We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel sympathetic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Robert-Koch-Strasse 10, 85435 Erding, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Erding
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel sympathetic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Not missing anything, rooms clean, fast service, very good breakfast, distance from airport 15 km

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    45
    33
    20
See reviews for
31
98
25
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Even though this hotel touts "Airport" in the name, it is located a good 15 - 20 minute drive from Munich Airport in the town of Erding. Nothing great here: expensive hotel restaurant, little dining choices in the neighborhood and no air conditioning. A good choice for an early morning departure from MUC. Just plan on dining elsewhere and paying for shuttle service to the airport. Rooms were reasonably comfortable as long as outside temp was cool (try to avoid a westerly-facing room in summer). Very friendly and helpful staff. Some street parking available or pay E8.00 per night for garage.

Room Tip: Try to get breakfast included if you are pushed for time. Also, if the weather is warm, ask for an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I needed to overnight in Munich for a connecting flight and my travel agent booked this `airport hotel'. It turned out to be 12km from the airport. The website gives no information about access by public transport.

The website (under General Hotel Information) states that a hotel shuttle is available between this hotel and airport for EU13 (one way trip). Upon inquiring I was informed that it was EU28 for a one way trip! I decided to either take the bus or the train, and sent an email asking which would be best selection; I got no reply.

I took the 512 Bus from the airport to Erding S-Ban train station; the hotel is a 6km taxi ride from the Erding S-Ban train station where the bus terminates (in my research I confused this station with the station that the website states to be 1km from hotel). Incidentally, there is another Best Western (Park Hotel) right next the the Erding S-Ban station, much more convenient.

For a Best Western, the physical hotel is disappointing, very small bedroom with a soft single bed and furniture that had seen better days, burns and stains on the desk and a rickety chair. The decor was tatty and was reminiscent of a Motel 6 past its sell-by date. The room was very clean, the staff at the desk were helpful and professional. Clearly the Best Western Human Resources process is working....

On my outward journey, I stayed at the Munich Airport Novotel hotel which was right next to the airport and had a very very different experience. The price for my BW room was much the same but the Novotel was well maintained, spacious rooms, super comfortable bed and good facilities. Oh, and easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel for 5 years in a row. We liked it because breakfast was included, the rooms were very clean and the village of Erding is nice. This year I booked online and was supposed to pay 87 Euro for one night. We later decided to stay and extra night, so I called the hotel and booked a room for the extra night. That night was at 111 Euro, which was fine, the other price was an online deal.
When we got to the hotel we were give a room with 1 bed, even though BOTH reservations were for a room with 2 double beds, I had the reservation to prove it. They didn't have a 2 bed room available so they gave a 2 rooms for one night and then a room with 2 beds the next night. Pain in the rear, but whatever. We also found out that breakfast wasn't included in the price this time. Fine.

Then I got the bill - not only did they charge me the 87 Euro for one night, which I paid for in advance, they charged me 111Euro for both nights minus the 87 Euro that I had paid! Then the bill said that breakfast was included in the price, even though we had to pay for it.

I've tried to let the hotel redeem themselves by emailing them several times, they claim that the bill stands. I am very unhappy with them and even though I like the hotel, I doubt I will ever stay there again just based on principal. That's loyalty for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We booked and paid for twin room, but get small single room with poor extra bed. Walls were thin so we could clearly hear people next door talking. Breakfast was good. Receptionist was nice and helped us with planing trip into city center and allow us to store our luggage in luggage room during the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Its a very nice hotel close to the Munich Airport. Was there on vacation with family and stayed on the top floor, where the best part is the window on the roof. The kids just loved it. The heating in the hotel was very good and so was the service. Am a vegetarian, so do not know much about room service, but overall very clean and well-maintained and of course good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Good: Staff were nice and spoke English. Breakfast was good. 20-minute drive to airport was easy. Free parking on the street was fine.
Not so good: Room was small, shower tiny. Air conditioner barely worked. We slept with the skylight/window open (no screen). The "double" bed was a single bed with a broken rollaway next to it. The nonsmoking room had been smoked in, but the hotel was full, so we couldn't change rooms. I was hoping for a cute small town, but the hotel area is not scenic at all. It's okay for a basic place to stay before a flight, but don't expect more than that.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport

Address: Robert-Koch-Strasse 10, 85435 Erding, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Erding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Erding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western
Erding Best Western
Best Western Erding

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Munich Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.