We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Cuisine and nice interior in Oberstdorf restaurant "Löwen & Strauß"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowen Strauss

Lowen Strauss
Kirstrasse 1, Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
+49 (0) 8322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 83 Restaurants in Oberstdorf
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Modern Cuisine and nice interior in Oberstdorf restaurant "Löwen & Strauß"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Oberstdorf has the image of being picturesque and located in a beautiful setting (part of Bavaria called "Allgäu") but not offering many options if you want to eat in a "modern way".

Since "Löwen & Strauß" opened, this has changed:
now this re-vamped Bavarian restaurant looks chic, yet casual and folkloristic and offers healthy/modern food that really tastes good.

You sit in a comfy, warm and nicely designed restaurant and can eat well done meals, modestly priced. That's good!

But there are two reasons for not giving them 5 stars:
1. like many restaurants in this (Bavarian) region, the menu is dominated by meat (and a bit of fish). But if you are looking for vegetarian dishes, there are only two options :-(
2. the service is mainly very junior and due to being understaffed, they appear stressed often. And don't handle being confronted with a crowded restaurant very well.

But all in all, I can very much recommend going there. Whenever you are in Oberstdorf or in the nearby region.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Husbands Bosworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Deserved top place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal here. The service was very friendly and the food was delicious. Can't recommend enough!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A really nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loved the interior design of this restaurant. Modern Bavarian you might call it. Cosy, but not dark or cluttered. The service was very friendly and fairly quick. The menu has a good selection of dishes, and only some are expensive.
Our food tasted delicious, the portions were medium to big in size, and the only thing that bothered me a little bit was that the soup was very hot, and so was the bowl it came in. And the spoon was very big and heavy.
The restaurant has live music on some evenings, but not when we ate there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

You have to eat here!! Good service and delicious food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“world class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have visited many restaurants around the world, including some of the very best. This restaurant is one is up in the top!

We tried both the normal restaurant and the gastronomic one and both were very good. The gastronomic restaurant offered a number of both traditional dishes, such as goose liver, and newer ones like char with truffle, which were all good or even excellent.

This was the first time we have visited a guide michelin-star restaurant with kids, which we were a bit afraid of, but the way the kids got special attention and food made them love it.

If you consider visiting one restaurant in Oberstdorf, this is definitely the place to visit. We also visited Maximilian and it is not even close in any category (food, presentation, attention paid to guests).

Compared to similar quality restaurants, it is not expensive. If you have a limited budget, you should still visit the non-gastronomic part.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowen Strauss also viewed

Oberstdorf, Swabia
Oberstdorf, Swabia
 

Been to Lowen Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowen Strauss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.