We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good...mean, rude waitress brings it all down.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saschas Kachelofen

Saschas Kachelofen
Kirchstrasse 3, 87561 Oberstdorf, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 80 restaurants in Oberstdorf
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food was good...mean, rude waitress brings it all down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ok, first, a proviso... I speak a little German. Just enough to get by.

We chose this restaurant primarily because we were staying at this hotel. We ordered from the English menu. Not long after ordering a waitress brought a single salad (there were three of us). She asked us (in German) who got the salad? She got VERY annoyed when we couldn't tell her how to do her job. I picked up a menu hoping to find the items we ordered. This apparently was unsatisfactory since she tossed the salad bowl (literally tossed) onto our table saying something like "you figure it out".

The next morning when we walked into the dining room...there she was AGAIN ! She asked for our last name. I told her my last name. She asked again, but louder. I told her again in a normal voice. Apparently she is of the school of thought that louder is better, because she yelled this time. I pointed at her seating chart, directing her attention to my name printed on our table. She just walked away.

The food was great. Just avoid the waitress with the perpetual snarl on her face.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    16
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here one night when our favourite restaurant in Oberstdorf - Die Traube was closed at the end of the winter season. This restaurant proved to be a good choice. There staff were warm and welcoming and the dining room was warm and cosy. The menu contained a good range of local dishes which when they arrived were of high quality and well cooked. This restaurant lacks the local atmosphere of the Die Traube but is a good replacement for one night. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was a beautiful night, so we sat at the tables outside. I ordered off the seasonal asparagus menu and it was absolutely delicious (but way too much food!). My husband ordered a Schwäbisch specialty with an Allgäuer kick-it was topped with a local Bergkäse (mountain cheese). Everything was absolutely delicious and the beer was (while not our favorite Munich beer) great for the nice summer evening. The inside of the restaurant is actually nice and bright and cozy-I was surprised no one was using it! But when the weather's nice, it makes sense to be outside :) We'll definitely go back-in winter or summer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good food, service so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The food here was quite good; I had a fresh mushroom dish. The prices are good, but we had the only grouchy waitress we have encountered in 6 trips to Germany.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

The owner originates from Gelsenkirchen and is a great football fan of Schalke 04 so do not expect typical Bavarian beer and food. Oberstdorf is located in the Allgau, and Saschas Kacheloffen offers Allgau and Swabian specilities. A local suggested Sascha's Kachelofen for good food and he was right. I had a generous portion of delicious roastbeef.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saschas Kachelofen also viewed

 
Oberstdorf, Swabia
Oberstdorf, Swabia
 
Oberstdorf, Swabia
Oberstdorf, Swabia
 
Oberstdorf, Swabia

Been to Saschas Kachelofen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saschas Kachelofen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.