We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the centre of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mohren

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mohren to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mohren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marktplatz 6, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Oberstdorf
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the centre of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights in January and also stayed here a few years ago in summertime.

The hotel is right in the centre of the town on the main square. The 4 star rating is apparent in every aspect of the hotel. There is a large café/restaurant on the ground floor and also a spacious lounge area with free Wi-Fi.

The room was very comfortable and included a mini-stereo system with a selection of CDs.
Wi-Fi in the room was charged via a Hotspot so it’s better to sit in the lounge downstairs and enjoy it for free. The room was at the front of the building facing the square and had a large balcony, unfortunately it was too cold to sit out and enjoy the view. The only down point was that the clock on the church opposite chimes from early morning to late night; this may be a problem for light sleepers.


Breakfast was plentiful with lots of hot food, cereals, breads, cheeses and cake treats. The restaurant was a little expensive for my budget for an evening meal, but during the day it was an excellent place to enjoy a hot drink.

The hotel also offers free tickets for the local cable cars as part of the booking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again if I return to Oberstdorf.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you think the church clock will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany, Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Stayed here for a week in July 2007.
I have been to Oberstdorf before and again have had a great time. The town is like stepping back into time and nothing has really changed since my first visit 15 year ago. The hotel is very reliable, clean, friendly and right in the heart of the action.
It is right on the town square and across from the main church, you'll hear the bells bright and early every morning but to tell you the truth you should be up early anyway if you are in Oberstdorf to make full use of the nature.
The rooms are basic but clean and functional. They have internet access on the ground floor. Its a real family run operation and check in was done in my room once the receptionist has showed me personally to the room I had booked which is a nice touch after staying in so many big corporate hotels.
Dinner was very nice and very reasonably priced, breakfast if good quality too with small variations to be seen daily. Be prepared for the older clientelle as its not a young spot particularily but thats Oberstdorf for you.
The room attendant was lovely, Petra. She noticed I had sunburn on my neck one morning and when I got back in the evening she presented me with some local sun cream. Very thoughful and kind.
I will be going again in August and look forward to staying here.
The terrace is the best part of the hotel by the way, you can sit for hours outside and watch the world pass by (however slowely it passes) and sip very nice wines and beers.

Regards,

  • Liked — Clean, Functional and quiet
  • Disliked — Small room but i knew that when i booked it as they were full
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goettingen, germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed at the Mohren from Dec 27 2006-Jan 1 2007. Although there was very little snow that week, the hotel was great They have two room categories - deluxe and regular. Apparently the deluxe have been refurbished but were fully booked the week we were there.

The hotel is located within the car-free zone just opposite the Alte Rathaus, a very easy walk from the main train station. The closest ski school (Erste SkiSchule) is three minutes away, the Vital Therme is five minutes away and the Nebelhorn Bahn (ski gondola) is a 10-15 minute walk. Though there was no car noise, there was a lot of noise from New Year's Eve revellers as the rowdy bar at the Hotel Traube is just around the corner.

The lobby itself is nothing special, but it's comfortable and the internet (on their computer) was free for up to ten minutes and rarely busy.

The room was big, clean, and basic. The bed and linens were comfortable (German style with separate mattresses pushed together to make a king, and nice duvets) and the bathroom small, spotless and modern (but no bath, just a shower). We had a separate living room where they also put a bed for our five year old. The TV was in the living room so we couldn't watch from bed, and there was no alarm clock (my only complaint).

There is a sauna in the hotel for guest use which was spotless. (Be prepared for nudity - Germans are VERY relaxed about this.)

Breakfast was German deluxe and excellent - breads, jams, eggs, sausages - the orange juice was not fresh pressed.

Our room rate included lift tickets (pity no snow) and activities (such as a hiking, tours etc). They did not charge us for a cheese fondue in the wine cellar which you could sign up for at the front desk. Overall the desk service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mohren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mohren

Address: Marktplatz 6, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oberstdorf
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Oberstdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mohren 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Mohren is on Oberstdorf’s market place. The large rooms have a private bathroom & Wi-Fi internet. The Hotel Mohren has its own little spa area with a sauna, a steam room and a quiet area. Guests of the house also can use the Oberstdorf Therme (only 500 metres away) for free! Guests also have free use of the mountain railway, and may take bags filled with maps, snacks and equipment for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mohren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohren Hotel Oberstdorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mohren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.