We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Birgsauer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Birgsauer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Birgsauer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Birgsau 9, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of June 2014. The hotel is in a beautiful valley about 6 miles from Oberstdorf. It is a family run hotel and we received a warm welcome. Our room was spotlessly clean with a spacious shower room and a nice balcony looking out towards the mountains. It was a very large room, with a comfortable sitting area and plenty of storage space. We opted for half board as it is a bit of a trek to go into Oberstdorf for the evening. The food was excellent and, unusually for Germany, there was a vegetarian choice every night. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
There is pleasant swimming pool and a sauna which is very welcome after a day's walking or cycling. There are bikes and electric bikes for hire.
Just be aware that the lift only goes up to the first floor, so if mobility is a problem, ask for a room which is not on the second or third floors.
The hotel is a good base for those wishing to explore the beautiful Allgau area of Germany. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berktold-Thaumiller, Inhaber at Hotel Birgsauer Hof, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guests,
thank you for your great review of our hotel. We would be very pleased if we could welcome you again in the southernmost hotel in Germany. Until then, take care and best regards!
Martina Berktold-Thaumiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late May 2014, unfortunately for only one night. The room we stayed in, #20, was on the third floor facing south up the valley towards the Alps - absolutely stunning view. The room was large, with a large bed under a sky light, and a separate sitting area. The bathroom had a shower only, and was sparkling clean, as was the rest of the room. Staff spoke good English and were very eager to ensure that we were well-looked after during our stay. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, run by the same family. Food was tasty. The breakfast buffet was really good, with lots of variety. There is no internet at the hotel, but we found that not to be a big deal, as it actually contributed to the relaxation factor in staying there. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try for one of the rooms on the south side of the building, facing down the valley. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berktold-Thaumiller, Inhaber at Hotel Birgsauer Hof, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Ron, thank you for the great review of our hotel and your kind words. We wish you all the best and send many greetings from Oberstdorf! Martina Berktold-Thaumiller & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a special visit as I was returning to the hotel after having worked here as a "zimmermadchen" (maid) for 3 months in 1989. It is run by Martina and her husband; Martina is the daughter of the original owners. I'm very happy that I returned after 24 years. The place has expanded but still retains its rustic, family run charm. The staff were very warm and welcoming.
There is a nice indoor pool area that is relaxing to enjoy after a day of hiking. There are also saunas.

The breakfast buffet offers eggs, bacon, meats, cheeses, jams, yogurt, cereals, fruit salad and a variety of good breads. We also ate dinner in their restaurant every night. The food was traditional German fare (very meat-based), well prepared and delicious. The servers in the restaurant were very helpful and friendly and explained the German menu to us. The front desk staff were also extremely friendly.

The room was a good size with a shower stall and double sink in the bathroom.
It was clean and it had very good storage space. Bathrobes, slippers, pool towels and bag, knapsack and umbrella were conveniently supplied in the room. We had a balcony with views of the valley as well.

This is one of the most picturesque settings on the planet. There is a tiny chapel nestled in the valley surrounded by incredible mountains. When you step outside you can hear the cows out to pasture with their bells ringing and the rushing water of the river in the distance. This is an area in the south-west corner of Germany called the Allgau and is surrounded by Austria. The hotel is situated near the end of a road within a nature reserve. The road leads up into incredible mountains bordering Austria. It is a great base for a hiking vacation. Great place to get away from it all - no WiFi.

I hope to return again and definitely hope it won't take me another 24 years this time!

Room Tip: - While most of the staff speak English, it is still primarily a German speaking hotel (e.g. No Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berktold-Thaumiller, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Birgsauer Hof, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back at the Hotel Birgsauer Hof. We hope to see you soon and it won't take another 24 years! :-)

Greetings from the moutains,

Yours Martina Berktold-Thaumiller
and the rest of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Birgsauer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birgsauer Hof

Address: Birgsau 9, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Oberstdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Oberstdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Birgsauer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birgsauer Hof is located in the nature reserve Stillachtal, just 10 kilometers away from the center of Oberstdorf.To the accommodations of the hotel belongs a restaurant with 3 different seating areas, a sun terrace with great views over the mountains, a cozy library, a spa area with swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, bio sauna, physiotherm infrared cabin, a massage- and beauty center as well as bike rentals, ski lockers and free parking in front of the hotel.The rooms and apartments are equipped in a comfortable and homely style with great love for details. The big windows offer a fantastic view into the mountains and the surrounding nature. Each room comes with a TV, a seating area and an own bathroom with bath robes.Each morning the Allgäu breakfast buffet will be served in the bright restaurant area with great views. The cuisine weather it is half board or à la carte is light, healthy and various. In summer the panoramic terrace offers sunny spots and magnificent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Birgsauer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Birgsauer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.