We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at Can Torras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Torras rural retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Can Torras rural retreat
Save
You added Can Torras rural retreat to your Saves list
St Mateu de Montnegre, 17242 Quart, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family stay at Can Torras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Can Torras during August of 2013. We were two families travelling together. Can Torras was wonderful. The way in which the old farmhouse has been renovated and decorated is gorgeous - really quirky and oozing character. The garden was tranquil and relaxing with spectacular views across the mountains. Watching the sun set in the evening was beautiful. We all (especially the five children) enjoyed playing hide and seek in the garden and racing to be the first in the hammocks. We also had fun in the jacuzzi (the children before bed and the grown ups after supper with a glass of wine underneath the stars). Karen, David and Ben were so welcoming, friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious! We would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful old farmhouse in the mountains.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We all loved the company of the children and their families! It's great to see Can Torras through your enthusiastic eyes and we hope to meet you all again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Can Torras Rural Retreat. Place was decorated with taste and happy colours on the details. Garden was beautiful and peacufull! They have organic vegetables growing up there and they can cook delicious meals using it. We can tell in Can Torras all is made with love and we like that they are using solar energy and taking care of the environment. Rooms are spacious, really clean, confortable and we had a private area only for us even though we were spending more time on the lovely garden. Have also to mention the special jacuzzi they have outside where you can relax while watching the stars. AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks for a great review and any time you wish to come and explore this area again come and see us. The Autumn is a great time for a jacuzzi under the stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our stay at this quiet and relaxing place was great and the perfect contrast to the three busy days we had spent in Barcelona. The room and bathroom were very nice and clean and offered all we needed (including a fridge and drinking water). The garden of Can Torras is wonderful and invites for wanderings. Our favorite time each day was when Karen served her delicious and home made breakfasts under the pergola, from where we enjoyed a great view over the valley and hills. We hope to be able to go back to this very special place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Pleasure to meet you guys and hope to see you again some day. Hope you are experimenting with flowers in your cookery now too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great stay at Can Torras. The rooms, bathrooms and eating areas are well decorated and comfortable, the hosts (Karen and her son, Ben) were great company and had lots of great suggestions, and the food is fantastic. We even did a cooking lesson with Karen - exploring the local markets and helping out with the menu for one night. On top of all this, the garden and views are the real stars of the show here (along with a couple of very friendly cats).

Highly recommended, we hope to go back sometime soon.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms - the one we were in (I'll call it the "upstairs" room) has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Propietario at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks guys for a great review and love the photos. Lila is looking very regal. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is probably one of the best B&B we ever stayed. Run by a super friendly hostess Karen who serves breakfast in your own room which we thought was really nice and made us feel a little spoiled. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
There's a wonderful garden with a great view where they grow all kinds of things and I fell in love with their amazing curry plants right away. That alone would be enough reason to visit this B&B in my opinion ; ).
The surroundings are very nice and the location is perfect. Mountains, forests beaches and lakes are all close by. Girona is definitely worth a visit as well. I wish we had more time to explore the area better but we will be back someday…
Thank you.

Tys & Karen
Brazil

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Can Torras for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Many hotels look much better on the photos than they do in reality upon arrival however Can Torras is far better than we could have hoped for. The accommodation is stylish, spacious and quiet; Karen's cooking is delicious; the views are amazing; and watching the sunset while sipping cava in the hot tub is absolutely unbeatable. Karen even had Cava ready for us in the fridge to celebrate the start of our honeymoon as soon as we arrived which was a very thoughtful touch.

The location of Can Torras is perfect for exploring Catalonia. We spent a day in Girona, a day exploring the Costa Brava and the Dali museums, and a day inland at Banyoles and the beautiful town of Besalu.

I will definitely be recommending a trip here to my friends and family. Thanks for an unforgettable start to our married life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for your confidence in us and we hope the rest of your holiday was as memorable for all the right reasons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Can Torras had been recommended and it was certainly the ideal location for a 3 day break with my daughter, who was visiting me from Canada (wish it could have been longer!!). We found it easily,from Girona Airport, even though it was dark, although I am glad I had looked it up on Google Earth first so I knew what to expect on the windy road!!
Breakfasts were great but the best of all was the large book of Can Torras intineraries and the map which led us to lakes, mountains, medieval villages, beautiful beaches, long walks and great refreshment stops. My first stop on the Costa Brava and so much more beautiful than I was expecting. THANK YOU

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Can Torras rural retreat, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
It was a great pleasure to have your company and hope we meet again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Can Torras rural retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Torras rural retreat

Address: St Mateu de Montnegre, 17242 Quart, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Quart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Quart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & breakfast and rural retreat in the hills of Gavarres National Park, close to the ancient city of Girona. Our delicious home-cooked breakfast is normally served under the pergola. Only 30 minutes from Girona airport, bus & train station and a great base for Catalonia's food, arts and activities. Explore the Costa Brava, French Pyrenees or volcanic region of Garrotxa and find the hidden gems with guidance from your English-speaking hosts. Free travel itineraries for garden, art and food lovers. After a long day you can also dine with us; a Catalan menu with ingredients from our organic garden. Follow your meal with a hot spa under the stars for pure indulgence! We can sleep up to 10 people in 2 suites of 2 rooms. Secure, free car parking. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Can Torras Rural Retreat Spain/Quart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Torras rural retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.