. We booked dinner at the hotel in advance. Our goal was to do some skiing if posssible and to spend New Years Eve. The hotel is a family run bussiness and very clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly (especially our waitress Isabelle). For a little extra money we upgraded to a bigger room and, without seeing the other rooms, I think it is worth it. We had a lovely large room with a canopy-bed (kind of romantic), a large bathroom and a balcony with a lovely view of the valley. The bed was good but we didn't always sleep very well because you could hear the people upstairs walking around very clearly ( and our up-stairs neighbours did a lot of walking around!) But that is probably because it is an old builing. The hotel has no swimmingpool, sauna or things like that. We didn't miss them and soaked our hurting muscles in the bathtub.
The food was very good with a lot of local produce! They also have a very nice selection of local wines. We think we saw a lot of people eating in the restaurant that were not staying at the hotel, even locals so it seemed, that always says a lot I think. Breakfast was copious too and in the afternoon we had free coffee and cake with our arrangement (hello extra kilo's..!).
The hotel is situated not too far from the railwaystation (which you can't see or hear) and on two rather busy roads. The roads didn't bother us at all but when your room is on the other side of the hotel it might. Also we were there in the winter so we were inside all the time, I don't know how it would be in the summer. Allthough the hotel is not in a very lovely spot itself, for skiiing it is perfect, you are just a 5 minute drive away from the main ski-slopes at Feldberg! There evenis a ski-bus but we didn't use it because it always seemed very crowded. I imagine in summer the surroundings are lovely for walking etc.
We had a very nice stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

Stayed here one night after skiing at the nearby ski slopes. The accomodations were cozy. Breakfast was included. It's is right off the road and convenient to access.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

So...we entered our destination into the GPS, and we started driving up, higher and higher. It started snowing, harder and harder. The trip is taking much longer than expected and the snow is getting deeper, so we decide we must stop. The only hotel around is the Adler. We trudge up with low expectations. Fortunately, they had a suite for all 5 of us. We ate the best food of our vacation, and we drank well for a surprising low price. (I probably should not say that!) The whole staff (the guy who brought an extra bed, the bartender, the waitress, the clerk) was friendly and accommodating, even with our limited German, and they gave us a small gift when we left. We woke to 25cm of snow, and it was pretty a postcard.

About the GPS - it found the wrong city. We had driven in the wrong direction. But it was a very lucky mistake!

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adler Baerental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Baerental

Address: Feldbergstr. 4, 79868 Feldberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Feldberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Feldberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Adler Baerental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adler Baerental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.